Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years in the Making
Here it is, probably the greatest hits compilation fans have been waiting for, as the previous cd from the early 90s failed to include some of the Police's best work, This 30th anniversary anthology includes probably the best songs from the five Police studio albums that stormed the charts throughout there short but successful career, except for the DIY Fallout single...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by Erwin M. Fletcher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music
This CD is filled with some very good songs and some great songs by the Police. I really enjoy listning to this CD
Published 19 months ago by PoPoPenguin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years in the Making, 7 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Here it is, probably the greatest hits compilation fans have been waiting for, as the previous cd from the early 90s failed to include some of the Police's best work, This 30th anniversary anthology includes probably the best songs from the five Police studio albums that stormed the charts throughout there short but successful career, except for the DIY Fallout single that Andy Summers didn't play on, to the trancelike Tea in the Sahara. This cd is guaranteed to satisfy. The only two disappointments I have is that it fails to include some tracks like When the world is running down... and Secret Journey. But if your a die hard fan of The Police you've probably purchased all the albums over the years or picked up Message in a Box that includes everything ever recorder, This Cd also fails to improve on the audio quality's and presentation you'd expect from a second Greatest hits cd. But all said The Police Anthology is a great addition to anyone's cd collection and well worth the price. 5/5

Note: This is the second Greatest Hits cd from The Police, as Two previous ones were Sting & The Police Greatest Hits which included Sting's best work as a solo artist, The Original Police greatest hits cd was released in 1992.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the perfect compilation!!!, 4 July 2007
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
I can't help thinking that this is an opportunity missed. This was very nearly the perfect Police compilation - but then they have to put Rehumanise Yourself (surely one of the weakest Police tracks of all time!) and Murder By Numbers (very average b-side - they didn't need anymore Synchronicity tracks) on there. Also, where is "When The World is Running Down....". You can't complain about all of the other tracks on here though. King of Pain, Every Breath You Take, Roxanne et al still stand up as absolute classics. But it makes you wonder whether Record Companies withhold certain tracks from compilations......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Police, 19 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. C. Cook (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Having been a Police fan from my teenage years and finally seeing them again reformed at Twickenham 2007, this remastered greatest hits/tour album really gets the pulse racing. If you didn't have the luxury of seeing them in concert the album contains all the songs performed over the 2 nights apart from "When The World is Running Down....".still can't understand why this particular song was omitted from the album but, the others are all absolute classics. If you were lucky enough to attend one night of the tour listen and remember.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G R E A T, 8 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
For heanen's sake get rid of reviewer 77 and his rubbish reviews - deliberately set up to provoke negativity!
This album is GREAT, particularly as it has ALL the POLICE hits plus Synchronicity I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest from The Police (IMO) - 30 tracks, 2 CDs, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
I added this to my collection back in 2009 and it is one of my favourite albums, especially on the long drive back.
My favourite track is more unusual than most, perhaps, - this - at full blast!

ooOoo

Full Track Listing (to save looking back):

(1):

1. Fall Out
2. Can't Stand Losing You (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
3. Next To You (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
4. Roxanne (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
5. Truth Hits Everybody (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
6. Hole In My Life (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
7. So Lonely (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
8. Message In A Bottle (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
9. Reggatta De Blanc (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
10. Bring On The Night (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
11. Walking On The Moon (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
12. The Bed's Too Big Without You (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
13. Don't Stand So Close To Me (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
14. Driven To Tears (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
15. Canary In A Coalmine (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)

(2):

1. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
2. Voices Inside My Head (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
3. Invisible Sun (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
4. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
5. Spirits In The Material World (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
6. Demolition Man (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
7. Re-Humanise Yourself (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
8. Every Breath You Take (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
9. Synchronicity I (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
10. Wrapped Around Your Finger (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
11. Walking In Your Footsteps (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
12. Synchronicity II (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
13. King Of Pain (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
14. Murder By Numbers (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
15. Tea In The Sahara (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sue lawley, sue lawley..., 8 Jan 2014
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
The Police combined massive chart success with a pretty 'out there' sound, to an extent only the Beatles have excelled. Sometimes they seem to be almost all rhythm section - many of the riffs are on bass only, Copeland's drums tap restlessly away, and Andy Summers' guitar skips so lightly over the top you could almost miss it. There's Sting's voice, so familiar that it's easy to lose the sense of how shrill - more alto than tenor - and strange it is. And then there are the lyrics: often just as gloomy as Morrissey's, and just as blisteringly personal, only without his wit.

With all that, the success really is a tribute to the deceptively simple songwriting and arranging. The secret with the lyrics, I think, is that the generally downbeat verses are allied to catchy refrains with simple, striking imagery; you can sing along with the chorus without quite knowing what the song is about (turns out, for example, their first single was not really about Sue Lawley). They also made good use of the old-fashioned middle eight, which in many songs lightens the mood. It's clever stuff; Sting, mate, what happened to you?

They're not obviously virtuosic but, if you listen closely, the playing is quality too. Few have shown such development in such a comparatively short time. At the start, with studded leathers and thrashing guitars, they seemed to be trying to hide their sophistication behind a punk image. But even then, they were never really able to lower themselves to that Luddite, remedial level of rock; I remember arranging Roxanne for guitar as a teenager, and being disconcerted to find it had about 8 chords. Five years later, with things like Synchronicity and Walking In Your Footsteps, they were definitely the thinking man's global superstars. They're not going to go down in history with the Beatles et al, but they were the best of their generation and much better than anything since.

As Best-Ofs go, this is one of the finest I've seen for any band. There's not much in the way of bumff and fanclub photos, but it gives you the hits and a selection of album tracks that's hard to argue with. For me, these days, it's exactly the amount of Police I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The facts are these, 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Does it matter how many times the Police are reissued? Who are these people who complain about "4th time round"?
As this is the only collections to include all the As & Bs in chronlogical order including the first on Illegal it makes it the one to go for if you want any Police in your collection.
Today's CDs are aimed at the new generation not people who complain because they've got the stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classics For A New Generation, 18 Jan 2010
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
I'm from a family that loved the Police when I was younger. I have a picture of me aged 5 in a Police T Shirt bought with Frosties coupons. We listened to a lot of their music, and I'm sure several incarnations of the Greatest Hits came through our house over the years.

The good news is that all the original greats are on here, as you'd expect. Roxanne, So Lonely, Message In A Bottle are all classics that will never grow old. Alongside these are some album tracks that I'd never heard. Fall Out, Next to you, an unexpected version of Demolition Man (which up to now I only know the dubious version from the Stallone film of the same name).

The best part of this album is that it is a double CD set, with 30 tracks in total. Not a bad track among them, and at time of writing a bargain at under a fiver.

Relive your misspent youth with this excellent CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everithing and more, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (MP3 Download)
This is a 2 albums in one, love it.
I was looking forward for this album for a very long time, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Police
The Police by The Police
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews