Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years in the Making
Here it is, probably the greatest hits compilation fans have been waiting for, as the previous cd from the early 90s failed to include some of the Police's best work, This 30th anniversary anthology includes probably the best songs from the five Police studio albums that stormed the charts throughout there short but successful career, except for the DIY Fallout single...
Published on 7 Jun. 2007 by Erwin M. Fletcher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music
This CD is filled with some very good songs and some great songs by the Police. I really enjoy listning to this CD
Published on 7 April 2013 by PineapplePenguin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Years in the Making, 7 Jun. 2007
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Here it is, probably the greatest hits compilation fans have been waiting for, as the previous cd from the early 90s failed to include some of the Police's best work, This 30th anniversary anthology includes probably the best songs from the five Police studio albums that stormed the charts throughout there short but successful career, except for the DIY Fallout single that Andy Summers didn't play on, to the trancelike Tea in the Sahara. This cd is guaranteed to satisfy. The only two disappointments I have is that it fails to include some tracks like When the world is running down... and Secret Journey. But if your a die hard fan of The Police you've probably purchased all the albums over the years or picked up Message in a Box that includes everything ever recorder, This Cd also fails to improve on the audio quality's and presentation you'd expect from a second Greatest hits cd. But all said The Police Anthology is a great addition to anyone's cd collection and well worth the price. 5/5

Note: This is the second Greatest Hits cd from The Police, as Two previous ones were Sting & The Police Greatest Hits which included Sting's best work as a solo artist, The Original Police greatest hits cd was released in 1992.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the perfect compilation!!!, 4 July 2007
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
I can't help thinking that this is an opportunity missed. This was very nearly the perfect Police compilation - but then they have to put Rehumanise Yourself (surely one of the weakest Police tracks of all time!) and Murder By Numbers (very average b-side - they didn't need anymore Synchronicity tracks) on there. Also, where is "When The World is Running Down....". You can't complain about all of the other tracks on here though. King of Pain, Every Breath You Take, Roxanne et al still stand up as absolute classics. But it makes you wonder whether Record Companies withhold certain tracks from compilations......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest from The Police (IMO) - 30 tracks, 2 CDs, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
I added this to my collection back in 2009 and it is one of my favourite albums, especially on the long drive back.
My favourite track is more unusual than most, perhaps, - this - at full blast!

ooOoo

Full Track Listing (to save looking back):

(1):

1. Fall Out
2. Can't Stand Losing You (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
3. Next To You (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
4. Roxanne (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
5. Truth Hits Everybody (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
6. Hole In My Life (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
7. So Lonely (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
8. Message In A Bottle (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
9. Reggatta De Blanc (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
10. Bring On The Night (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
11. Walking On The Moon (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
12. The Bed's Too Big Without You (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
13. Don't Stand So Close To Me (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
14. Driven To Tears (2003 Stereo Remastered Version
15. Canary In A Coalmine (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)

(2):

1. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
2. Voices Inside My Head (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
3. Invisible Sun (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
4. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
5. Spirits In The Material World (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
6. Demolition Man (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
7. Re-Humanise Yourself (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
8. Every Breath You Take (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
9. Synchronicity I (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
10. Wrapped Around Your Finger (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
11. Walking In Your Footsteps (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
12. Synchronicity II (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
13. King Of Pain (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
14. Murder By Numbers (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
15. Tea In The Sahara (2003 Stereo Remastered Version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sue lawley, sue lawley..., 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
The Police combined massive chart success with a pretty 'out there' sound, to an extent only the Beatles have excelled. Sometimes they seem to be almost all rhythm section - many of the riffs are on bass only, Copeland's drums tap restlessly away, and Andy Summers' guitar skips so lightly over the top you could almost miss it. There's Sting's voice, so familiar that it's easy to lose the sense of how shrill - more alto than tenor - and strange it is. And then there are the lyrics: often just as gloomy as Morrissey's, and just as blisteringly personal, only without his wit.

With all that, the success really is a tribute to the deceptively simple songwriting and arranging. The secret with the lyrics, I think, is that the generally downbeat verses are allied to catchy refrains with simple, striking imagery; you can sing along with the chorus without quite knowing what the song is about (turns out, for example, their first single was not really about Sue Lawley). They also made good use of the old-fashioned middle eight, which in many songs lightens the mood. It's clever stuff; Sting, mate, what happened to you?

They're not obviously virtuosic but, if you listen closely, the playing is quality too. Few have shown such development in such a comparatively short time. At the start, with studded leathers and thrashing guitars, they seemed to be trying to hide their sophistication behind a punk image. But even then, they were never really able to lower themselves to that Luddite, remedial level of rock; I remember arranging Roxanne for guitar as a teenager, and being disconcerted to find it had about 8 chords. Five years later, with things like Synchronicity and Walking In Your Footsteps, they were definitely the thinking man's global superstars. They're not going to go down in history with the Beatles et al, but they were the best of their generation and much better than anything since.

As Best-Ofs go, this is one of the finest I've seen for any band. There's not much in the way of bumff and fanclub photos, but it gives you the hits and a selection of album tracks that's hard to argue with. For me, these days, it's exactly the amount of Police I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Police, 19 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. C. Cook (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Having been a Police fan from my teenage years and finally seeing them again reformed at Twickenham 2007, this remastered greatest hits/tour album really gets the pulse racing. If you didn't have the luxury of seeing them in concert the album contains all the songs performed over the 2 nights apart from "When The World is Running Down....".still can't understand why this particular song was omitted from the album but, the others are all absolute classics. If you were lucky enough to attend one night of the tour listen and remember.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest collection available, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
This really is the greatest The police collection available. I bought this when it first came out in the summer of '07 and I have loved this band ever since being captivated by the music with Sting's compelling lyricism and vocals and Andy and Stewart are amazing at what they do, each being one of the best guitarists and drummers ever. The first time I noticed this band was when I heard them playing at a local pub I used to go to when I was 13-14 and after hearing some of the songs (so different to what I was listening to at the time) the music had been imprinted on my mind. When I heard about this album being released (which coincided with the reunion tour 2007-2008 and celebrated 30 years since the band's 1st single release) I just had to get it. Not only was I impressed when I listened to this collection, having only heard a few of their songs before, I was completely amazed far beyond any expectations.

It's no wonder this band was the biggest in the world at the latter stages because they truly are unique and incredible. What this 3 piece band can produce with a guitarist, bass player and drummer is astonishing. They are all incredibly talented and conveyed that in their reunion tour 25 years after originally breaking up. Their style helped them separate themselves and stand out from any other band's with their earlier work being heavily influenced by reggae (which no other big bands were risking to try) and staying strong, changing styles but keeping true to the music until the end.

This 2 CD collection has 15 songs on each disc and takes us through the band's repertoire in historical order starting with Fallout released in 1977 on Miles Copeland's Illegal label and then through the hit singles and selections of some of the best unreleased tracks from each of the 5 albums taking us through the final album Synchronicity from 1983, which was number 1 all over the world for weeks and was when the band were at the top of their career. That's what makes this album different - it's not just a 'greatest hits' album, it is an album that takes most of the band's best work and puts it together in 30 songs. It genuinely does deserve the name The Police because it is somewhat of a definitive collection. From the first song, which originally branded the band as punks (with Henri Padovani on guitar) through to the final track; the beautiful and haunting Tea in the Sahara; this album will certainly not disappoint.

This an amazing collection of songs from what may have been the biggest band in the world but more than that it's a piece of history from one of the greatest bands of all time. That's a fact!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G R E A T, 8 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
For heanen's sake get rid of reviewer 77 and his rubbish reviews - deliberately set up to provoke negativity!
This album is GREAT, particularly as it has ALL the POLICE hits plus Synchronicity I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fantastic !!!!, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic had this cd stolen out of my car a few years ago never got round to replacing it until now brought for peanuts and my youth came flooding back my kids don't won't to get in the car with me anymore dad's too inbarasing singing at the top of his voice and sorry to any UK motorist's who think that a 40 something weaving all over the road lorry driver is having some kind of fit I'm not i'm just rocking out Thank you thank you thank you my life's complete again !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The facts are these, 18 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
Does it matter how many times the Police are reissued? Who are these people who complain about "4th time round"?
As this is the only collections to include all the As & Bs in chronlogical order including the first on Illegal it makes it the one to go for if you want any Police in your collection.
Today's CDs are aimed at the new generation not people who complain because they've got the stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sonically Arresting!, 30 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Police (Audio CD)
This is a great compilation of a truly unique band. Most of their hit singles were awesome! Can you imagine a musical oddball such as Walking On The Moon, which fuses reggae with rock (plus jazz-influenced percussion), even making the charts these days, let alone reaching number 1?

The Police were a band greater than the sum of their parts, who forged a truly original sound. Roxanne, Message In A Bottle, Don't Stand So Close To Me, Every Breath You Take, they are all here and all sound as fresh as they did 30 years ago.
A number of great album tracks also feature: Bring On The Night is particularly impressive: there is nothing that sounds remotely like it. A latin-reggae hybrid perhaps!

Another reason to recommend this CD is that the general standard improves over the duration, from the earlier punk-influenced stuff to the more arty material from their later albums, like Invisible Sun and King Of Pain. How many other bands improved so much with age? The Police also knew when to call it a day.
Highly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Police
The Police by The Police
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews