Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worn idea married to a novel idea = interesting horror
This is a fusion of tired and new. The old staple of 'unprepared couple get taken hostage by criminal couple for a ride in their vehicle' is fused to a horror with a fascinating idea. 'Jacked by a pair of druggie lovers, our heroes stop at a garage convenience store and all hell breaks loose. But the enemy here isn't the cops but a very ingenious parasite that really...
Published on 6 Aug 2010 by Benminx

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too shabby.
I read some of the other reviews and decided to buy the Splinter DVD. As I had read reviews prior to buying it I knew that it was a low budget creature feature along the lines of 'The Thing'. All things considered, the acting was actually reasonably good, the special effects made the most of the limited budget in my opinion and it was enjoyably silly.

I would...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by Mr Shh.


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short & sweet., 8 Sep 2009
By 
C. Roberts (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Splinter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Only 81 mins short, but better for it, plot wise, you've seen bits of it all before in various movies, Wrong turn, The thing, Night of the living dead, spring to mind, but it moves along apace & keeps you interested, good gore effects, (excellent use of breezeblocks)decent acting, if you like a bit of gory horror with no complications, just sit back, put brain in neutral & enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's okay, we're cutting your arm off!", 2 April 2009
By 
S. Clarke "Zombie Survivor" (Bordon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fun and original horror. It is full of gore, well scripted, has a magnificent cast, fantastic character development, awesome special effects and some spectacular gross-out moments! It takes a classic horror scenario (survivors holed up in a building - in this case a petrol station) but the concept of the parasitic monster brings flare to the genre. If you enjoy films like The Mist, The Thing and Night of the Living Dead, then you too will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get away from all that torture stuff, 26 Mar 2009
By 
M. Scarlett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say that Splinter was quite a good film. Could have done with being 10-20 mins longer, but it was a very good and fairly original premise. When I say 'original' I mean it gets away from what is the new 'torture' genre that seems to be flooding the film industry.

The bones cracking thing will make you wince, but it's all gun fun. This is a film that I could watch again and again. I hope there's a "Splinter 2"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone want a cute splinter Pumpkin?, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
This single disc DVD comes with some basic bonus documentary/explanation type features, amongst these is a short demo on how to make a splinter pumpkin as well as another showing the weather during film-making. Otherwise it's a standard DVD albeit with a good picture quality and a sound level that's louder than most. Despite the limited cast and enclosed film set location the film never bores.
The story basically revolves around two dissimilar couples who are thrown together through circumstances and find themselves isolated in a gas [petrol] station where they are forced to co-operate in order to survive. There's plenty of gore to be found and the splinter creature gives a few jumpy moments.
The film lies somewhere between The Thing meets The Mist meets most zombie type movies, only change the zombies into mutating organisms. If these films appeal to you and you like the gore in movies like SAW then this is probably for you and well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cringe!, 9 May 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a new type of horror-put out something prickly and You hope never to meet it!
Another MUST for my horror film fanatic Daughter! She cannot get enough horror films it seems! As her mither was watching Carrie when she was carrying our daughter, and considering the fact that my wife started having contractions near the end of the film, I can guess just why my daughter has a taste for this stuff! A real horror fanatic for sure! She just likes to be scared! The more creepy the better!
This si a must for any horror film fans-get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brings a new meaning to the phrase 'road kill', 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
A good zombie/alien type story told with some originality and believability.
The claustrophobic setting creates the right atmosphere and gives credibility to the script.
The ending hints at a potential sequel which I'm glad hasn't yet been made. Often, less-is-more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you expect., 19 April 2013
By 
ric03 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
Splinter is a low budget US horror, which is a bit of a zombie/monster movie mash up. A couple have gone camping, but (due to their tent falling apart) look for a motel. They stop for some hitchhikers, but a psycho gunman (and his redneck girlfriend) take them hostage. When the four arrive at an abandoned petrol station, they come under attack from weird zombie monsters and must barricade themselves inside.

I liked the new slant on the zombie genre. These are not really zombies at all, but people taken over by a deadly fungus that turns them into something more like animals (where--as the picture shows--the infected grow grotesque porcupine-like spikes). They are ultra-fast, can climb buildings and do not possess any intelligence other than to attack (with any body part they can). It was quite refreshing, compared to your standard zombie flicks.

The characters are quite good (the couple are a bit boring, but the "Bonnie & Clyde" style characters are interesting) and well acted. Well worth a watch if you've nothing better to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations., 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
Given that the movie is only 1hr 15 minutes long, I was assuming it would be awful, but I was wrong there. It was awesome. One of the scariest movies I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANS OF BLOOD AND GORE, 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film.well acted,good effects and a nice twist on a well trod formula.to be honest i wasnt expecting a lot from this film,its under an hour and a half long,hadnt heard of the director and the actors arnt that well known.you may have seen the male lead in road trip and the female lead was in blade the tv series.blood guts and gore.fantastic creature film.if you liked the thing and liked feast you will have to get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Splinter [DVD]
Splinter [DVD] by Toby Wilkins (DVD - 2009)
4.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews