Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worn idea married to a novel idea = interesting horror
This is a fusion of tired and new. The old staple of 'unprepared couple get taken hostage by criminal couple for a ride in their vehicle' is fused to a horror with a fascinating idea. 'Jacked by a pair of druggie lovers, our heroes stop at a garage convenience store and all hell breaks loose. But the enemy here isn't the cops but a very ingenious parasite that really...
Published on 6 Aug 2010 by Benminx

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too shabby.
I read some of the other reviews and decided to buy the Splinter DVD. As I had read reviews prior to buying it I knew that it was a low budget creature feature along the lines of 'The Thing'. All things considered, the acting was actually reasonably good, the special effects made the most of the limited budget in my opinion and it was enjoyably silly.

I would...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by Mr Shh.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worn idea married to a novel idea = interesting horror, 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fusion of tired and new. The old staple of 'unprepared couple get taken hostage by criminal couple for a ride in their vehicle' is fused to a horror with a fascinating idea. 'Jacked by a pair of druggie lovers, our heroes stop at a garage convenience store and all hell breaks loose. But the enemy here isn't the cops but a very ingenious parasite that really stands out for inventiveness. The movie itself is pretty stripped down hostage and survival horror fare, with the trapped characters variously following all of the endlessly familiar movie arcs like getting paranoid/trying to escape etc, so it's 'ace' to get noticed is this smart device. And it works, turning a bog standard storyline into a more interesting dilemma. The performances are decent and the direction is too. The effects, crucially, are well done and they work.
Give this a try if you fancy something a little creative, as it's intruiging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This splinters as sharp as a knife, 2 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, this film might owe a small debt to John Carpenter's 1982 version of 'The Thing' but it has its own quirky identity, so it succeeds as a film in its own right, with enough originality and invention to keep it moving along nicely throughout its relatively short running time of 80 minutes.
The plot is simple enough. A young couple on an anniversary camping trip, are taken hostage by another couple who are on the run, and desperately trying to reach the Mexican border. However when they stop off at a Gas Station, they all find themselves hostages to a flesh eating parasitic creature.
One of the real joys of the film is watching the small group working out what makes the creature tick, and their increasingly inventive methods in combating its menace. I also liked the way they used their strengths to work as a team to try to survive the situation they found themselves in. The characters were well developed, and I genuinly cared about their fates. It was nice that they didnt just run round like headless chickens shouting 'We're all going to die!'. Finally, a special mention must go to the wonderful creature effects, nothing too showy or ridiculous, but brilliant all the same.
So all in all, a very enjoyable little horror film, that uses its claustrophobic setting to great effect, and it really bodes very well for director Toby Wilkins' future efforts. 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too shabby., 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
I read some of the other reviews and decided to buy the Splinter DVD. As I had read reviews prior to buying it I knew that it was a low budget creature feature along the lines of 'The Thing'. All things considered, the acting was actually reasonably good, the special effects made the most of the limited budget in my opinion and it was enjoyably silly.

I would not usually give this type of film more than 3 stars as for me they don't bring enough to the table to warrant the extra star or two. However, the main reason I give it a fairly good 3 is because as I watched it I didn't sit there saying "why didn't they do this?" or "why would you do that?". Usually with horror films you can pick lots of holes in the character's behaviour but with this one I suppose that there was not a lot more that they could have reasonably done, also it only cost [...] so I also take the low price into consideration.

If you like horror B movies then you could do a lot worse than watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, I bought it TWICE!, 1 May 2010
This review is from: Splinter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There aren't many movies that I will be splashing out to replace my DVD copy with a Blu-ray but I couldn't resist Splinter at such a good price. This is a fun and original horror. It is full of gore, well scripted, has a magnificent cast, fantastic character development, awesome special effects and some spectacular gross-out moments! It takes a classic horror scenario (survivors holed up in a building - in this case a petrol station) but the concept of the parasitic monster brings flare to the genre. If you enjoy films like The Mist, The Thing and Night of the Living Dead, then you too will love this. This is a great Movie Made Even Better by Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ouch!, 19 Oct 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
Smart little horror this, what it lacks in story originality it more than makes up for elsewhere.

Young lovers Seth (Paulo Costanzo) and Polly (Jill Wagner) find their attempts at a romantic camping trip usurped by their inadequacies in the great outdoors. But this soon becomes the very least of their problems, because they are car-jacked by escaped convict Dennis Farell (Shea Whigham) and his drug addict girlfriend Lacey Belisle (Rachel Kerbs). When they run over what they think is an animal of some sort, it signals the start of a terrifying ordeal that will see the group backed into the interior of a gas station and forced to fight for their lives.

What follows is a solid hour of suspense, terror, horrifying scenes and rich character dynamics. It's a siege situation with the enemy some sort of porcupine - vegetable - human hybrid, and it's relentless and clever. Director Toby Wilkins doesn't once let the picture sag or suffer from filler, all scenes and character interactions are integral to the plotting. Mercifully free of characters doing the dumb things that are so inherent in this splinter (hrr hrr hrr) of horror, Wilkins' film is consistently effective in what it wants to achieve.

The effects are kept to a minimum and the only real complaint is that for every attack by the creature we are subjected to shakycam. If this is to hide the effects work we don't know? And it's always great to have a horror assailant be used sparingly on a visual level, but the shakycam becomes annoying and feels like a bit of a cheat in the final quarter. The small cast offer up some sterling performances, with Whigham standing out as the hateful villain, while Nelson Cragg's photography strips the colours down to primal indie level and the film is better for it.

A pleasant surprise and recommended to horror fans after a quick and bloody siege horror that never disappoints. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing incredible but a good way to kill a a bit of time, 30 July 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Splinter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Having just bought my Blu Ray player recently, I came across this in my local supermarket, and at what seemed a very good price for a Blu Ray disc. So being in awe of my new toy I took a punt on and it paid off.

Sure, splinter isn't the greatest film ever made, but nor is it the worst. I quite happily watched it a few nights ago and enjoy it more than I thought I would. The acting is good, and a small cast ensures this. It doesn't feel cheap, or look low budget in anyway, again due to a small set. And the SFX are good - with the way the monster looks and moves being genuinely creepy.

In fact, if I had 1 gripe about this film it would be that we didn't see more of the monster - or rather see it more clearly. The film, in points suffered from over use of 'shaking camera' syndrome, which meant you struggled to see the monster in all it's glory - which is a shame, because a lot of effort was put into it (watch the extras for more on that), and the director went to great length to ensure 'the actors had something to react to on set and didn't just have to try and act to a tennis ball on a stick or me saying, "it's going to be over there."
Good Job! and you succeeded in creating a really spooky monster - so lets see it! Don't be shy - next time show it off in all it's glory...

The plot was pretty straight forward but then again, that's what you want from this sort of film - and although the film was short, I actually think that that too turned out to be a plus... let me explain.

Splinter is a great film to turn on, tune in and drop out too. It requires no thinking. Just sit back and enjoy the ride and the fact that it's only 88 minutes long makes it a perfect film to just chuck on one night after work - or squeeze it sometime when you have an odd hour to spare.

In fact, when I think about it (taking into account my earlier points of a small cast and set and one suspects a low budget - although again, you don't get that from it at all), Splinter is actually a pretty smart film: the filmmakers recognised their limitations worked with what they had, and turned them into strengths.

7/10 - If you found this review helpful at all please give it the thumbs up! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Echoes of The Thing, 18 July 2014
This review is from: Splinter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film owes a lot to the John Carpenter classic, The Thing. An attractive but slightly nerdy couple on a road trip get duped into picking up an escaped convict and his girlfriend. The foursome wind up at a deserted gas station, and they soon find themselves under attack by a parasitic lifeform, which invades and metamorphoses people. The metamorphosis scenes are well done, with thick black splinters (hence the movie's name) shooting out from faces and bodies. Although the CGI might be slightly low budget, it works well, certainly on a par with the metamorphosis scenes in the original of The Thing and An American Werewolf in London. The lead couple have to fight off the parasite, which they do in a sequence of imaginatively shot scenes. There is muscular direction in the film, Paul Verhoeven style, and the director makes the most of a fairly limited storyline. The film has faint echoes of Sam Raimi's The Evil Dead, in the sense of a small group of characters finding themselves cornered in the middle of nowhere, and having to use their ingenuity to survive against the odds. The Evil Dead was made on a shoestring budget but was chillingly effective, and whilst this is not quite at the same level, it is still an above average B-movie type chiller. If you like The Thing, you'll most likely enjoy this under-rated monster flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone want a cute splinter Pumpkin?, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
This single disc DVD comes with some basic bonus documentary/explanation type features, amongst these is a short demo on how to make a splinter pumpkin as well as another showing the weather during film-making. Otherwise it's a standard DVD albeit with a good picture quality and a sound level that's louder than most. Despite the limited cast and enclosed film set location the film never bores.
The story basically revolves around two dissimilar couples who are thrown together through circumstances and find themselves isolated in a gas [petrol] station where they are forced to co-operate in order to survive. There's plenty of gore to be found and the splinter creature gives a few jumpy moments.
The film lies somewhere between The Thing meets The Mist meets most zombie type movies, only change the zombies into mutating organisms. If these films appeal to you and you like the gore in movies like SAW then this is probably for you and well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome low budget horror movie, 9 April 2009
By 
P. N. Hussey "pnh77" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely loved this movie. Nice story that is character driven and despite some really minor niggles I thought it was terrific. Some superb gore scenes and having the majority set in a petrol station added to the tension, similarly to Night of the Living Dead. Some elements of The Thing are thrown in too and it makes for a throughly satisfying movie. The other thing that I thought was really good with this film was that is is short. Personally I felt this made the film that much more urgent and intense and had the film been longer I feel it wouldn't have been as good. Well worth a watch. Been a long time since I've been able to use the word 'Awesome' when talking about a horror movie and a real breath of fresh air from the 'torture porn' horror films that there seem to be so many of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ouch!, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Splinter [DVD] (DVD)
The goverment have been doing their weird experiments again(should'nt they be sorting out the economy?)and oh no they've created some weird spikey creature that zombiefys it's host.I was expecting a standared B-movie but was surprised by the special effects and really good acting,if your looking for loads of gore like Saw [DVD] this probably isn't for you it has a more Fringe - Season 1 [DVD]style feel to it.Well worth the couple of quid i paid for it and if you enjoy this you might wanna check out Shuttle [DVD] [2008].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Splinter [DVD]
Splinter [DVD] by Toby Wilkins (DVD - 2009)
£3.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews