Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't You Want The Human League ?
This Greatest Hits package is basically an update of their 1988 compilation which I already own on tape, with their 1989-1995 material thrown in for good measure... not that's there much of it. As the previous reviewer stated, they had their wilderness years in the late-80's and into the mid-90's (producing a lot of dross), with a return to form on their 1995 album...
Published on 26 Nov 2001 by chrishyams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need to know music seeing in concert
Really only purchased as going to see Human League in December. Enjoyed them years ago but more my sister's thing so never bought their music then as she had it all. Saying that have enjoyed listening to this CD which causes me to sing and dance whilst doing other things.

Includes all the singles you'd know if over 10 when around the first time.
Published on 25 Aug 2012 by Mo2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't You Want The Human League ?, 26 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This Greatest Hits package is basically an update of their 1988 compilation which I already own on tape, with their 1989-1995 material thrown in for good measure... not that's there much of it. As the previous reviewer stated, they had their wilderness years in the late-80's and into the mid-90's (producing a lot of dross), with a return to form on their 1995 album Octopus.
However, the compilers really should have included their only decent single from this era, the highly-catchy Heart Like A Wheel, together with the Top 20 single from Octopus, One Man In My Heart. Moreover, they could have payed slightly more attention to their late-70's experimental phase aside from including the 1982 re-release of Being Boiled (originally a 1978 indie-release), with the inclusion of their unworldly single Empire State Human. A chronologically-correct song-list would have also allowed non-fans to track the interesting development of the band through from 1978 to 1995. The shoddy Snap-remix of Don't You Want Me? is also surplus to requirements and thoroughly unneccesary.
However, gripes aside, this is probably the best compilation of the League's material out there, and as such comes recommended to the as yet uninitiated, quite simply because it contains a multitude of classic pop tunes (note that I did'nt mention the lyrics !) I've just seen them at a 1,000 sell-out concert in Basingstoke (of all places !) and they can still do it live !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were you expecting this?, 1 Oct 2006
By 
L. Foxall "foxall" (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I would like to take this opportunity to express my feelings not only about this album but also about the Human League who are one of my favourite bands and an inspiration, not only for their music but their togetherness as a band.

Firstly, the Greatest Hits album. The only track I'm not too keen on is the remix of 'Don't You Want Me' at the end, which I find a bit tacky (couldn't Virgin have put 'Heart Like A Wheel' on instead?). The other tracks on the album are of at least a good standard, with my favourites being 'Love Is All That Matters', 'Together In Electric Dreams', 'Human', 'Mirror Man' and 'Tell Me When' which was the song that introduced me to the band. Overall it is a superb collection of fine electronic music.

Secondly, the Band. Despite a turbulent and troubled past during their 25 year history (30 if you go back to the original line-up of Phil, Martin Ware & Ian Craig Marsh), the trio of Phil, Joanne & Susan deserve credit for sticking together & keeping themselves going (at times against the odds) and have every right to be proud of what they have achieved. For me, they are the original masters of electronic pop and having seen them at the Manchester Apollo last year, they proved they can still do the business. I feel they will be seen as an influence by many others in the electronic music world for many years to come and I must admit that if it wasn't for the Human League, I probably wouldn't have got into electronic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album!, 14 Feb 2001
By 
Mr. Steven Bootes "sbootes" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is the only Human League album you'll ever need! Out of all of their albums only Dare, which houses 'Don't You Want Me', gets any real critical acclaim, but the best tracks from that are on this album!
As this collection proves, The Human League, made great music throughout their whole career. Even during the 'wilderness years' (in the U.K. anyway) from '85-'94. This album also includes the best track of all, Together In Electric Dreams, a solo track by Phil Oakey.
There are two or three weak tracks, such as the terrible Snap Remix and 'Stay With Me Tonight'. But the rest are classics! Every home should have a Human League album, and this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD � really takes you back to the 80�s, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Wow, try to pick one favourite record from this lot - mine would have to be 'Don't You Want Me' closely followed by all the rest. A really good collection of nostalgic tracks - especially if you were a teenager in the early eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human League –need I say more?, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I’m not great fan of the 1980s, that said I’m not reviewing the decade, but what I did love was the music of the 80s and Human League are just the one best. This is good edition that contains all my favourite tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Loved the 80's so this is a fantastic album. Would highly recommend this for any 80's lovers. Human league are fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was a teenager in the 1980's and I listen to this and sing a long. The quality is excellent and has not dated at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 11 Mar 2013
By 
mountainmini (Donegal, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Plenty of great songs on this album, love love love Fascination and Oakey`s solo Electric Dreams, its been on a loop in the car for the school run!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This cd certainly brings back some "old skool" memorys on the dance floor of the 80's..
All the greatest hits and well worth adding to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Jan 2013
By 
L. Galloway (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Always like the human league since I was young. This gave me a chance to re-live the old hits and the good times. Entertaining and good to sing along to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Hits
The Greatest Hits by The Human League
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews