Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of 'the best of's
The Pet Shop Boys are just 2 people in the long line of inspired muscisians that England has thrown up and yet they are regularly dismissed as one-trick-electronia-ponies.
This is highly unfair as few in the 80s produced the mammoth hooks that the psb's regularily belted out and here they are all collected as evidence.
The first track (west end girls)...
Published on 23 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Glitches ?
Great album. Great group. However there are a number of "glitches" on quite a few of the tracks .Should have bought the cd.
Published 5 months ago by JIF


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really decent compilation, 18 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will not write an elaborate essay on PSB music. don't worry. It's just one of the groups I grew up with as a teenager and simply like it. It's a very decent CD with all the mainstream tunes, one of the few compilations I can actually listen without fast forwarding/skipping the tunes like I often do with my other favourite artists' compilations from the 80's/90's.
Interesting inlay with a short story for each song, a must if you have always liked the group but never fancied buying and going through any of their original albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best in the West (End), 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This is definitely an outstanding collection of an outstanding band's best works. If you like the Pet Shop Boys' sound, you have to own this compact disc. "West End Girls" is nothing short of brilliant. The synthesised sounds are totally engrossing and you can't help but get wrapped up in the words. This is true of almost all of the songs on the album, with only one falling short of the high standard - "DJ Culture". Other than that, there really isn't anything wrong with this collection. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Not A Sin - It's The Pet Shop Boys Best Of, 6 July 2005
A nostalgic listen to 'Actually' from 1987 (one of the first cassette tapes I ever owned), led me to purchase 'Discography', the shorter 'best of' of the Pet Shop Boys, and more importantly, the one without 'Go West'.
Most of the material here is from the 80's, which is great, that's when, in my opinion, the Pet Shop Boys really shone. They are one of the few bands with a distinct 80's sound that manage to send me straight back to my childhood, and feel happy and nostalgic about it without thinking what a dreadful synthesizer sound.
The biggest surprise here for me is 'It's A Sin', which as a child just sounded catchy, but now paying attention to the lyrics, really moves me. I can't help but wonder how come it doesn't have a huge gay status ­- being such a heart felt, honest, and powerful gay person's account of guilty feelings in the face of society's expectations, that also rides on a classic over the top Euro Dance riff -­ can you really ask for more for the ultimate gay anthem? Well, maybe I'm just wrong, and maybe it's the Pet Shop Boys fault for being too self-conscious.
It doesn't matter though, in many ways that's exactly why The Pet Shop Boys are responsible for some of the best 80's hits, and probably some of the best lyrics in dance music.
The ideal collection for someone who isn't a big PSB fan but wants one album with all their biggest hits (not including 'Go West').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realize how much I missed listening to their hits in one go; brilliant!, 27 Aug 2014
By 
T. Finnegan "ranita25" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who grew up with the Pet Shop Boys' music but long ago lost the cassettes (boxed up somewhere in mother's house), it has been great to come across this disc (and at an absolutely brilliant price, too!), that has all the hits I have missed having all these recent years.
The only song that might be missing in there is Go West, but, even so, five stars well deserved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 30 May 2006
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 1984, a new group burst on the scene with a new sound in pop/dance music - Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe, The Pet Shop Boys! Bringing out such tunes as West End Girls, It's A Sin and Jealousy, they were a hit. Now, they might be off of the Top 40 charts, but they are still around.

However, if you remember their glory days, and want to recapture that great Pet Shop Boys Sound, then this is the album to get. It has 18 of the groups greatest hits, including my personal favorites, It's A Sin, Rent, Always On My Mind and Jealousy. I love this CD, and am very glad that I was given it as a gift. This is a great CD that I highly recommend to all fans of good pop/club music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet Shop Boys, the first decade, 26 May 2013
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This "greatest hits" album rightly celebrates the first ten years of PSBs, from this chance encounter between Chris Lowe and Neil Tennant in a music shop in Kings Road in August 1981, to the release of "Discography" in November 1991. Even if the first single on the CD, "West End Girls", was only released in October 1985, a first version of it was produced in 1983 and "Jealousy", one of the latter singles of the band in this time period, was effectively written in 1982.
Therefore it is fair to say that this album covers ten years of music-making by the Boys.
I am not going to replicate what has been repeated endlessly in these reviews, bar to say that these songs are all TIMELESS, and represent some of the best music-making in any genre. The addition of two new songs, especially written for this release, "DJ Culture" and "Was it worth it?" are both very good additions to the PSB canon and absolutely deserve to be here. My only complaint is the absence of "How can you expect to be taken seriously" - particularly the single version which had been brilliantly remixed by Brothers in Rhythm.
But what is probably even more incredible is that this first "best of" album could have easily been extended to a 2-CD or even a 3-CD set. There was amazing music written by the Pet Shop Boys then which could/should have been here: the Liza Minnelli singles from "Results", the two singles for Dusty Springfield, or "Paninaro" (a single in its own right in Italy) and so many other tracks by PSBs that didn't make it as singles: "Kings Cross", "It couldn't happen here", or B-sides like "We all feel better in the dark", "Miserablism" and "Bet she's not your girlfriend".
In light of all these riches coming from a band that has always been working very hard and has never stopped being relevant on a 30-year period, let's pay tribute to these two music geniuses who, more than twenty years after the release of this, manage to produce "Elyseum" and "Axis" back-to-back in barely twelve months!
The adventure continues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Dogs and two Englishmen, 30 Nov 2012
It was hardly much of a surprise re the considerable input Neil Tennant had with the Noel Coward tribute Twentieth Century Blues as vocally he was sometimes compared to Coward's laidback voice.On this album the Pet Shop Boys cover the song Sail Away.
Thus the duo were like an 80s equivalent of Noel Coward who often added social comment to his songs.
In the 80s came a whole raft of synth/vocal duos-the Communards,Erasure,Soft Cell,Bros and the biggest of all the Pet Shop Boys
Here are 18 reasons why
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet shop boys - Singles collection, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I only have one Pet Shop boys single - It's a Sin (on vinyl) Buying their music on CD has been a long time coming, but this is excellent and have played it constantly since buying. Having seen the boys support TAKE THAT at Wembley in 2011 it bought the atmosphere all back to me. Pet shop boys songs thundering across Wembley Stadium was a truly moving experience, and 50,000 people singing along was magnificent. Only gripe about this collection is GO WEST is missing, but appears on other collections with a lot of the same songs on this album. Kerry Foster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews