Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of 'the best of's
The Pet Shop Boys are just 2 people in the long line of inspired muscisians that England has thrown up and yet they are regularly dismissed as one-trick-electronia-ponies.
This is highly unfair as few in the 80s produced the mammoth hooks that the psb's regularily belted out and here they are all collected as evidence.
The first track (west end girls)...
Published on 23 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Glitches ?
Great album. Great group. However there are a number of "glitches" on quite a few of the tracks .Should have bought the cd.
Published 1 month ago by JIF


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of 'the best of's, 23 May 2002
By A Customer
The Pet Shop Boys are just 2 people in the long line of inspired muscisians that England has thrown up and yet they are regularly dismissed as one-trick-electronia-ponies.
This is highly unfair as few in the 80s produced the mammoth hooks that the psb's regularily belted out and here they are all collected as evidence.
The first track (west end girls) beatifully captured the cool sterile suave culture of the yuppies while suberbia as the antithesis is just a glorious riot.
Listening to all the tracks together it becomes clear just how eclectic this duo were - everything is here from Dusty Springfield dropping a bomb of hi-energy soul and the obligatory dead-pan rapping to Gloria Estefan inspired Domino Dancing.
-Fantastic*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation of great songs, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
I really like the Pet Shop Boys and this release has so many of their best songs up through the early 1990's. I had no idea how prolific they were until I heard this release and realised that quite a few songs had acutally been left off of the album. The Pet Shop Boys have been around for so long and have managed to have so many top ten singles that I have completely lost track. My first memory of the group is West End Girls (which is on this cd) and all of the songs have the same strong memories for me. There really are some good songs here that you would be sure to recognize, remember and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, actually..., 11 Aug 2003
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I 'came of age' in the 80s, and was working in London when the PSB first began releasing music. 'West End Girls' is a quintessentially London song; I immediately went out and bought their album. I've been purchasing all their albums since.
This collection contains the major songs (the single releases) from their first four albums, plus a few new songs. For anyone who wants to have a good collection of 80s music, this is a must for the collection. The disco is present but not banal nor overpowering; the lyrics are intelligent and neither syrupy-sung nor screamed. The videos which go along with these songs are clever and artfully done.
The playlist includes:
West End Girls -- a number one hit in America, Europe, Britain and Asia
Love comes quickly
Opportunities
Suburbia -- music perhaps inspired by EastEnders
It's a Sin -- another international no. 1 hit
What have I done to deserve this - a collaboration with Dusty Springfield
Rent
Always on my mind -- a remake of the classic
Heart
Domino dancing
Left to my own devices
It's alright
So hard
Being boring - name derived from Gertrude Stein
Where the streets have no name (can't take my eyes off of you) -- a combination of songs cleverly done
Jealousy
DJ Culture -- a new song released with the album
Was it worth it? -- another new song, released later
The PSB don't easily fit into any particular category -- while they are gay performers, they are not exclusively 'gay' performers; their music reached a wide audience and was not preachy (in fact, their song 'How Can You Expect to be Taken Seriously' consciously pokes fun at pop stars who become spokesmen and 'experts' simply for being famous in another field). Unfortunately, due to the limitations imposed upon the length of CDs, this song had to be omitted from this collection (it does appear on the video compilation, however).
Rolling Stone recently described them as being 'the Grateful Dead of the europop scene'. This is rather close to the mark in that they have dedicated followers who devour everything they produce as well as a more general audience who like them without obsessing. There are the major UK hits, and a few US No. 1 hits on this album, as well as songs that were much bigger hits in the broader world as American trends in music (at least as driven by radio and MTV airtime) have changed while the PSB sound is very much the same.
Of course, the over-the-top disco version of 'Always on my Mind' makes me laugh and sing along every time I hear it. Neil Tennant has such a wonderful dead-pan delivery, and Chris Lowe's artful use of brass, string and bass together with backing beats, all from the electronic keyboard, is truly a wonder.
This is an essential CD to have to understand the 1980s, London in the 80s, pop culture in the 80s. Also, to just have a good time! A great discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ol' days, 10 Oct 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
A fantastic album from The Pet shop Boys that i've now owned for over 10 years. I originally started off with the video version, which of course had these songs and the videos. It was fantastic, and I've still got it, as its one of those things that marks a part of your growing up. But I soon got the cd to listen to, and of course the quality is much better.
The songs all just seem to be ordered in just the places, and some have alot of meaning. West End Girls is a good way to start of the album, and I love Love Comes Quickly. I think the other best tracks include Surburbia, Always on my mind, So Hard, Being Boring, and Where the Streets have No Name.
My top track would have to Being Boring, which means so much - the lyrics are fantastic, and it has a great rhythm thats quite emotional, as it makes you think back to your childhood. This was the kind of material the Pet Shop boys played at the madchester club Hacienda, and is the perfect material.
A fantastic album, and not to be missed by anyone who remembers the 80's/90's in style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 29 Sep 2005
By A Customer
I have the cassette and its about worn out. I play it alot and will never get tired of it. I lived in England for 5 years and lived there when alot of these songs hit No. 1. It would be great to have a US tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discography - Pet Shop Boys, 6 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing PSBs performing live at Wembley Stadium as a support act to Take That in July, I was delighted to hear all their greatest hits again. I was reminded of the innovative brilliance of their music and bought the incredibly priced CD of their greatest hits. An outstanding collection of the iconic duo of the eighties, Discography provides a comprehensive collection of all the singles produced by the Boys. Thoroughly delightful to renew my enjoyment of their creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 30 May 2006
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 1984, a new group burst on the scene with a new sound in pop/dance music - Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe, The Pet Shop Boys! Bringing out such tunes as West End Girls, It's A Sin and Jealousy, they were a hit. Now, they might be off of the Top 40 charts, but they are still around.

However, if you remember their glory days, and want to recapture that great Pet Shop Boys Sound, then this is the album to get. It has 18 of the groups greatest hits, including my personal favorites, It's A Sin, Rent, Always On My Mind and Jealousy. I love this CD, and am very glad that I was given it as a gift. This is a great CD that I highly recommend to all fans of good pop/club music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was It Worth It?, 9 April 2012
This album is a chronological presentation of Pet Shop Boys singles from their 1984 debut "West End Girls" through to 1991's "Was It Worth It?", and for the most part, it's a fine body of work.

As far as their career is concerned, the Pet Shop Boys are not dissimilar to Abba, in that they were initially dismissed by both the critics and the public as a flash-in-the-pan one-hit-wonder that would duly disappear, never to be heard from again. But just as was the case with Abba, appearances proved deceptive with the Pet Shop Boys. For after the rather fey boy-band stylings of their debut, "West End Girls" and the 'usual' inconsequential follow-up "Love Comes Quickly" - instead of disappearing, the Pet Shop Boys subsequently hit their stride with "Opportunities", and after that there was no looking back.

The key to the duo's success was their happy knack for creating memorable synth-pop/dance tracks, combined with world-weary lyrical themes delivered with the kind of wry detachment that lent their singles a timely post-modern sensibility, resulting in music with surprising depth and durability. For example, "Suburbia" is both a dance track, and a social commentary that discusses the underlying causes of petty vandalism and suburban neurosis, pivoting around the lyric "I only wanted something else to do but hang around ...". Likewise "It's A Sin", a dance epic to individualism in the face of social pressures to conform. Such lyrical themes resonated deeply with dance-club punters, who were spending their Saturday nights intent on escaping the very same things the Pet Shop Boys were complaining about.

Overall, this is an excellent overview of the band's early career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pet Shop Boys - Discography, 5 Jan 2011
I have really enjoyed listening to Discography: the Complete Singles Collection by The Pet Shop Boys. The tracks are presented in order as they were released and I found it interesting how their music developed over time and how the complexity for the tracks changes in their career.
Brought back many memories of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best in the West (End), 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This is definitely an outstanding collection of an outstanding band's best works. If you like the Pet Shop Boys' sound, you have to own this compact disc. "West End Girls" is nothing short of brilliant. The synthesised sounds are totally engrossing and you can't help but get wrapped up in the words. This is true of almost all of the songs on the album, with only one falling short of the high standard - "DJ Culture". Other than that, there really isn't anything wrong with this collection. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews