Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first and the best
This was the first of the Roxy Music / Bryan Ferry greatest hit compilations, dating from 1986, digitally remastered as well, and is still the best.
It encapsulates the man and the band at their peak, whether rocking or lounging. Not a duff track on it; 20 tracks, 74 minutes, blooming fantastic.
Published on 8 Dec 2003 by Mr. R. B. Ager

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a bummer
I was expecting a high quality studio produced C D, wheras what I received was something that could have been recorded in someones living room direct from a radio.
I am therefore extremely disappointed with this product.
Published on 9 Oct 2010 by Big M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first and the best, 8 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the first of the Roxy Music / Bryan Ferry greatest hit compilations, dating from 1986, digitally remastered as well, and is still the best.
It encapsulates the man and the band at their peak, whether rocking or lounging. Not a duff track on it; 20 tracks, 74 minutes, blooming fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry: Undeniably Cool, 4 Oct 1999
By A Customer
The sands of time have piled up over the grave of Roxy Music, all but obscuring them from our memories - sad when you listen to this CD and realise how cool they were!
'Virginia Plain' endures in the national consciousness, but it's not the best song here. 'Dance Away', 'These Foolish Things', 'More Than This' and my favourite, 'Over You' are all gorgeous songs, delivered in Bryan Ferry's trademark half-sleazy, half-romantic style.
And you can't forget 'Avalon', 'Slave to Love' or 'Let's Stick Together' either. If that pop 'reworking' of 'More Than This' that surfaced in the charts a few months ago still leaves an unpleasant taste, get this CD and listen all the way through - it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this cd as a gift for my wife as she said she liked Bryan Ferry/Roxy Music when one of their songs played on the radio in the car,but hadn't got any of their albums.
So I looked at several of the best of CD's on the site and found this to be the most concise containing all the hits that you know.Some omitted one or two ,of which appeared on other compilations which again omitted others.But this has them all.
Also when playing this cd the tracks you didn't recognise by name you will remember when your hear them.
So if you like Roxy and Bryan but don't own any albums,this is the one for you.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent compilation - all the hits just as you remembered them, no remixed versions - Ferry fans should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Major hits featured., 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Life - 20 Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
If you are wanting a compilation of the major hit singles from BF and Roxy Music then this album should prOvide you with what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best compilation ever!, 13 April 2009
By 
Ms. A. L. Welsh "annabanana" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic CD! If you are a roxy music fan, this is a must have. It includes all the classics. I found the sound quality really good as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good and cheap, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Street Life - 20 Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
excellent album for all of you who lived through this era and the great soulful voice of Mr Ferry... superb to hear them again and at a great price to boot!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly the essence of Roxy Music, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is this cd the essential Roxy Music? Well, nearly, for I am not a great fan of their albums but their singles were o.k., so this cd does a great job. However, one album also did appeal to my taste (catchy, melodic rock) and that is "Country Life", so that one and "20 Great Hits" and you really have the best of Roxy Music, according to my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great collection of music. Over 70 minutes of Brian Ferrys best music. Really does cover all his greatest hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album., 15 May 2014
By 
Mrs. D. J. Penzer "Deb" (Sutton Coldfield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had this on vinyl originally but have now bought the cd so I can have a hard copy and download to iPod. Brilliant album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews