Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 30 seconds and your hooked!
So much has been written about the 'Hollywood star' connection so lets dispence with all that crap and focus on the band and music. I've been lucky enough to have been listening to this album for over a year having bought it in America the day it came out, and what a cracker it is. Kicking off with Attack this draws you in with some amazing vocals and a fantastic driving...
Published on 4 May 2007 by Tosh

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful lie
30 seconds from mars second album not as good as the first or third album but ok only one strange track that has about three minutes of silence
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by cliff c


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 30 seconds and your hooked!, 4 May 2007
By 
Tosh (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
So much has been written about the 'Hollywood star' connection so lets dispence with all that crap and focus on the band and music. I've been lucky enough to have been listening to this album for over a year having bought it in America the day it came out, and what a cracker it is. Kicking off with Attack this draws you in with some amazing vocals and a fantastic driving song(just watch your speed). Not wanting to really use the Emo tag this album cannot get more emotional if it tried on tracks The kill and From yesterday with Jared screaming his lungs dry. I found the best way to describe them was if you were to put U2, Depeche Mode, and Motorhead in a room to duke it out the surviving members would form 30 Seconds to mars. Great album hope the hype does not break them up, an album that will certainly help you work,rest and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing Album, 28 May 2007
By 
C. Brown "Birdman" (Cornwall England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
I bought this after a few friends recomended it. Being into all forms of guitar music from emo-pop through to Death Metal I listened to it with an open mind and without even knowing who the lead singer was.

Quite simply first listen I was amazed at the quality and talent shown here. Jareds voice is simply awesome and the songs are excellently written and polished right the way through.

Starting with "Attack" a song that just reeks power and get's you really excited straight away. Then the album does soften up a bit throughout the next couple of tracks with "The Kill" being a really (I hate this tag.) EMO song but you realise then just how awesome this guys voice is and that's not going onto the tunes themselves which are awesome. Then after a couple of great 'filler' tracks you get "From Yesterday" Quite possibly already one of my favourite songs of all time. His voice throughout the song is amazing, from the soft melodic verses to the screaming choruses where he really does seem to sing his heart out and after a few listens you will probably do so to. A song that really lifts your spirits and get's your heart and soul going.

The album ends on a softer note and as soon as the last note is rung you want to hit the repeat button to go through it all again.

So I would recommend anyone who likes rock music buys this album, yes in parts it's EMO but don't let that hinder you. I promise, if you like soaring vocals, well written songs and music that really makes you feel what the singer seems to be, you won't go wrong with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 SECONDS TO MARS - A BEAUTIFUL LIE, 7 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
Having put up with Radio 1 and listening to 'The Kill' overplayed, trying to get used to it after the very fantastic 'Biffy Clyro-Puzzle'(album of the year, in my opinion) the album would appear to be impossible to match. 'A Beautiful Lie' became an absolute joy and grows on me each time on playing(listen to the reviews so far), it is a real grower after a couple of listens. Please, please buy and listen more than once (it will be your favourite album at one stage in your life)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album but Mac users beware..., 29 Sep 2007
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
I don't really have anything new to add to what has been written below about the songs themselves, but feel I should post a warning to Mac users about this CD (and indeed about any others that use the OpenDisc 'interactive' element). You will NOT be able to eject this disc from your Mac without re-booting as the disc is effectively opened twice (once for the audio tracks and once for the interactive element, which I didn't even want in the first place). Even after quitting every application I had open the disc still would not eject and re-booting was the only option. Hope this is helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection in Music, 12 July 2007
By 
B. Walton "walton06" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't usually say this about a band. But this album is PERFECT. Ranging from subdued and intimate to arena-filling rock anthems.

Jared's voice is on TOP form, and I mean that, just listen to "From Yesterday" if you don't believe me. He may be on a complete ego-trip with this album, but hell, he's earnt it.

It is massive, extravagant, daring, tight and simply amazing. Utilising different time signatures (such as the 3:4 time signature in "The Kill" - hence its Waltz feel, and the waltz dance in the video), and different tunings, 30STM have really set the bar for other bands to live up to.

Shannon Leto (Jared's brother) is by far one of the most amazing rock drummers to appear recently, with technical drumming, amazing fills and an overall brilliant performance.

And don't listen to Amazon's comment on their Bjork cover, "Hunter" is a stand-out track on the album, a brilliant alternative, synth epic.

30STM are a band that mean business, well, Jared does at least...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally 30 seconds to mars are back!!, 19 July 2005
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
Never one to dissapoint, Jared Leto is back with the follow up to their fantastic debut album, and its just as good, if not better than the first. Big production, huge melodies, futuristic electronics and imaginative lyrics, anyone who likes any kind of rock/metal music should check this out, its that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful consacration, 31 Aug 2005
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
"A beautiful lie", the second masterpiece of ThirtySecondsToMars is absolutely good. They seemed to move on in a new direction, different from the first self titled album. I truly like all the tracks, my favorite one is "the fantasy". With "A Beautiful Lie" you can feel for the second time the rhythm and the sound of another far planet, with the impressive voice of Jared Leto and the sound of his mates.Every song has meaning and depth to it, lyrically and musically. There are two tracks that you must listen to: "Hunter" a cover of Bjork song and "The Battle of One" that in my opinion is a bridge that connect this new album to the first one. This is their growth, thier consacration.
My suggestion is "Go and buy it".Those 4 guys worked hard on this new release and they deserve to be listened and appreciated by all and in many countries.BUY AND ENJOY A BEAUTIFUL LIE-IN STORES FROM AUGUST 30TH.
RedScarlett
[Echelon]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good album, fingers crossed they do well in the UK, 3 May 2007
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
at last 30 seconds to mars have hit the uk with an official release of the album. the songs are good, and catchy, and the band are strong, lead by Jared Leto, who is joined by his brother shanon, and mates tomo and matt (though matt has now left the band) it is a good album and well worth a listen, not the type of music i would buy normally (i bought it as i was a jared leto fan initially) but it is now always played on my ipod and the cd is never out of the cd player. the band are fantastic live too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating masterpiece!!, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Louise Amkaer (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
When I bought "A beautiful lie" I thought I would get a couple of singles and some mediocre songs in between, but I was pleasantly surprised.

"A beautiful lie" is a musical piece to be heard and enjoyed from end to end, not just an album of songs. And then it all just comes together as an intoxicating masterpiece. The lyrics, the guitar riffs, the music, and the vision.

Louise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 3 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: A Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
I am a long (very!!) term rock and guitar misic fan. I have seen and heard many bands and albums over the years. This album has left me sure of the tradition contuinuing with the newer generations. I agree with all that has been written apart from the reviewer who wrote that 'Hunter' was the weakest song and a 'filler'.

Hunter is a cover of the brilliant and enigmatic Bjork song. If anything, it is stunning in it's ability to match the tension and individuality of the original. To cover a Bjork creation is very courageous, to do it as well as this deserves credit.

Here's to the next one guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Beautiful Lie
A Beautiful Lie by THIRTY SECONDS TO MARS
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews