Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The greatest album you've never heard of, 27 Jan. 2003
By 
David Cushman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
Take the unmatchable majesty of Phil Manzanera's kookiest guitar, shake it up with the madness of King Eno and... well just listen to those chorus lines. On Miss Shapiro for example: Go ahead and make sense of that! Discover Eno retailing crumbly cosmetics on his journeys round the world.
Meander through trans-global music before anyone thought it could be cool.
Here is a collection through which we discover how Peru has lengthened the day... and strengthened the dollar. You don't get that from Boyzone.
Chances are, you haven't just stumbled on this, so you already know how hatstand it all is. Be grateful, you are one of the lucky few.
Go out and find a convert. Make their day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The usual suspects, 18 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
This is from the same era as the early Brian Eno solo albums with similar and overlapping personnel. Intersetingly the album that Manzanera recorded with his temporarily reformed, Pre-Roxy, band Quiet Sun was recorded at the same time as this in an adjacent studion, so it makes and good companion piece to this.

Phil Manzanera's solo work stands the test of time much better than the post-Eno Roxy albums and is well worth checking out. Vozero with Robert Wyatt is another that I have recently picked up on and to my ears it one of the best albums that either men have made.

Diamond Head however is an excellent album being as it is contemporay with the period of Brian Eno's early song based solo albums an sharing much of the same ethos and musicians. The guitar sound is brilliant, throughout but a stand out track, to my ears anyway, is "Same Time Next Week" which is a deut between verbally dueling lovers. This gives the album its destinctive Manzanera voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great find, 10 Aug. 2011
By 
bart4books "db" (bristol, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
I am buying CDs of music I didn't listen to in the 70s and 80s. I remembered a friend getting a phil manzanera LP in 1978 and decided to check this out. It is very good indeed. good solid melodic rock. quite light hearted. I am definitely going to try other manzanera stuff now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Head, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
I like to think that my record collection is fairly representative of the great and interesting that came out of the much maligned 1970's. Not at all! Being a lover of everything Eno, Fripp, Wyatt et all this one seems to have slipped under my musical radar, until now. I purchased on a whim after surfing through Amazon's shelves late one night. Thank goodness for that or I might still be in ignorance of this absolutely superb album by the very talented Mr Manzanera. It's quite sublime and like all the best from the afore mentioned decade, timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to meet Phil Manzanera and Andy MacKay as a teenager back in the 80s when I went to see their then new band The Explorers.

I am not easily star-struck, but having been brought up on their music since early childhood, I will never forget the half hour or I spent with them, discussing the making of this album, Mr MacKay's equally great In Search of Eddie Riff, and their personal favourite Roxy albums and tracks.

Listening to this album always brings that evening back to life, especially the masterly and haunting Alma.

On a par with Eno's Here Come the Warmjets, Stevie Wonder's Inner Visions and Bowie's Diamond Dogs, part of me will always think that Mr Ferry was probably the least talented and innovative Roxy Music member, despite his incredible lyrical abilities.

Great music transcends genre and as an erstwhile punk and soul/R&B appreciator, I think this is a truly great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond cut, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
Solo projects tend to be overlooked on the premise that they consist of a little self indulgence on the part of the artist to fill in time between the more important band albums. It's surprising, then, just how many good solo albums there are out there, and this is among the best. It has a neat, classy production that doesn't age it, contains lots of musical ideas and doesn't concentrate on Manzanera as guitar hero. 'The Flex', for instance, is dominated by clavinet and sax.

It's largely instrumental, half of the tracks featuring lyrics, and possesses great melodies, exotic, often intricate rhythms and articulate lyrics, particularly on the witty 'Miss Shapiro'. With an impressive supporting cast of players, including a few of his Roxy colleagues, it comes quality assured. Manzanera proves to be an adequate if not stunning vocalist. Perhaps only the duet, 'Same Time Next Week', sounds awkward. This, however, is more than made up for by the rest of the album, right up to the superb closer, 'Carhumba'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, rip off pricing!, 17 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Diamond Head (MP3 Download)
It is so sad to see the price of this and 'Look Now' two brilliant albums by Phil Manzanera... These should be mid priced CD's or at least downloads as they were released in the end of the seventies. I have both and paid much less when they were released and was shocked by the pricing when looking to see if Amazon had indeed got anything by Phil.. I checked and these prices match those of iTunes... truly a rip off...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Head CD, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
Excellent album from the mid 70's. If you were a Roxy or Brian Eno fan who never bothered to buy this album then I would recommend you catch up on what you missed all those years ago. The two extra tracks included that weren't on the vinyl version are a bit weak and I can see why they were the ones left out. A great album overall though with some wonderful guitar work by Phil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5-star all the way, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
Top notch album form the Roxy guitarist

Bought this when it first came out, expecting a guitar/instrumental type album but was blown away by the quality of the songs and the imagination behind it all. There isn't a weak moment here and I can't really praise this highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing as expected cd., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Head (Audio CD)
For those who understand the qualities of the great Phil Manzanera, this is an amazing cd. Dont even think about it, read the reviews then buy. As an avid Roxy fan i just bought it. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamond Head
Diamond Head by Phil Manzanera
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews