Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2005
Mike Scott has compiled an extraordinary body of work for over 20 years largely as the main creative force and indeed voice of the Waterboys. "Bring 'em all in", is a masterful solo album mapping out in intimate and passionate detail an important phase in his musical, emotional and spiritual life. Whether he's falling in love with his soon to be wife in, I know she's in the building, or relating spiritual discovery in Building the City of Light, Scott's unique voice tells a mesmerising story. Long Way to the Light, is perhaps his most beautiful ever song taking a journey from Scotland to New York and back again - and by the way the tunes are so strong you don't even need to listen to the words to enjoy the record. Mike Scott is well regarded but still remains perhaps the most underrated British songwriter and performer of the last 20 years and this is his most underrated album - a joy.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2001
Mike Scott never did things the way others told him. The Waterboys went from their Big Music sounds to a folky collective. Unlike his second 'Mike Scott' album, Bring 'Em All In really was a solo effort. This was Scott with his guitar and his live shows at this time were pure joy - this really was Mike Scott, raw, simple and out on his own. My personal highlight of the album is She Is Do Beautiful, a gorgeous love song, while other highlights include the cheeky Wonderful Disguise and Learning To Love Him.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2000
back to basics: accompanied only by guitar the words are inspired and the music superb. The challenging lyrics not only ask questions but also answer them too.When you listen to this you'll want all your friends to hear it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2002
In a world of plastic pop bands and where most 'real' bands sing about cigarettes and alcohol this album has a rare depth. 'She is So Beautiful' has got to be one of the greatest love songs of all time, with it's haunting intro and Mike's highly distinctive voice - "She is so beautiful, light-filled, loving and wise; laughter dancing in her eyes, All my road is before me and I never did plan on a wife, yet she is the most beautiful soul I ever have met in this life". With the right marketing this could have been the number one single that Bryan Adam's 'Everything I Do' never was.
The rest of the album is equally as powerful from the clever descriptions of human vulnerability in 'Wonderful Disguise' to the very personal spiritual songs - 'Learning To Love Him', 'Long Way To The Light', 'Building The City of Light' and 'What Do You Want Me To Do'. The honest words to these songs coupled with Mike's sensitive and completely original vocal style make them arguably the greatest spiritual songs since David's 'Psalms'.
And throughout this album is an over-riding optimism that will inspire anyone with a thinking mind an appreciation for real art.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
Wow! What an album. Has Mike Scott found religion? When I first listened to this, I couldn't quite make up my mind. But it very quickly grew on me - and now I love it! My favourite track is 'Long Way To The Light' it sends shivers down my spine every time I listen to it. If you buy it - it'll grow on you, I promise.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This is an excellent set of songs about Mike's transitional period (in Findhorn Community) where he sings how his personal life changed during the breakdown and renewal of his relationships with his friends etc. The songs are well constructed and even though Mike thought this cd would bring him some success, it didn't sell well because it isn't commercial enough for the pop market.
This is a cd for lovers of Waterboy Mike Scott. Stand out tracks are the title, Wonderful Disguise, Edinburgh Castle (about his Dad?) City Full of Ghosts.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I bought this album having read Mike Scott's autobiography 'Adventures of a Waterboy' and when you listen to this in context to where he was when he wrote it the songs grow more meaning and understanding. Simply Mike and his guitar and a head full of songs this is Mike Scott stripped back to a place where The Waterboys only get a mention in the lyrics.
Despite being stripped back it lacks none of Mike's skill as a songwriter and his intellegent use of words and production wise it produces a rich depth which is so often lost when so little is available with which to build the finished article.
This is an honest album, an honest album which tells an important part of Mike Scott's career, an honest album that speaks of the depths of human spirituality and an honest album in its production and delivery.
This may well be a album that slips under the radar for Waterboys fans but it let it do so is to miss an important phase in the journey of both Mike Scott the solo artist and Mike Scott the Waterboy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
I ordered this album after ordering the CD single of "Bring Em All In," which is outstanding. I wanted a copy of "Wonderful Disguise" otherwise I would have stuck with the CD single, which also contains "City Full of Ghosts (Dublin)."

The three songs mentioned above are worth buying the album for in my opinion. However there was nothing else really of interest to me on the album. Too many of the songs are too obviously about Mike Scott's spiritual journey and personal development. I found those songs particularly obvious and cheesy. The album was reminiscent of Bob Dylan in places, without Dylan's poetry or wit.

Being used to such artists as John Martyn, Nick Drake and Jose Gonzalez, I found Scott's guitar playing to be very basic and mostly uninteresting to listen to. Scott's voice also grated on the ear somewhat on certain songs.

I was hoping to find at least one other song as good as "Bring Em All In" and "Wonderful Disguise" and was disappointed. This is however just my opinion: music is a hugely subjective and personal thing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Brilliant album from the wonderful Mr Mike Scott, see you in November in York
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Great. Solo Mike Scott album full of delicatessen songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)