Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what else would you expect?
as many other reviewers have stated, no sane musician would go near Jim Steinman or his songs. who ever said Meat Loaf was sane?
this, of course, is the sequel to the third biggest selling album of all time, and is just as good, personally I think Meat's voice has matured along with Jim's songwriting.
You all know about "Anything For Love" so I'll cover some...
Published on 23 Nov. 2002 by crazyhattingmad

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but lacking real puff !
So what can match the classic Meatloaf album Bat out of Hell ?.....the answer not much really. However, Meatloaf and Jim Steinman have twice, tried to follow it up with the sequel albums "Bat out of Hell II - Back into Hell" and "Bat out of Hell III - The Monster is Loose"(with help from others too). I suppose really both are a further celebration of Steinman's writing...
Published on 13 Nov. 2012 by Daveybabe


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what else would you expect?, 23 Nov. 2002
as many other reviewers have stated, no sane musician would go near Jim Steinman or his songs. who ever said Meat Loaf was sane?
this, of course, is the sequel to the third biggest selling album of all time, and is just as good, personally I think Meat's voice has matured along with Jim's songwriting.
You all know about "Anything For Love" so I'll cover some other gems...
"life is a lemon (and i want my money back)"
a phenomenal vocal performance, absolutely belted, its also a funny lyric on top of some real rockin' music.
"it just won't quit"
this was orignally performed by pandora's box, written, alike all the tracks on Bat, by Jim Steinman. another good lyric and vocal performance with a helluva guitar solo.
finally, my favourite track?
"objects in the rearview mirror may appear closer than they are" - you'd think this would be funny too. but if you know anything about Meat's life and childhood this is perhaps the most honest, tear-jerking song ever. beautiful, long, powerful, strangely operatic. could this be a review of anything except a Bat album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adrenhaline pressed into plastic, 29 April 2002
By A Customer
The album winds up from the void of dead-tape, rising to an enthralling climax known to all as I'd Do Anything For Love. After getting the listener going with it's massiveley extragant, Broadway-esque guitar solos and choral interludes the album continues, tempered with insight and new takes on old cliches. This album has it all, happiness and sadness, love and fear, with a plethora of solos of so many kinds to boot. The original Bat out of Hell was stunning - and it just just got a whole lot bigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 May 2001
My own personal favorite Meat Loaf album, this has it all. It hits the ground running with the opus "I would do anything.." a fanatical powerful opera peice, almost duet. Next up is "Life is a Lemon", which good as it is, I prefer the remix version on Best of.. "Rock and roll dreams" another teenage love song which is fantastic. "It just won't quit" and neither will the song, luckly."Out of the frying pan" is classic Steinman with a great cresendo build up to the chorous.
"Objects" is a real tearjerker from the first few lines, whilst "Wasted Youth" is exactly the same as "Love, death and an American Guitar" from Steinman's own Bad for good - but with "Wasted youth" added at the start :) "Everything louder" is my fav track on the album - turn that one up to loud! :-) "Good girls" from the Pandora's box album is probly the only track I would call duff. "Back into Hell" a wonderful instrumental peice and finally "Lost boys" round ups a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bat Out Of Hell 2 is exactly what it is!!!!, 17 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
What a comeback for Meat Loaf in 1993 when he released this album and the single I'd Do Anything For Love, well it's anyone rock star dream to have a comeback like that but it happened to Meat.
After 10 years of delays and wars, Meat and Jim Steinman finally got their second masterpiece together.
This album contains the longest album titles I known such as the very sad and powerful 10 minute song Objects In The Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer Than They Are.
Most of the songs of this album are taken from Jim 1981 solo effort Bad For Good and Pandora's Box.
If you've heard all of Jim previous work it may be a slight disapointment of lack of new material. Only 4 songs!!!
Jim and meat's new carnations of Jim's new songs are so much better than the original, Good Girls Go To Heaven (Bad Girls Go Everything) races miles head of it's Pandora's Box orignal.
Everything Louder than Everything Else, well the title explains the song straight away, I wish there were more meat loaf songs like this once.
Every song has a new story to tell, it's a Masterpiece like the first bat album but with much more attitude and jim has got lot more to say this time around.
This album brought Meat Loaf out from the closet and made him into a Rock Superstar, he won a new generation of fans which he deserve and it's good he's still at the top after more than 10 years after the release of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought it was safe to go back into hell!, 11 Nov. 2006
Seven years after his previous album and 15 years after the legendary 'Bat Out Of Hell', he's back! And not only that, he's back with Steinman. It's a great album, of course, and puts him back where he should be at his own special niche in rock music. 75 minutes of very long songs (almost 12 minutes for the opener; the highly successful version released as a single was a lot shorter, and perhaps, arguably, more effective?, great big overblown, bombastic, revved up, no holds barred, turn it right up, rock opera. It's as if he never was forced into releasing an album or two in the interim which weren't quite as, well, Meaty. The album cut across the generations: thirty-somethings and teenagers were listening to it. In spite of its power, this album does not quite capture the spirit and magic of the original. Also, most songs were not new; many had been recorded previously by Uncle Jim himself on 'Bad For Good' and also by his own ensemble of foxy femmes fatales known, albeit briefly, as 'Pandora's Box'. But it is an album which can be loved until hell itself freezes over. Or at least until October 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the first., 16 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew Moore "lord derfel cadarn" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Meatloaf is again on top form and I suppose that with the success of Bat out of Hell there had to be a follow up. While it follows the same premise as the first it lacks the originality that made Bat out of Hell so good. Yes there are some fantastic tracks and the rock opera works well, but I can't help feeling that it was written because the first did so well they felt they had to do another. Some of the trachs, like the first album, have been released on their own and several have been covered by other artists. 4 stars given because it doesn't quite reach the heights of its predecessor but otherwise it would have been 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but lacking real puff !, 13 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So what can match the classic Meatloaf album Bat out of Hell ?.....the answer not much really. However, Meatloaf and Jim Steinman have twice, tried to follow it up with the sequel albums "Bat out of Hell II - Back into Hell" and "Bat out of Hell III - The Monster is Loose"(with help from others too). I suppose really both are a further celebration of Steinman's writing capabilities and Meatloaf's interpretation and singing power more than anything else. As I purchased the two, second hand on amazon marketplace, in total for just 95p, I thought I'd listen to both and review them giving others an insight to the quality you get, should you wish to buy them too.

1."I'd Do Anything for Love (But I Won't Do That)" - 12:00
A continuation of the epic sounds of Bat out of Hell this song made in as a single on its release almost 20 years ago. Quality is superb could have been a song than never made the cut for the first album.

2."Life Is a Lemon and I Want My Money Back" - 8:00
A heavier sound than on some meatloaf songs great heavy guitar at the start with a good male female duet banter mid song and excellent guitar solo at the end.

3."Rock and Roll Dreams Come Through" - 5:50
Mid tempo ballad in a style which is like Elton John meets Queen 1970 style.

4."It Just Won't Quit" - 7:21
Roy Bittan starts this track with his unmistakable piano style. Another mid tempo number maybe lacking the quality to fill the 7minutes 21 seconds it does. To me,a bit of a filler. One of those songs , that halfway though you want it to end.

5."Out of the Frying Pan (And into the Fire)" - 7:24
Has the grandeur of the track "Bat out of Hell" but never quite breaks out and races away like "Bat out of Hell" does. Some good piano and guitar on it and some good scale drops too. Grand ending, with lots of piano and screaming guitars.

6."Objects in the Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer than They Are" - 10:15
Looking at the length 10:15, I'm hoping for a classic. The intro starting with a piano solo is a bit reminciant of Springsteen's Thunder Road, then we get very searching soulful singing by Meatloaf and delightful piano by Bittan. It's a bright sunny day here but this song has an epic feel of a night time song. Great song up to the halfway point then...with the use of a the occasional line from Paradise by the Dashboard light "It was long ago, it was far away" is makes its way, as if the singer is remising of past glories. Wonderful song !

7. "Wasted Youth" (Monologue by Steinman) - 2:41
A talking track like parts on the original...whimsical and not really making that much sense, more of a introduction to the next track.

8. "Everything Louder than Everything Else" - 7:59
A phrase you'd hear more at a Motorhead concert, but the song which is above average, hints at wasted youth. It ends like a usual Meatloaf sing-along track, with a piano, drum, guitar montage... bagpipes too at the end !!!!

9. "Good Girls Go to Heaven (Bad Girls Go Everywhere)" - 6:53
A jazzy feel at the start, with sax, then leads into a heavier feel. Another typical Meatloaf track, with another typical sing-along Meatloaf passage.

10."Back Into Hell" (Instrumental) - 2:46
Synthesized instrumental another filler more than anything.

11. "Lost Boys and Golden Girls" - 4:29
A ballad with shades of "You took the words/Two out of 3.

All in all not a bad album, with some really good songs. It is lacking the total epic feel of its predecessor though, while some of the songs take on the nature off so and so track Part two. To me it's more of a "we've got 4 great songs, let's make it into an album" than it is a start from scratch record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Sequel of all time?, 22 Oct. 2012
What can be said about this album that hasnt already been said before? Well plenty, this has got to be ranked as one of the best sequels/comebacks of all time, i would say as an important comeback as Elvis in 1969. After the massive sucess of the original Bat Out Of Hell and minor sucess of Dead Ringer, Meat Loaf droped off the radar, he was still big in europe but and made a futher 3 albums but nothing of any major sucess, that was until the release of Bat 2 in 1993. As with any great sequel it builds on the foundations of the original and heads straight for the skies, Bat 1 was full of emotion and teenage dreams, dramas and lost and found love with comedy laced throughout the songs. This album goes darker and deeper into the mind of Jim Steinman and once you put this album on the CD player it will grab you by the throat and not let go for 77 minutes from the beautiful "Anything for love" to the angst filled "life is a lemon" to the haunting "objects in the rearview mirror" this is a rollercoaster of emotions and passion served up with great vocals, sounding better than ever Meat Loaf.
People say that there are two types of Meat Loaf album out there, ones he's done with Jim Steinman and ones he hasnt, people ususaly say the albums without steinman are inferor, which is not true its just that the steinman written albums have that secret ingredient that can't be replicated by any other person (this can be found more so with bat 3).

This deluxe edition released to co-incide with the release of Bat 3 in 2006, is a great collection that incudes the original 11 track album on disc 1, disc 2 contains a thrown together Bat Out Of Hell live album which was recorded during 1993-94, great sound quality through out but not really essential, however its disc 3 that is the true jewl in the crown, a DVD which contains all three promo videos directed by Michael Bay which are just fantastic and also a nice interview with Jim Steinman and Meat Loaf from the time.
An essential buy for anyone that loves over the top bombastic emotion filled songs with a dark sense of humour running through out, sung with passion and heart this album is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great no need to call it Bat out of Hell II, 23 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had not heard Meatloaf's original Bat out of Hell for yonks then due to a, well you don't need to know about my silly fantasties!!!!, I ordered a copy and wow I had forgot how amazing this album was and still is! I have ordered Deadringer as I know that album too but never got it on cd so I wait for that to arrive.

I thought I would get Bat out of Hell II though like Tubular Bells II this is nothing like the original and there appears to be nothing to link it as a concept album to the original. There is a progression with Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells II which kind of gives him an excuse to call it that but really Bat out of Hell II stands up as an great album on it's own and in a way calling Bat out of Hell II is a bit tacky and designed to make it sell and fair enough musicians have to earn their living BUT the Soundtrack to the Rocky Horror Picture Show goes better as a partner for the original Bat than this. I wish Meatloaf would release one more Bat out Hell style album like the original. However..........

Bat out of Hell apart from it's title, is a fantastic album from one of the finest rock singers. I would love him to do an album of duets with Ellen Foley - songs that were written specifically for them as to my mind she has a far better voice than Bonnie Tyler who Meatloaf did an album of duets of sorts with.

I am going to take a chance and order Meatloaf's latest Hang Cool Teddy as it has rave reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure rock genius!, 21 Mar. 2008
By 
Ghost of Kai (South Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: bat out of hell 2 (Audio CD)
MeatLoaf + Jim Steinman = a must have album!

I'm a huge fan of MeatLoaf and have been for nearly 10 years and hearng this album for the first time blew me away. "Bat 2" blasts along for well over an hour with pure rock genius. Jim Steinman's song writing really works well with MeatLoaf's style of singing.

It's a worthy following to "Bat 1" so-much-so that it won a grammy!

If you're a MeatLoaf fan you would be mad not have this in your collection. If you're not...you don't know what you've been missing all this time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews