Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what else would you expect?
as many other reviewers have stated, no sane musician would go near Jim Steinman or his songs. who ever said Meat Loaf was sane?
this, of course, is the sequel to the third biggest selling album of all time, and is just as good, personally I think Meat's voice has matured along with Jim's songwriting.
You all know about "Anything For Love" so I'll cover some...
Published on 23 Nov 2002 by crazyhattingmad

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vinyls better!
I haven't listened to Meat Loaf for some years. I was somewhat disappouinted by this MP3 tracks, seem flat and lacking in depth. The live tracks were not good. Some overly long some they appear to have forgotten the words. The instrumentals were a tad self indulgent. I am going back to relisten to the vinyl to see if I was viewing this through rose tinted spectacles but...
Published 13 months ago by JohnA


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what else would you expect?, 23 Nov 2002
as many other reviewers have stated, no sane musician would go near Jim Steinman or his songs. who ever said Meat Loaf was sane?
this, of course, is the sequel to the third biggest selling album of all time, and is just as good, personally I think Meat's voice has matured along with Jim's songwriting.
You all know about "Anything For Love" so I'll cover some other gems...
"life is a lemon (and i want my money back)"
a phenomenal vocal performance, absolutely belted, its also a funny lyric on top of some real rockin' music.
"it just won't quit"
this was orignally performed by pandora's box, written, alike all the tracks on Bat, by Jim Steinman. another good lyric and vocal performance with a helluva guitar solo.
finally, my favourite track?
"objects in the rearview mirror may appear closer than they are" - you'd think this would be funny too. but if you know anything about Meat's life and childhood this is perhaps the most honest, tear-jerking song ever. beautiful, long, powerful, strangely operatic. could this be a review of anything except a Bat album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adrenhaline pressed into plastic, 29 April 2002
By A Customer
The album winds up from the void of dead-tape, rising to an enthralling climax known to all as I'd Do Anything For Love. After getting the listener going with it's massiveley extragant, Broadway-esque guitar solos and choral interludes the album continues, tempered with insight and new takes on old cliches. This album has it all, happiness and sadness, love and fear, with a plethora of solos of so many kinds to boot. The original Bat out of Hell was stunning - and it just just got a whole lot bigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 May 2001
My own personal favorite Meat Loaf album, this has it all. It hits the ground running with the opus "I would do anything.." a fanatical powerful opera peice, almost duet. Next up is "Life is a Lemon", which good as it is, I prefer the remix version on Best of.. "Rock and roll dreams" another teenage love song which is fantastic. "It just won't quit" and neither will the song, luckly."Out of the frying pan" is classic Steinman with a great cresendo build up to the chorous.
"Objects" is a real tearjerker from the first few lines, whilst "Wasted Youth" is exactly the same as "Love, death and an American Guitar" from Steinman's own Bad for good - but with "Wasted youth" added at the start :) "Everything louder" is my fav track on the album - turn that one up to loud! :-) "Good girls" from the Pandora's box album is probly the only track I would call duff. "Back into Hell" a wonderful instrumental peice and finally "Lost boys" round ups a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bat Out Of Hell 2 is exactly what it is!!!!, 17 Feb 2005
By A Customer
What a comeback for Meat Loaf in 1993 when he released this album and the single I'd Do Anything For Love, well it's anyone rock star dream to have a comeback like that but it happened to Meat.
After 10 years of delays and wars, Meat and Jim Steinman finally got their second masterpiece together.
This album contains the longest album titles I known such as the very sad and powerful 10 minute song Objects In The Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer Than They Are.
Most of the songs of this album are taken from Jim 1981 solo effort Bad For Good and Pandora's Box.
If you've heard all of Jim previous work it may be a slight disapointment of lack of new material. Only 4 songs!!!
Jim and meat's new carnations of Jim's new songs are so much better than the original, Good Girls Go To Heaven (Bad Girls Go Everything) races miles head of it's Pandora's Box orignal.
Everything Louder than Everything Else, well the title explains the song straight away, I wish there were more meat loaf songs like this once.
Every song has a new story to tell, it's a Masterpiece like the first bat album but with much more attitude and jim has got lot more to say this time around.
This album brought Meat Loaf out from the closet and made him into a Rock Superstar, he won a new generation of fans which he deserve and it's good he's still at the top after more than 10 years after the release of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the first., 16 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew Moore "lord derfel cadarn" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Meatloaf is again on top form and I suppose that with the success of Bat out of Hell there had to be a follow up. While it follows the same premise as the first it lacks the originality that made Bat out of Hell so good. Yes there are some fantastic tracks and the rock opera works well, but I can't help feeling that it was written because the first did so well they felt they had to do another. Some of the trachs, like the first album, have been released on their own and several have been covered by other artists. 4 stars given because it doesn't quite reach the heights of its predecessor but otherwise it would have been 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great condition and cheap at the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell II: Back Into Hell... (MP3 Download)
easy to download and sounds great it has 3 of my all time favourite songs along with other great ones well worth the buy :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meatloaf, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always liked Meatloaf and this was cheap and quick delivery and great sounding music I will buy more music items
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bat Out of Hell Vol 2, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Meat Loaf and have been looking everywhere to find this DVD - finally found it on your site. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back into Hell, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a recent convert to Meat Loaf and this album was the one that set me on my way. The vocal range is excellent with thought provoking lyrics and the contribution by Ms Loud enhances the material greatly. The instrumentation matches the lyric content perfectly. I am really pleased with this purchase and on the basis of this I will be adding more Meat Loaf albums to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews