Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of magical Turner back-catalogue...
The First Three Years contains a variety of things that will mean different things to you depending on how much you know about Frank: all the tracks from the two early EPs, Campfire Punkrock and The Real Damage; songs from a split Frank did with Jonah Matranga, and a collection of demos, alternative versions and covers. Depending on where you're coming from for this CD,...
Published on 18 Jan 2009 by Robbie Swale

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MEDIOCRE
Have to say I am disappointed with this,perhaps I was expecting too much.
It just sounds like some posh kid screeching.
Not Richard Hawley,that's for sure!
Published 15 months ago by Philip Guinness


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of magical Turner back-catalogue..., 18 Jan 2009
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
The First Three Years contains a variety of things that will mean different things to you depending on how much you know about Frank: all the tracks from the two early EPs, Campfire Punkrock and The Real Damage; songs from a split Frank did with Jonah Matranga, and a collection of demos, alternative versions and covers. Depending on where you're coming from for this CD, you'll want to hear different things.

If you've never heard of Frank before, then this is a great place to start. On The First Three Years are plenty of songs to set the scene of Frank - particularly the statement of intent that is Nashville Tennessee, and This Town Ain't Big Enough for the One of Me - a hilarious and frightfully accurate account of growing up in a small town. But then that is the joy of Frank - the ability to say things that at once seem utterly honest and unique to him, and yet at the same time which sum up all the things you've felt in a way far more articulate and poetic than you will ever manage. (Or at least that's what the joy of Frank is for me.)

If you've got Frank's solo albums, but only come to it recently, then you may not have had a chance to get the two EPs, and the songs from them are worth buying this for alone. The songs from them are of as high a quality as those on the albums, and the EPs don't seem to be available on CD any more.

As someone who quickly gobbles up everything that comes from Turner, I had most of these songs already from one location or another, but The First Three Years was still worth getting. Of the non EP songs, the Truck Session version of Imperfect Tense (available from Frank's web site if you bought Long Live The Queen) is probably my favourite: the rocky album track recast here heart-rending here. Other than that, and the rock version of Jet Lag - which works really well too - the covers (including The Postal Service and Black Flag) are all interesting and the beauty of them is that Frank means them. And that includes the closer, Dancing Queen, which is awesome. The demos are interesting for Frank aficionados, and if you haven't got Sleep Is for the Week, then you also get versions of two of its best tracks - The Real Damage and Worse Things Happen At Sea.

The First Three years may be a little bit of a stop-gap with everyone waiting for the next album, but there is some good stuff on here, and it's not just a collection of rarities. As an album it works well, and will stay in your stereo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Feb 2010
By 
S. Robinson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I've only recently discovered Frank Turner, based on a friend's recommendation. Rest assured that this album is as good as the other reviewers say. In fact it's probably better. Stop reading this and buy it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there's more . . ., 9 May 2011
By 
Barry Diamond "Island" (south wales valleys) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I can't add to, or agree more with what's already been said in these revues. This album is not only a great introduction to Frank Turner's music, it opens a door into a whole new world of so called 'punk-folk'. Through following Frank I've been introduced to Chuck Ragan, Tommy Gabel, Dave Hause, Ship Fools . . . it goes on. Check these guys out if you haven't already, you won't be disappointed. If, like me, you fall head over heels in love with this sound, The Revival Tour hits the UK in September. See you there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems - good cd, 17 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Mcarthur (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
Well I ordered the cd and it turned up on time. Not sure what else to say apart from Frank Turner is some kind of legend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously getting into Frank!, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I'm a relatively new Frank fan, having heard 'I still believe' on Kerrang radio just before Christmas 2010 and loved it! So I decided to check out his earlier stuff and I am now a confirmed fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 30 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I bought this album expecting to hear the rough early work (plus a few covers) of one of my favourite singer/song-writers. Instead I was shocked how accomplished the whole things sounds, from the powerful lyrics to the intensely emotive singing, underscored by some really evocative riffs on the acoustic guitar. Even the covers are unfailingly inspired interpretations and work brilliantly. If you're a fan of Frank Turner this album is a must have. This is, I think, a work of an unusual rawness and intensity. As an added bonus you get a shedload of songs for your money.

I'm waiting for Amazon to deliver the Second Three Years now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....all the best stories, 17 Dec 2008
By 
Iain Macaulay "imaca11" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
There's not much you can say about Frank Turner's music that hasn't already been said. Fantastic story lyrics, strong tunes, superb singing. This man deserves to be big and the quicker he steps out of the shadow of Million Dead and get promoted on his own immense tallent the better. The best live act i have seen this year, even better than Rage Against The Machine at T in the park, and that was spectacular. Looking forward to a new CD sooner rather than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
Fantastic cd which is a nice compilation of franks songs. A great listen for a long time fan or someone just getting interested in the greatness of frank turner. A fantastic price for the number of songs also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bargain, 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
A quick way to catch up with the beginning of Frank's career. As he becomes more of a household name with larger gigs over the next 12 months this collection of songs will serve you well if you're looking to find out what he's about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CD, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
FOR ALL FRANK TURNER FANS A GREAT EARLY INSIGHT RECOMMEND THE SECOND THREE YEARS TOO (AVAILABLE ON AMAZON) AND, OF COURSE, ALL HIS OTHER ALBUMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Three Years
The First Three Years by Frank Turner (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews