Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of magical Turner back-catalogue...
The First Three Years contains a variety of things that will mean different things to you depending on how much you know about Frank: all the tracks from the two early EPs, Campfire Punkrock and The Real Damage; songs from a split Frank did with Jonah Matranga, and a collection of demos, alternative versions and covers. Depending on where you're coming from for this CD,...
Published on 18 Jan. 2009 by Robbie Swale

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MEDIOCRE
Have to say I am disappointed with this,perhaps I was expecting too much.
It just sounds like some posh kid screeching.
Not Richard Hawley,that's for sure!
Published 22 months ago by Philip Guinness


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of magical Turner back-catalogue..., 18 Jan. 2009
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
The First Three Years contains a variety of things that will mean different things to you depending on how much you know about Frank: all the tracks from the two early EPs, Campfire Punkrock and The Real Damage; songs from a split Frank did with Jonah Matranga, and a collection of demos, alternative versions and covers. Depending on where you're coming from for this CD, you'll want to hear different things.

If you've never heard of Frank before, then this is a great place to start. On The First Three Years are plenty of songs to set the scene of Frank - particularly the statement of intent that is Nashville Tennessee, and This Town Ain't Big Enough for the One of Me - a hilarious and frightfully accurate account of growing up in a small town. But then that is the joy of Frank - the ability to say things that at once seem utterly honest and unique to him, and yet at the same time which sum up all the things you've felt in a way far more articulate and poetic than you will ever manage. (Or at least that's what the joy of Frank is for me.)

If you've got Frank's solo albums, but only come to it recently, then you may not have had a chance to get the two EPs, and the songs from them are worth buying this for alone. The songs from them are of as high a quality as those on the albums, and the EPs don't seem to be available on CD any more.

As someone who quickly gobbles up everything that comes from Turner, I had most of these songs already from one location or another, but The First Three Years was still worth getting. Of the non EP songs, the Truck Session version of Imperfect Tense (available from Frank's web site if you bought Long Live The Queen) is probably my favourite: the rocky album track recast here heart-rending here. Other than that, and the rock version of Jet Lag - which works really well too - the covers (including The Postal Service and Black Flag) are all interesting and the beauty of them is that Frank means them. And that includes the closer, Dancing Queen, which is awesome. The demos are interesting for Frank aficionados, and if you haven't got Sleep Is for the Week, then you also get versions of two of its best tracks - The Real Damage and Worse Things Happen At Sea.

The First Three years may be a little bit of a stop-gap with everyone waiting for the next album, but there is some good stuff on here, and it's not just a collection of rarities. As an album it works well, and will stay in your stereo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
S. Robinson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I've only recently discovered Frank Turner, based on a friend's recommendation. Rest assured that this album is as good as the other reviewers say. In fact it's probably better. Stop reading this and buy it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there's more . . ., 9 May 2011
By 
Barry Diamond "Island" (south wales valleys) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I can't add to, or agree more with what's already been said in these revues. This album is not only a great introduction to Frank Turner's music, it opens a door into a whole new world of so called 'punk-folk'. Through following Frank I've been introduced to Chuck Ragan, Tommy Gabel, Dave Hause, Ship Fools . . . it goes on. Check these guys out if you haven't already, you won't be disappointed. If, like me, you fall head over heels in love with this sound, The Revival Tour hits the UK in September. See you there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frankly, It's Great, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
When Frank Turner left Million Dead, he expressed a desire to keep playing songs and to keep touring, but didn’t want to be part of a band any longer. Three years later – hence the title – after a couple of EPs and a couple of studio albums, we have this collection. “The First Three Years” contains the tracks from both the EPs as well as collecting together material he recorded with other artists early in his solo career and a few other random tracks.

If you like your music slightly folky with a bit of a rock influence here and there, Frank Turner is someone worth looking out for. He combines the folk sound of Mundy or The Frames with some of the punk attitude of his former band and some of the humour of John Otway and the emotion of Jeff Buckley on some songs. The combination makes for a wonderful listening experience and if you like any of the bands mentioned above, you’ll find a lot to like in Frank Turner’s music generally and in “The First Three Years” in particular.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems - good cd, 17 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Mcarthur (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
Well I ordered the cd and it turned up on time. Not sure what else to say apart from Frank Turner is some kind of legend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously getting into Frank!, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I'm a relatively new Frank fan, having heard 'I still believe' on Kerrang radio just before Christmas 2010 and loved it! So I decided to check out his earlier stuff and I am now a confirmed fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
I bought this album expecting to hear the rough early work (plus a few covers) of one of my favourite singer/song-writers. Instead I was shocked how accomplished the whole things sounds, from the powerful lyrics to the intensely emotive singing, underscored by some really evocative riffs on the acoustic guitar. Even the covers are unfailingly inspired interpretations and work brilliantly. If you're a fan of Frank Turner this album is a must have. This is, I think, a work of an unusual rawness and intensity. As an added bonus you get a shedload of songs for your money.

I'm waiting for Amazon to deliver the Second Three Years now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....all the best stories, 17 Dec. 2008
By 
Iain Macaulay "imaca11" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
There's not much you can say about Frank Turner's music that hasn't already been said. Fantastic story lyrics, strong tunes, superb singing. This man deserves to be big and the quicker he steps out of the shadow of Million Dead and get promoted on his own immense tallent the better. The best live act i have seen this year, even better than Rage Against The Machine at T in the park, and that was spectacular. Looking forward to a new CD sooner rather than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with Frank Turner, 28 July 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
Frank Turner is one of those artists where you can buy any their albums, and can be sure that you are going to get quality. His first compilation of rarities was released in 2008 to celebrate 'The First Three Years', and it contains some real gems. The booklet has the information about where each of these 23 tracks were recorded, all of them between October 2005 and September 2008. None of the songs appeared on Frank's studio albums, but a handful were previously available on EPs, and tracks 20-22 were previously unreleased.

Frank's lyrics contain so much truth and honesty, and you can hear the sincerity in his easily identifiable voice. I particularly love the opening 'The Real Damage', a song that I can really relate to is 'This Town Ain’t Big Enough for the One of Me', and the left-wing political 'Thatcher F***ed the Kids' had me agreeing on every word. There are several interesting covers to be heard, and perhaps the most unexpected is his hilarious acknowledgement to Abba with 'Dancing Queen'. Also here are 'You Are My Sunshine' by Jimmie Davis, and 'The Outdoor Type', which is my one of my favourites by The Lemonheads, and Frank does it well.

In my opinion, this man is one of the best singer, songwriter and musicians out there, and his music, a delicious mixture of rock, folk and punk, never disappoints me, he has the great ability to pen a tune that can stay in my head for hours, and that's only after the first few listens. I could basically listen to his voice all day if I'm honest. If you already own a Frank Turner album, I unreservedly recommend that you buy 'The First Three Years'. If you haven't heard much of his work, then this will provide a great introduction, and will probably make you want to look at buying the rest of his solid back catalogue of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bargain, 23 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The First Three Years (Audio CD)
A quick way to catch up with the beginning of Frank's career. As he becomes more of a household name with larger gigs over the next 12 months this collection of songs will serve you well if you're looking to find out what he's about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Three Years
The First Three Years by Frank Turner (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews