Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 classics
Three classic albums in one - a bargain. I bought this to replace my old cassettes of 3 great Phil Collin's albums. Most fans I know will already have these but this 3 CD set is a must for anyone wishing to here some of Phil's older material not all of which is featured on his greatest hits albums.
Ignore the criticism of others if you like Phil Collins you will...
Published on 26 Jun 2004 by bluebell

versus
51 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Against all logic...
First up let me explain that I'm a big Genesis fan, and like a lot of Phil's solo work, particularly 1981's 'Face Value', 1982's 'Hello I Must Be Going' and 1994's criminally underrated 'Both Sides'.
With that in mind, I can't argue with the music that's on offer here, three of the man's most popular and best loved albums (although not neccesarily his best), and...
Published on 24 Jun 2004 by James Hendry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 classics, 26 Jun 2004
By 
bluebell (London, England) - See all my reviews
Three classic albums in one - a bargain. I bought this to replace my old cassettes of 3 great Phil Collin's albums. Most fans I know will already have these but this 3 CD set is a must for anyone wishing to here some of Phil's older material not all of which is featured on his greatest hits albums.
Ignore the criticism of others if you like Phil Collins you will Love this set......go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love phill collins!!!, 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: ...But Seriously (MP3 Download)
This album is one of his best! U know how in many albums only 2 or 3 are good and the rest are mediocre or absolutely rubbish? Not Phill Collins and especially not this album! If you are a Phill Collins fan and u don't own this album....shame on you! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Phil Collins, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Sj Smith (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took me back many years, but enjoyed it just as much as I did then. A much underrated artist in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Against all logic..., 24 Jun 2004
First up let me explain that I'm a big Genesis fan, and like a lot of Phil's solo work, particularly 1981's 'Face Value', 1982's 'Hello I Must Be Going' and 1994's criminally underrated 'Both Sides'.
With that in mind, I can't argue with the music that's on offer here, three of the man's most popular and best loved albums (although not neccesarily his best), and containing most of his big hit singles from the 80s and early 90s.
But therein lies the problem - 'most of'. It's unclear who this package is actually aimed at: people who buy regular albums will already have all three of the CDs contained within, and none of the 3 discs differ to the versions that have been available for years (they're not even remastered, although hardcore collectors might like to know that the discs themselves have a picture of the album cover on each one, for the first time.)
And those casual fans who are looking for a greatest hits package will find that many of their favourites are not included: 'Against All Odds', 'You Can't Hurry Love', 'Two Hearts', 'Easy Lover' and 'Groovy Kind of Love' being just some of the classic Phil tunes that are not covered by the selection here.
Surely it would have been far better, keeping with the theme of EMI's other 'Platinum Collections', to have selected 3 discs' worth of greatest hits and popular album tracks, spanning Phil's entire career from 1981 to the present day. 1998's 'Greatest Hits' was good up to a point but many great tracks were left off to fit the single-CD format, and Phil has enjoyed something of a renaissance recently with the Oscar winning song 'You'll Be In My Heart' from Disney's Tarzan, hit single 'Through My Eyes' from Brother Bear and his first new album in 5 years with 2002's "Testify". A career-defining retrospective would have been a fitting tribute at this point to one of the country's most important musicians (terminally uncool though it may be to admit), and would have tied in wonderfully with his farewell tour currently playing to sold-out crowds across Europe.
All in all, if you don't have these 3 albums in your collection, then this is as good a way as any to buy them, and you certainly should, since they contain some of the best pop songs of the 1980s as well as some more unusual tracks like jazz-fusion workout 'Hand in Hand' from 'Face Value', the amazing two part-epic 'Colours' from 'But Seriously', and the wonderfully uplifting ballad 'We Said Hello Goodbye' from 'No Jacket Required'.
But if you're after a 'Greatest Hits' then buy 1998's 'Hits' CD which is all a casual fan really needs.
If I were reviewing the albums separately, I'd give 4 stars for 'Face Value' and 'But Seriously' with 'No Jacket Required' getting 3. However, as a package, this belongs in the 2 star category for the sheer wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contains all the good songs and few that didn't know quite so well. Good value set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phil Collins at his best, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been meaning to buy this album for the last 30 years. So glad when it was available at Amazon. Totally satisfied with 3 CD collection even though some of the songs are on other albums I already have. The CD's arrived next day after purchase in excellent condition, would recommend this purchase to any Phil Collins fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant collection, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brillant collection by a great artist, came in the post in excellent condition very pleased :) definitely worth the money too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under £3, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This can be picked up in the marketplace for under £3. £3!
This really is a no brainer for these 3 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value and great music, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't have any Phil Collins albums already (as I hadn't) then this is the set to buy - some wonderful lyrical ballads - some of the more upbeat tempo ones are not so easy to listen to - but as this is Phil Collins, I am not complaining - what a talented man he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a used product, purchased for use in the car only. All three CDs are in excellent condition, although the cardboard sleeve keeping them together was a little worn which is immaterial. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

...But Seriously
...But Seriously by Phil Collins
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews