Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great CD for the fans, 3 Jan 2008
By 
H. YALE (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: D-Sides (Audio CD)
It's always a fun time when the Gorillaz release a new CD, mostly because you can be sure of at least 1 or 2 fantastic songs. D-Sides isn't a core release for the band, it consists only of B-sides, rare tracks (both on cd1) and remixes (cd2), BUT that doesn't mean you should ignore this album.

I'll start with CD2. It isn't great to be honest, none of the remixes are as good as the original tracks and the CD as a whole is likely to be left in the case once you've played it a couple of times.

However, CD1 is brilliant. The highlight is the very last track, Stop the Dams, which reminds me a lot of Blur in their latter days. Some tracks are painful to listen to (Murdoch is God) but on the whole, this is a great purchase if you have other Gorillaz CD's.

If you're not a fan of the band then you won't find anything here that will convert you to the cause but I think Stop the Dams has a more universal appeal which might well be worth a digital one-song purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked CD!, 9 Nov 2008
This review is from: D-Sides (Audio CD)
I had a gamble with this CD and it turned out to be amazing! The remix CD is really good and if you can get this for a few quid on amazon I would highly recommend it. There are some brilliant hidden tracks and remixes! Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy for Gorillaz fans, 31 July 2008
By 
J. M. Wright "blackbook668" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a Gorillaz fan, this is a must buy. I reccomend the Deluxe Edition as it is far better than the average cd case and comes with badges, patch and exclusive artwork! Also it is a lot cheaper than on the high-street - HMV are selling this for 50 pounds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disc 1: FANTASTIC, Disc 2: Good but not great, 24 May 2008
This review is from: D-Sides (Audio CD)
I love this album, and it has some fantastic songs that you'll listen to over and over again. As it is with all Gorillaz albums. However i might say that the Amazon reviewers kind of messed up with the name of the songs, i think that they really should have put in the Full Remix names on the 2nd disc. So Here they are.

Dare (DFA Remix)
Feel Good Inc (Stanton Warriors Remix)
Kids With Guns (Jamie T's Turns To Monsters Mix)
Dare (Soulwax Remix)
Kids With Guns (Hot Chip Remix)
El Manana (Metronomy Remix)
Dare (Junior Sanchez Remix)
Dirty Harry (Schtung Chinese New Year Remix)
Kids With Guns (Quiet Village Remix)

... THIS IS A BRILLIANT ALBUM!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Gorillaz Fans, 18 Feb 2009
By 
L. Baldwin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Sides [Special Edition] (MP3 Download)
Absolutely fantastic songs and the album still has the modern feel from Demon Days. It's a 2-CD compilation and I can count the tracks I deem to be bad on one hand, they're all classic Gorillaz songs in the making. The remixes by bands such as Hot Chip are up to par as well, in fact their remix of Kids With Guns is one of the best songs on the CD.

If you like Gorillaz, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you have missed something, 10 May 2010
By 
This review is from: D-Sides (Audio CD)
if you haven't bought or heard this album, being a fan of gorillaz, or a different kinds of music, you have missed out on an extravagant piece of art.as a gorillaz fan myself, i bought the album to find out if it was any good, and it became one of my favourite albums of all time (which i decide amongst many others). i was amazed and found myself listening to the album for hours again and again. i can only recommend purchasing this if you like to explore music... no, i will recommend this to whoever appreciates music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!! And lots of limited edition goods!, 30 July 2009
This is a really great album for Gorillaz fans and it comes with: Art Prints x2, art book, badges x4, and a sew-on badge and there is a remix disc free. and it obviously comes with the cd. its a great and different album. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Sides (Audio CD)
NOT ALL OF THE TRACKS WERE AS ENJOYABLE AS ANTICIPATED BUT VERY INTERESTING
CAME IN TIME AND CD WAS NOT DAMAGED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews