Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Avid Fans
This is the latest in EMI's series of 4-CD box sets devoted to the label's 1960's beat group's, and the set follows the same pattern as the "Gerry & The Pacemakers" box, in that it gives you the complete released recordings(+ unreleased material) in mono sound, a previously unreleased 1964 concert in remixed stereo, and a reasonable sampling of the group's stereo...
Published on 1 Mar 2009 by Philip A.Cohen

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars barny
good delivery, good product but after the well known tracks I am a bit disappointed with some of the other tracks, (not the sellers fault) but there are too many of lesser quality tracks on this CD, if you just want it for the favourite tracks such as Little Children then its great
Published 16 months ago by Barney


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Avid Fans, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Philip A.Cohen (Bay Harbor Islands, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the latest in EMI's series of 4-CD box sets devoted to the label's 1960's beat group's, and the set follows the same pattern as the "Gerry & The Pacemakers" box, in that it gives you the complete released recordings(+ unreleased material) in mono sound, a previously unreleased 1964 concert in remixed stereo, and a reasonable sampling of the group's stereo versions. The sound quality is excellent(unlike the Gerry & The Pacemakers set where the vocals on the mono mixes sounded shrill)

Stereo gained acceptance from UK consumers several years later than in North America, and so EMI/UK believes that UK consumers would prefer the mono versions. In this series of box sets, even for those artists where some or all of the multitracks exist, EMI have opted to present the already released recordings via original 1960's mixes, remixing only where it was neccessary in order to obtain previously unreleased material.

The group's live E.P. appears in the set via the original mono mix, but you also get a complete composite concert in remixed stereo, taken from the two 1964 California shows from which the E.P. was derived. Apparently, the group played the same 11 songs at both shows, so it was a matter of selecting the best performances and recordings of each song. Be cautioned that the group could be quite ragged live. Billy's live singing is erratic. He sings off-key on the hits, but sings well on album tracks. He is not helped by a recording fault which renders bassist Ray Jones inaudible on some songs. This, and the absence of George Martin's piano playing renders the group's instrumental sound thin. In fairness, the group may have had difficulty hearing themselves due to the screaming audience. Still, it's an interesting documentation of that era.

The Dakotas also had a side career releasing a few singles on their own, and you get these tracks too(some presented in both stereo & mono) and unreleased material. Despite what you would think, not all of these tracks are instrumental, and an unidentified member(probably Mike Maxfield) provides vocals on some.

As for the recordings with Billy, you get their lone album("Listen") in both its' mono & stereo versions, and all the hits, some of which were especially written by Lennon & McCartney(mostly by Lennon), including "I'll Keep You Satisfied", "Bad to Me","Do You Want to Know a Secret" & "From a Window". Amongst the rarities included are a rendition of Lennon/McCartney's "I'm in Love"(later a hit for "The Fourmost", which was previously released in 1991 on an American CD "The Definitive Collection"). Unlike most of the other box sets in this series, there's no sessionography, so it's not possible to say whether this set gives us every existing unreleased track, though the 132-track set claims 30 previously unreleased songs or mixes.(some of the previously unreleased tracks appear in both mono & stereo).

Much has been made of Billy's vocal limitations, though certainly George Martin's expert production concealed some of the shortcomings of Billy & bassist Ray Jones, and resulted in some memorable recordings. George Martin has made derogatory comments about Billy's singing abilities over the years, but in fairness, it should be noted that Billy was naturally a baritone, but either the Dakotas or George Martin were setting the keys uncomfortably high on many songs, to have Billy sing in a tenor range, where he sometimes had pitch problems. Still this resulted in hits.

Billy was able to have two hits("Trains & Boats & Planes" & "Little Children") without Lennon/McCartney songs, but like many Northern beat groups, Billy J.Kramer & the Dakotas had difficulty adapting to the times, and Billy also blames substance abuse problems for his commercial downfall. After becoming sober in the 1980's, he briefly recorded for both the EMI & RAK labels, and those singles are also included here, including the anti-nostalgia "You Can't Live on Memories", a rare co-write from Billy himself, who was previously not a songwriter. While still not a vocal powerhouse, he certainly didn't lose any vocal quality(at least not up to that point).

As for the decision to use only original mixes of the released recordings, it should be noted that EMI/Uk executives(for unknown reasons) disliked engineer Ron Furmanek's remixed stereo versions of 1960's EMI beat group recordings done for a series of 1991 EMI Records Group/North America CD's titled "The Definitive Collection", and so few of these mixes have ever been issued in the UK.

Billy was unable to achieve one satisfactory take of Lennon/McCartney's I'm in Love", but Furmanek was able to assemble a (quite acceptable) composite of two takes, whose release EMI/UK executives disapproved of. How curious that Furmanek's stereo composite version appears in this set, albeit summed down to mono with additional E.Q. & reverb.

Unlike two other sets in this series of 4-CD boxes, this set is entirely free from mastering gremlins, and sounds great. Whether you need this much Billy J.Kramer & The Dakotas depends on you. This is obviously for hardcore fans and completists. Others would likely be satisfied by one of the numerous hits compilations.

The packaging is attractive, but the booklet is the most minimal of any of the 4-CD boxes in this series. There's no sessionography, recording dates or info about where(and on what single or album each track was first release) Still, the previously unreleased studio material is consistently good.

Does this 4-CD render all previous Billy J.Kramer & The Dakotas CD's obsolete? No. You'll still need the American CD "The Definitive Collection" which has the only-ever stereo versions of "Do You Want to Know a Secret", "Bad to Me", I'm in Love" & "I'll Be on My Way".

I look forward to more EMI box sets by artists of this era. With some speculating on how much longer the label may exist, now is the time to release the remaining vault material that they've got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixties Merseybeat group, 20 July 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Billy J Kramer and the Dakotas were one of several Liverpool groups to achieve a measure of pop success in the early sixties. Like the Beatles, they were managed by Brian Epstein. The Dakotas really wanted to be an instrumental group, following the example of the Shadows in Britain and the Ventures in America. It was agreed that they would get to record their own music (included on this compilation) in return for backing Billy J Kramer. The lead guitarist of the Dakotas is the brother of Elkie Brooks, a singer who failed to make it in the sixties but eventually achieved success in the late seventies with Pearl's a singer and some other great songs. To be honest, the Dakotas' musicianship was better than Billy's singing, which was good but not great. However, it doesn't really matter - the songs and the music compensate for any limitation in the vocal department.
The first single by Billy J Kramer and the Dakotas was Do you want to know a secret, a song that the Beatles had already included on their debut album, Please please me. It made number two in the British charts. Next came two more Lennon-McCartney songs, Bad to me, which topped the UK chart, and I'll keep you satisfied, which made number four. Perhaps the best song they ever did was Little children, an American song that gave them their second and last British number one. This was recorded in preference to another Lennon-McCartney song (title unknown to me) that Brian Epstein and George Martin wanted to go with. However, they returned to the Lennon-McCartney songbook for From a window, which just made the UK top ten. After that there was only one more significant hit, a cover of the Bacharach-David classic, Trains and boats and planes, which didn't quite make the UK top ten - it peaked at twelve. It's gonna last forever and Neon city both failed to chart.
Without Billy J Kramer, the Dakotas had a minor UK hit with The cruel sea (titled The cruel surf in America). Two other singles, Magic carpet and Oyeh, missed the charts. One of the B-sides, My girl Josephine, features vocals from one of the Dakotas and is included here.
This collection includes all the hits and misses, several B-sides and album tracks and a few recordings from Billy's comeback attempts (without the Dakotas) in the seventies and eighties.
While not by any means the most essential Merseybeat group, they are worth a listen if you are into this kind of music. But go for Gerry and the pacemakers first if you haven't already got some of their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man who turned down Yesterday, 18 Nov 2006
Yes it wasn't just Decca who dropped a clanger-sometimes the artists did as well and Billy J Kramer did just that when Paul McCartney played him a dub of his new song Yesterday. In hindsight though it depends how he heard it-certainly nor the way it turned out.

However he took a risk by favoring the American song Little Children but it turned out his biggest hit!

Having established himself with a batch of Lennon/McCartney songs it was obvious he'd score well in the States where he would have been seen as High School Pop similar to Gary Lewis & the Playboys whose first hit This Diamond Ring had been modelled on Kramer's Bad to me.

The first group Kramer had appeared with were strangely known as the Coasters-not a name they could have kept for long as the real Coasters were not only a big influence on Liverpool groups but still active.He was paired up by Brian Epstein with a Manchester group called the Dakotas-still in the business with lineup changes along the way.

Kramer is a big enough name to have sustained a career when the hits ran out later in the 60s and plays revival circuits.

Never noted fo a strong voice and never a writer he made some interesting covers such as Dee Dee Warwick's We're doing fine and was taken to the States by Brian Epstein before the Beatles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice addition to the series, 18 Dec 2010
A wonderful collection of sharp recordings and some unreleased tracks - a very good addition to EMI's sets - ie The Seekers,Herman's Hermits.
A set I will play quite often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not "Bad To Me"..., 1 Oct 2007
By 
M. H. Ibbotson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Bad to Me" was the first single that I bought, so I remember it well and the rendering on this CD is as true to the orignal as any CD track can be. I was surprise just how close this CD is in sound quality to the original vinyl pressing.

You won't be disappointed with the album - it is worth buying, even if you've never been a fan of Billy J. Kramer & The Dakotas. I can't recommend it enough....

Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixties Merseybeat group, 11 Dec 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Billy J Kramer and the Dakotas were one of several Liverpool groups to achieve a measure of pop success in the early sixties. Like the Beatles, they were managed by Brian Epstein. The Dakotas really wanted to be an instrumental group, following the example of the Shadows in Britain and the Ventures in America. It was agreed that they would get to record their own music (included on this compilation) in return for backing Billy J Kramer. The lead guitarist of the Dakotas is the brother of Elkie Brooks, a singer who failed to make it in the sixties but eventually achieved success in the late seventies with Pearl's a singer and some other great songs. To be honest, the Dakotas' musicianship was better than Billy's singing, which was good but not great. However, it doesn't really matter – the songs and the music compensate for any limitation in the vocal department.
The first single by Billy J Kramer and the Dakotas was Do you want to know a secret, a song that the Beatles had already included on their debut album, Please please me. It made number two in the British charts. Next came two more Lennon-McCartney songs, Bad to me, which topped the UK chart, and I'll keep you satisfied, which made number four. Perhaps the best song they ever did was Little children, an American song that gave them their second and last British number one. This was recorded in preference to another Lennon-McCartney song (title unknown to me) that Brian Epstein and George Martin wanted to go with. However, they returned to the Lennon-McCartney songbook for From a window, which just made the UK top ten. After that there was only one more significant hit, a cover of the Bacharach-David classic, Trains and boats and planes, which didn't quite make the UK top ten – it peaked at twelve. It's gonna last forever and Neon city both failed to chart.
Without Billy J Kramer, the Dakotas had a minor UK hit with The cruel sea (titled The cruel surf in America). Two other singles, Magic carpet and Oyeh, missed the charts. One of the B-sides, My girl Josephine, features vocals from one of the Dakotas and is included here.
This collection includes all the hits and misses, several B-sides and album tracks and a few recordings from Billy's comeback attempts (without the Dakotas) in the seventies and eighties.
While not by any means the most essential Merseybeat group, they are worth a listen if you are into this kind of music. But go for Gerry and the pacemakers first if you haven't already got some of their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, 6 Nov 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't expecting too much from this CD. BJK had a pleasing voice, if limited, as his attempt to reach the higher notes at the end of 'Bad To Me' suggest. He also had the good fortune to enjoy substantial support from The Beatles' camp. Ultimately though, the true stars of this album are The Dakotas, who reveal themselves to be one of the best bands of the so-called 'beat' era.

This isn't especially evident on the big, early hits which are better known for being Lennon/McCartney songs. On the first non-Beatle track, however, 'Sneakin' Around', you discover how slick and vibrant The Dakotas were. This is confirmed by the sprinkling of instrumental numbers as well. I was already familiar with the superb 'Cruel Sea', but 'Magic Carpet', 'Oyeh' and 'Humdinger' are also impressive, as well as offering something different. Other band highlights are 'That's The Way I Feel', 'The Millionaire' and the brilliant 'Forgive Me', on which they almost get heavy.

As for Kramer, he does a decent job with a remarkably strong collection of songs, some of which are band compositions. I have a particular fondness for the no. 1 hit, 'Little Children', a single much-played on our record player when I was small. The CD finishes with three songs from the late 1970s which suggest Tony Christie and Gene Pitney territory rather than rock and roll, but which are good, polished performances. This is a CD of considerable quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oldy but goody, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this album takes me back to my youth I love it the songs I can sing a long to .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NICE ALBUM, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some remote tracks,but what you would expect for the money.I found all the tracks i wanted though.great delivery,great service,Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch in collections, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever sinse I was abt 16 I have been
Interested in the music of the 60's
Especially the Beatles & all the other groups & singers that made the Mersey sound & the British Invasion so this
Particular collection is the ultimate &
Let's hope there are more like it to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews