Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars118
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2009
There are a lot of Bowie compilations on the market but this is probably the most comprehensive.There are three discs in the collection - 1969-74, 1974-79 and1980-87 and a total of 57 tracks. So there are plenty of examples of his extraordinary talent as a performer and songwriter.

Highlights of the first disc include "Space Oddity", "Changes" and "Life on Mars" but there are also some lesser-known tracks like "Velvet Goldmine" and "Drive in Saturday".

The third disc includes the hits from the "Lets Dance" album as well as "Ashes to Ashes" "Under Pressure" and "Fashion". There are some welcome songs from the post "Lets Dance" period such as "Time will crawl", "This is not America" and "Day in Day out".

The second disc probably deserves a review of its own. It starts with familiar hits like "Sound and Vision", "Golden Years", "Fame". There are then some very interesting if less familiar songs. Cover versions such as "Wild is the Wind", "Knock on Wood". and second version of "John I'm only Dancing". There are also some songs co-written with Brian Eno such as "Heroes", "DJ" and "The Secret Life of Arabia".
On this disc alone we see how Bowie has used so many influences to produce a startling variety of top quality music

So if you have decided to get a compilation to see whether all the fuss about Bowie is justified (it is), I'd highly recommend this one.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2006
After hearing about David Bowie for ages and not knowing any of his songs other than a select few, I wisely picked this up from one of my local shops for the bargain price of £5, as i didn't really want to explore the unknown for any higher price i was delighted to of found this so cheaply, however, the best bit was when I listened to the discs and oh-my-god this is unbelievable, the first two discs are simply flawless and the third disc only fires a couple of duds, all in all this is the best fiver I have ever spent (bar a particular mixed kebab), i really cant stress enough that if you have any interest in Bowie or are just widening your musical horizon, how much of a worthy purchase this is, since I have bought this I have so far bought four of his albums and am looking to get the whole collection, after this I would strongly advise you to get 'Hunky Dory' or 'Aladdin Sane' not because they are the best of his stuff, but they are easily accesible and massively enjoyable!Happy Bowie hunting people!
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2006
Bowie: The Platinum Collection is (rather obviously) a collection of David Bowie's greatest songs spanning almost 20 years of his fantastic and inspiring career: 1969-1987 (his better years) across 3 CDs, which is an overall impressive CV.
Disc one contains the majority of his better known hits such as the sublime "Space Oddity", "Rebel Rebel" and "Changes" as well as album tracks from 1969-74 (which, in terms of just 6 years, 20 excellent tracks is extremely impressive).
Disc two contains his greatest songs from 1974-79, which includes the cocaine-influenced "Station To Station" and the "Berlin trilogy" (Low, "Heroes" and Lodger). This disc has a particularly unique and more conceptual feel to it compared to the other 2, but it is perhaps the weakest of the three in my opinion, but still essential to the David Bowie collection-plus it contains the sheer breath-taking "Heroes" (It also includes the excellent "1984", an album track from the brilliant "Diamond Dogs" album).
Disc three is probably my personal favourite disc, it spans 1980-87, ultimately Bowie's weakest years for albums (aside from 1980's "Scary Monsters") but perhaps his strongest era for hit singles, such as "Let's Dance", "Modern Love" and "Ashes to Ashes". This CD also manages to put the minority of great album tracks and singles from perhaps the worst albums "Never Let Me Down" and "Tonight". The final track being "Labyrinth (OST)"'s "Underground" is a great finishing touch to a superb- and essential- collection of the greatest male solo artist's finest work.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2005
Most Bowie fans will already own the two best of's:- 1969/1974 and 1974/1979, so to shell out just to get the hold of the third disc - 1980/1987 does seem a bit of a rip off and a waste of money (xmas time again). Luckily, I believe that in a few months time the separate disc of 1980/1987 will be available, so all is well.
That said if you don't happen to own any of the separate cd's then this is almost god-dam perfect. The period 1969 - 1979 is very comprehensive and covers more than just the hits and a few album tracks, it covers unique gems such as:- 'Velvet Goldmine', 'All The Young Dudes', 'John I'm Only Dancing (Again)' and 'It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City' etc.
The Eighties started off so well for Bowie with albums:- 'Scary Monsters' and even 'Let's Dance', but after that Bowie got too commercial and very cheesy. Luckily this third disc has been so carefully put together that you wouldn't ever believe that he stuffed up. On this you not only have the three hits off 'Scary Monsters', but also 'Up The Hill Backwards', plus rarities like:- 'The Alabama Song', 'Drowned Girl', 'Cat People (single version)', 'Underground', 'When The Wind Blows', and the best cuts off the 'Alway's Lets Me Down' album (you wouldn't want to play all of it!). Luckily, they've ommited 'Dancing In The Street', which is, let's face it, cheesy, embarrassing pants.
Finally, I dare say that in a few years time, there will be a best of:- '1989/1997' and '1999/200?', - so bring it on!
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'David Bowie' was born 'David Robert Jones' in Brixton, London on January 8th 1947.
An accomplished singer/songwriter .who down the years even featured as an an actor in several movies
Down the years he changed both style and image on several occasions never settling as many do into that
one mould.
He was in my view very influential during the emergence of the glam-rock scene back in the 70's.(Ziggy
Stardust)
His first appearance in the U.K Chart came in 1969 with 'Space Oddity' (one of my all-time favourites) but had to
wait until 1972 before his Chart-Career really took off.
Ironically he only actually achieved five number '1's' in the singles-chart two of which were collaborations, one in
1981 with Queen - 'Under Pressure' and one with 'Mick Jagger' - 'Dancing in the Street' 1985 (not included on-board)
The Solo Chart-Toppers being - (re-released) 'Space Oddity' (1975) - 'Ashes to Ashes' (1980) and 'Let's Dance' (1983)
the album including the latter number 'Let's Dance' perhaps his most successful, though his album's done well overall
down the years.
Until recently, had i been asked how many records 'David Bowie' had sold down the years i'd have probably guessed
somewhat higher than the 140 million (though of course that figure following his passing 10/1/16 will increase some)
This 3-CD Collection is a brilliant reflection upon the music he gave us down the years and is well worth owning.
A very private man who's legacy for the public is indeed his music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2007
Looking through my vinyl collection recently i came across my old Bowie albums,bought some 20 odd years ago.

After dusting them down i played them again on the old record player and appreciated them a lot more than i did when i was a teenager.

What i found was a real mixture of songs ranging from the sublime to the ridiculous with the album 'Heroes' being the prime example.

I know,i thought,i will treat myself to a cd collection of all David Bowie's best songs and after much deliberation choosing between the numerous collections available,this 'Platinum' collection was the obvious choice,especialy at Amazon's bargain price.

All Bowie's best work is covered here on a 3 disc set ranging from his early work of 1969 to 1974 on disc1,74 to 79 on disc 2 and disc 3 covers 1980 to 87.

Too many great tracks to pick out personal favourites and this collection easily gets a 5 stars rating.....only because it wouldn't allow me to give 10!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2007
In short, this is the ultimate Bowie compilation. Spanning 20 odd years of his career, it's bursting at the seams with classics such as Starman, Alladin Sane, Heroes, and his later hits such as Ashes To Ashes. Failing to miss out any memorable tracks, and containing such rarities as Bowie's own versions of It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City, and All The Young Dudes, this is also highly collectable. All presented in a fabulous collectable case, and for £9.99, any truue Bowie fan would simply be mad to miss a collection like this

Top Tracks (My personal top 5)

Heroes

Changes

Starman

Sound And Vision

Alladin Sane

(an excruciating choice, there's so many classics here)

In a nutshell:

Quality: 10/10

Value: 10/10

OVERALL: 10/10

A timelless dedication to one of rock music's greatest artists
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2006
This CD collection contains David Bowie's most beloved songs and also some vergotten masterpieces. It's a good feeling to have this now alltogether.

David Bowie changed his style during his music career, but he always creates gorgeous stuff. He is the starman, the thin white duke and the melancholy Hero. And of course, an unique genius.

This CD collection is a great thing for fans, thos who wanna become one and peoples interested in music.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
I only got this because I figured I really should have some Dvid Bowie in my collection and I haven't been disappointed. To be honest I'd forgotten most of the tracks and was constantly amazed at how I remembered them all. Fantastic value at £3.99.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I have never been a big fan but have liked some of his singles. I saw this album on ofer and decided what the hell it's pretty cheap. My life has been full of bad decisions and buying this album was definitely not one of them! I cannot believe that I only thought of him as a "so so" artiste. On my MP3 player nearly all the tracks have so much depth and are so enjoyable. Why did I waste so much time not appreciating his music before? This will remain a mystery to me,but hey I can always listen to these tacks now.
If in doubt buy............ I said buy, you will not regret it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)