Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the greatest tracks from the 1970s, 6 Nov 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
This is a thorough compilation of Steve Harley and Cockney Rebel's 1970s output. They were an art rock band with a distinctive, accessible sound, somewhat influenced by contemporaries like Roxy Music and David Bowie. The album includes all their hits and popular album tracks from the 1970s like Make Me Smile, Judy Teen, Here Comes The Sun, Love's A Prima Donna, Freedom's Prisoner, Mr Raffles, Roll The Dice, Psychomodo, Mr Soft, White White Dove and Sebastian. Judy Teen and Make Me Smile are brilliant pop-rock tunes, Sebastian is an impressive piece of proto-Goth and Tumbling Down is a delightful operatic excursion. The other compilation, Best Of 70s, contains more of Harley's solo work plus a lot of these classics. The songs on The Cream Of have stood the test of time very well, because they are tuneful and melodic and the lyrics are special and memorable. Cockney Rebel's unique sound added much to the UK charts in the 1970s. The songs will live on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Steve - wher are you now?, 30 July 2006
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
Perfect sound of the 70's! Mr Harley's off key, non mainstream sound was great then and certainly remains so now! If you want to move away from the current 'everythingsoundsthesame' kind of stuff - then go out and buy this! It's glorious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aN IMPORTANT AND ECLECTIC COLLECTION BY A MAJOR PLAYER, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
Steve Harley was never given due credit for his brilliance as a songwriter, particularly of imaginative, often dark, dense lyrics, sometimes full of tongue-in-cheek humour. An eclectic writer. A fine singer of some beautiful songs. Essential to any Rebel fan of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic that MUST! not be forgotten, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
this album is the most defining album ever made in the post 50's easy listening era, classics such as mr raffles never really got their full recognition or air time, if you want my advice for what its woth, go buy it now, it may be the best decision you ever make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cream of the Crop, 13 Oct 2004
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
The latest in many Harley/Rebel greatest hits collections. This one was purchased to replace my old, cherished, worn-out vinyl copy.
Having been such a big fan, this collection did not really do it for me. The songs are the same but the remastered, too perfect CD renditions of many of the songs doesn't sound right. Harley grew up on vinyl and many of these songs belong on vinyl. Undeniable classics such as Make Me Smile, Tumbling Down, Judy Teen and the Best Years of Our Lives sound too pure. More roughness required.
Still gets 4 stars though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANT COLLECTION OF CLASSIC TRACKS BUT, 28 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
THIS ALBUM IS ESSENTIAL LISTENING FOR THE OLD COCKNEY REBEL FAN. MOST OF THE BANDS CLASSIC TRACKS ON ON THIS CD INCLUDING 'MAKE ME SMILE' 'MR SOFT' AND 'SEBASTIAN'. THE CONTENT IS GREAT BUT SOME OF THE TRACKS HAVE OBVIOUSLY BEEN DIGITALY RE-MASTERED AND THEY SOUND TOO CLEAN AND CLINICAL ESPECIALLY WITH HEADPHONES ON. STILL A GREAT ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits maybe but not "the cream", 21 April 2007
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
I am afraid I have to complain about this compilation. This CD is nothing but another Greatest Hits album, which becomes quite obvious if you look at the order of songs and is fine with me .... BUT - in spite of the title this is not the "cream" of (Steve Harley and ) Cockney Rebel, there are better songs from this period. Where are Death Trip, Hideaway, Ritz, Cavaliers, All men are hungry ...

I would suggest to either by the Face to Face Live Album, which has most of the songs of this collection (definitely the cream) and BTW is one of the greatest live Albums of all time - OR buy all the albums from this period (obviously including the live set) and find out about a great Album band! BTW: don'T be surprized if you do not find "Judy Teen" as a regular album track, it was a single only (and for a good reason) not included on the Psychomodo Album as you can find out if you listen to the remastered verions with Judy Teen as a bonus track - a nice song but not the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
Quick and excellenf - top job!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HIT SINGLES, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cream Of (Audio CD)
I'M COLLECTING HIT SINGLES FROM 1952 - 1993
THIS CONTAINED A FEW I WAS MISSING
VERY HAPPY WITH THE CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you Back, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cream Of (MP3 Download)
A great collection for anybody wanting to start from scratch with Steve Harley and Co. Take it as a starter pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cream Of
The Cream Of by Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews