Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know it's not great, but it's the one I'm most fond of
This album isn't much liked by Maiden fans. I suppose the only reason I like it so much is because it's the first album of theirs I heard.

A lot of people consider Hooks In You, Run Silent Run Deep, The Assassin etc to be filler. I don't. I genuinely consider them to be as important as the singles; Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter, Holy Smoke and...
Published on 14 Sep 2006 by BS on parade

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Prayer
The biggest reason why this is such a disappointing album is evident when listening to any of Maiden's previous 7. They are all so very, very good. The writing comes across as being poured over, revised and corrected and bettered again and again. No Prayer... just sounds like the band thought that the songs will do. It feels rushed and it feels lazy. And, unfortunately,...
Published on 22 July 2010 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know it's not great, but it's the one I'm most fond of, 14 Sep 2006
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This album isn't much liked by Maiden fans. I suppose the only reason I like it so much is because it's the first album of theirs I heard.

A lot of people consider Hooks In You, Run Silent Run Deep, The Assassin etc to be filler. I don't. I genuinely consider them to be as important as the singles; Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter, Holy Smoke and Tailgunner. These songs have been forgotten. Obscure album tracks on an obscure album.

In my opinion the only bad track is Mother Russia. They always end their albums with a long epic track. This one is short and too vague to make any impact. If anything, it feels like the first half of a song. It just sort of fades out before the second half plays. Although having said that, the church like moaning on it sounds good.

It's been said that it sounds underproduced. Maybe I don't have an ear for that sort of thing, but I don't think it sounds rough and ready. And even if it does, is that such a bad thing? It can be seen as going back to their punk roots.

If nothing else it has more inspired songwriting on it than the limp Fear of the Dark and the tepid Somewhere In Time albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Bitesized Maiden gems, 13 Nov 2001
By 
"paulias" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
What makes this Maiden album special is that all the songs are so short but packed full of great ideas. The title track and 'Mother Russia' sound like epics but they're both only about 5 minutes long. There are great hooky tracks like 'Holy Smoke', 'Bring Your Daughter...' and 'Hooks in You'(which has some intentionally hilarious lyrics) alongside growers like 'The Assassin' and 'Run Silent Run Deep'. It's a fun rock album played with great energy and enthusiasm. It's a very different but most welcome addition to the Maiden discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album it rocks., 14 July 2008
By 
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This is suprisingly underrated. In my opinion this album is awesome and goes along with all the other classic Iron Maiden albums. There are some really awesome maiden songs here Holy Smokes & Public Enema Number One are my favourites out of this album. I think only not too keane on Mother Russia it starts off cool and ends cool but a little repetitive (sorry to say). Iron Maiden after the departure of the guitarist Adrian Smith went onto more Rock N' Roll style which for isnt a bad thing it works for me so i think this album is awesome. Maybe not the best place to start with Iron Maiden but a very good buy for Maiden fans should i really be mentioning that?. New Iron Maiden fans start with The Number Of The Beast. UP THE IRONS!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Prayer, 22 July 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
The biggest reason why this is such a disappointing album is evident when listening to any of Maiden's previous 7. They are all so very, very good. The writing comes across as being poured over, revised and corrected and bettered again and again. No Prayer... just sounds like the band thought that the songs will do. It feels rushed and it feels lazy. And, unfortunately, it feels of its time - the herald of grunge and britpop and the coming of the heavy metal wasteland of the 90s.

The album itself is not terrible. There are a handful of good tracks but no classics at all. 'Tailgunner' is probably the most Maiden sounding track on the album and is one of the better ones. But there is a new edge to the sound, somehow. As 'Seventh Son...' seemed very prog-influenced, 'No Prayer...' seems to be finding its voice as a striaghtforward rock album. The guitars are crisper and a bit dirtier sounding and there is no overall epic quality, like in 'Piece of Mind', 'Powerslave' or the 'fuzziness' of 'Somewhere in Time'.

'Holy Smoke' is ok but not really single material. The title track is very good but a million miles away from their best. 'Public Enema', 'Fates Warning', 'The Assassin' and 'Run Silent...' range from ok to mediocre which has never happened to a run of 4 tracks on a Maiden album - EVER! 'Hooks in You' is actually my favourite song on the album, which is strange as it is more reminiscent of their B-sides from 'Somewhere in Time', 'That Girl' and 'Juanita' and very un-Maidenesque. Still, a good song is a good song.

'Bring your Daughter...' is a bit of fun but it isn't really THAT good, which is probably why it got so high up in the charts. Ironic that Maiden had their biggest commercial result from their least creative album. And 'Mother Russia' is awful.

On the whole, by any other hard rock band this would be a worthy acheivement. From a band of Maiden's grandeur and back catalogue, this is unforgivable. But the saddest thing about it is that it is the first album to break the status quo of the perfect 7 run of albums.

Despite this, Maiden are still one the best things ever about music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different from Iron Maiden..., 21 May 2012
By 
Richard Owen "judas_the_guide" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
If there's one single thing this album lacks, it's accessibility; it isn't easy to appreciate many of the tracks on first listen. On re-visiting the album, you'll find a joy in the snarling guitar riffs that drive songs like Hooks in You, Pulic Enema Number One, and Holy Smoke. Bruce's growling tone punctuates the driving rhythms with a typically strong enthusiasm, and Murray & Gers are regularly let-off-the-leash to perform their now trademark lively solos.

The hidden gems of this album are Run Silent Run Deep, Fate's Warning, and No Prayer for the Dying. The first has a dark, brooding feel with a lovely mix of acoustic harmony and electric melodies, the second is driven my classic Maiden dove-tailing guitars, and the third is a slow, pensive piece that invites the listener to reflect on life and it's meaning.

You'll find something in every song on this album that you'll want to rewind back to time and time again. It may not be the most elegant-sounding record in the world, but it's certainly worth giving a good chance, in my opinion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Maiden's most criminally underrated album, 25 Nov 2005
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
As a longtime Maiden enthusiast I have always been mystified by many fans' negativity towards this album, since it has been my favourite Bruce Dickinson-era release from the moment I first heard it.
No Prayer For The Dying dispenses with the keyboards and glossy production that IMO marred their previous two albums ('7th Son of A 7th Son' and 'Somewhere In Time') and gives the sound a more natural earthy feel, with plenty of gritty guitars and crystal clear drums.
And the songs are just great! With the possible exception of the slightly naff 'Assassin', there isn't a duff track on it. Personal faves include 'Public Enema No1', the title track and the awesome 'Run Silent Run Deep' (surely one of Maiden's finest songs to date?)
I would recommend this to anyone who has even the most casual interest in Maiden...seriously, give it a go...it's wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below par, but not that bad, 29 Sep 2006
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
Certainly not one of their best, and i used to hate this album. But as time has gone on and i've listened to it more, i've grown to appreciate this album, and realise it's quite good. Just dissapointing by Maidens astronomically high standards.

Tailgunner is a great opener, followed by Holy Smoke which i love as it rightly slaughters the frauds that are TV preachers. The title track is OK , maybe ruined for me by Bruce's vocal performance on it. Hooks In You and Mother Russia are both very good too.

Believe it or not though, my favorite song on the album is The Assasin. I know alot of people think this is one of Maidens worst, and i would think so too if it was meant to be taken seriously, but it isn't!. Think about it, do you really think the guy who bought us gems such as Hallowed Be Thy Name, Aces High, Infinite Dreams and Alexander The Great meant it when he wrote this song? no, he meant it to be funny/lighthearted. So take it that way, and you'll appreciate it more.

The other songs pretty much do nothing for me. I know Bring Your Daughter.. was meant to be a novelty song too. I suppose it's its popularity that puts me off, and i can't help but feel its trying to be a little more serious than The Assasin.

If you're new to Iron Maiden, by no means buy this album first. Start with Powerslave, Seventh Son, Number Of The Beast or Dance Of Death. Get this once you've established yourself as a fan ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated and overlooked..., 25 April 2012
By 
Mr Nostalgia (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This was the last great Iron Maiden album before they lost track somewhat with 'Fear Of The Dark' and Bruce left the band. This is a gritty, stripped-down return to the un-polished sound that they had before 'Somewhere Back In Time' and sounds great played loud. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring Your Daughter...To The Slaughter, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This is an Album like Marmite you either love it or hate it, I "like" it Maiden's sound has changed slightly and that's not a bad thing, if you listen to it with an open mind and don't compare it to it's predecessors its a good album, the Lyrics are a bit different but they work in my opinion, best tracks on here are "Tail Gunner", "Holy Smoke", the title track "Assassin" and of course "Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter"

So Listen to "No Prayer For The Dying" with an open mind and not to compare with "Powerslave", "Number of The Beast" etc. And just enjoy it for what it is a good Metal Album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's 10 Commandments, 18 July 2004
By 
Mr. Hugh Harkin "hugh_harkin" (Worldwide) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer For The Dying (Audio CD)
This 1990 release was a back-to-basics affair for Maiden, now well established as Heavy Metal royalty after 10 years of success. After the departure of guitarist Adrian Smith, the band were minus a key songwriter and it was uncertain if fans would welcome new guitarist Janick Gers with the enthusiasm they had for Smith, who had left to pursue a solo career. Another key thing about this album is that it was the follow-up to 'Seventh Son of a Seventh Son' - which was both a great album and the first and only concept album from the band. To top that album was going to take something special if not amazing and 'No Prayer for the Dying' does not quite manage to accomplish that difficult task. Despite this the album is very good and is fondly remembered as it spawned a number 1 U.K. single! In the lull following the Christmas singles chart the band very cunningly put out the albums 2nd single 'Bring Your Daughter...to the Slaughter' and it went straight to number 1. This was during an era when it was very rare for a single to go straight in at number 1 and most people were shocked by this Heavy Metal invasion. Following Maiden's cunning stunt it has become record company policy to release a songs straight after Christmas to get them high debut positions in the charts.
Other highlights from this album are top 5 U.K. hit 'Holy Smoke' which attacks TV preachers and their pay to pray philosophy and 'Public Enema Number One' which was co-written by Dave Murray, helping to break the Steve Harris and Bruce Dickinson song-writing monopoly. 'Hooks in You' is a tounge in cheek look at the world of bondage and contains a reference to a pervious Maiden song from 1982, '22 Acacia Avenue' but when I first heard it as a 17 year-old I just assumed it was a song about hooks! In 'Tail Gunner' and 'Run Silent Run Deep' we are in true Maiden territory - bomber planes and torpedoes. The big song at the end is 'Mother Russia' which explores the fate of the country during the first months as a democratic nation, urging its people to embrace freedom and remember what a fine nation it was before Communism.
This album marked the 10th anniversary of the bands first release. And like all the previous albums and singles before it, there was minimal support or interest from the small, uneven playing field which is British radio. 9 months after Maiden topped the charts with no radio support a band named Nirvana would herald the advent of grunge and Heavy Metal would take a battering from people who grew up listening to it as teenagers! It would be 10 years before a Heavy Metal band hit number 1 again (Limp Bizkit) but Maiden survived this nuclear winter and are still entertaining the troops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Prayer For The Dying
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews