Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing Point - A Cult Classic
I originally saw this road movie at the Odeon Cinema, Elephant & Castle, in the 1970's. It carried a 15 Certificate, and I recall that I was underage at the time, and worried that I might get sussed out by the ticket seller. The Odeon isn't there any more, but I'm glad that I was able to track down a copy of the movie!!

Its story, if there ever was one,...
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by Tim Bentley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit odd
Recommended, but it didn't grab us as we were told it might. The car was not really showcased like some other car movies - see Gone In 60 Seconds for a real classic car drool.
Published 10 months ago by H


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing Point - A Cult Classic, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
I originally saw this road movie at the Odeon Cinema, Elephant & Castle, in the 1970's. It carried a 15 Certificate, and I recall that I was underage at the time, and worried that I might get sussed out by the ticket seller. The Odeon isn't there any more, but I'm glad that I was able to track down a copy of the movie!!

Its story, if there ever was one, involved Barry Newman having to deliver a Dodge Challenger from Denver to San Fransico. That doesn't really matter. It was an adrenaline rush, involving Newman driving an American muscle car as fast as possible. From out of nowehere, some bloke decides he wants to test his E-Type Jag against Newman's Dodge - as you do - and it all ends in tears for the Jag driver.

Pursued by cops, the only thing they have on Newman is speeding and careless driving!! It's a great film to put the brain in neutral, sit back with a few munchies and a few beers, and drool over the deep rumbling sound of the Challenger's V8 power unit! It was the end of the flower power era. There is a great soundtrack of blues, folk and rock 'n' roll. Oh, and Gilda Texier riding a Harley in the desert.

I wonderful, whimsical movie, but at the end, the good guy can't win. It was the early '70's. A Cult Classic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate road movie par excellence., 2 Jan 2001
By 
MarmiteMan (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vanishing Point [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The Chase. The Desert. The Shack. The Girl. The Roadblock. The End.
Vanishing Point is clearly the four-wheeled version of Easy Rider. It is rootless, a wide-pan journey through the empty wastes of the sparsely-populated and unknown western United States, conjuring-up a sense of no belonging anywhere, no home, no place in Life (the I-am-hopelessly-lost tyre-tracks criss-crossing in the desert) - in fact, the definition of a road movie.
Filmed in brilliant technicolour and accompanied by a terrific, atmospheric soundtrack of the free-lovin' and hirsute age: Jesus freaks and hippy chicks join for a melodic and harmonious celebration of both the concept of Freedom and the spirit of Freedom. Car-delivery driver Kowalski (Barry Newman) bets he can drive the magnificent supercharged white Dodge Challenger from Denver to San Francisco in a mere 15 hours. Instead of sleep, food and drink Kowalski swallows Bennies. These keep him going, but do these cloud his mind and judgement ...?
For Kowalski has A Past. As he evades or breaks through every police pursuit, speed trap, dragnet and roadblock, police bulletins inform the viewer that he served in the US Army with distinction in Vietnam (before the USA's main commitment 1965-71), being awarded the Congressional Medal of Honour. Then as a police officer in San Diego, where he rescued a young female suspect from assault and rape (by a brother officer) ... which cost him his badge and Dishonourable Discharge. Then as a racing driver, and a pretty darn good one, too, until his licence was revoked. And he lost his girlfriend to a surfing accident. Clearly sensitive, Kowalski is - perhaps unsurprisingly - also a deeply-troubled soul.
Whose cause is taken up by blind Black radio DJ 'Super Soul' (Cleavon Little) of KOW FM. 'Super' feels an affinity with the Last American Hero, the last free spirit, and raises Kowalski to cult hero status. Much to the chagrin and spite of one Nevada cop in particular (has Paul Koslo ever played a nice guy?), who assembles a few rednecks and brutally beats up jive-talkin' and free-spirited 'Super Soul' while the assembled townsfolk look on.
The sparsely-populated wastes of the western United States - the last free space in the country - is home to strange Americans. Dean Jagger is a rattlesnake trapper, who trades the serpents for coffee, flour and loadsa beans, son, from questionably-Christian J. Hovah and his travelling faith-healing singers. And drop-outs - well, this is 1970, the tail-end of the Flower-power 'Sixties: when the Revolution failed to happen, the groovy guys & chicks headed West to found their own commune societies (like in Born On the Fourth Of July), like the Pioneers a century before them. Unforgettably erotic on the motorcycle, young Gilda Textor (the girl Kowalski rescued years back) shows him cut-outs and pastings of his career-destroying good deed. Touchingly, she wishes to reward his integrity. Touchingly, he declines. 'Nobody Knows' sings Kim Carnes over the closing credits.
California. Sunday 5:04 p.m. The cops did not stop the Free Spirit ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing Point - The Ultimate Road Movie, 16 Sep 2002
By 
A Lewis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
This is it! Available at last on DVD, and for the first time in Widescreen! The counterculture movie that takes on 'Easy Rider' head to head, and creates a movie that is just as fresh and exciting now as it was thirty years ago.
Barry Newman plays Kowalski, the 'Last American Hero' thundering through the deserts of the American west, pedal firmly to the metal.
Kowalski has made a bet that he can deliver a customers supercharged Dodge Challenger from Denver to San Francisco in just fifteen hours... an impossible task that is made even more unlikely by the legions of Highway Patrol officers who are determined to halt him.
A fantastic film, easily one of the finest road movies of all-time, and definitely among my top five favorite films. You won't be dissapointed with this purchase!
A funked out soundtrack and the most spectacular car chase this side of the original 'Gone in 60 Seconds'.
Thank you 20th Century Fox!
Now all we need is a release for 'Dirty Mary, Crazy Larry' :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The American road movie which sets the standard, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
This story combining as it does a driver with a troubled past ,a blind DJ, chasing cops an assortment of characters
encountered and a violent ending is just about as good as it gets. Cinemaphotgraphy is outstanding and this combines
with a soundtrack absolutely appropriate to the action bearing in mind this predates all the electronic effects and digital
manipulation that is now commonplace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iconic 70's-generation defining movie, 20 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
It might `only' be a chase movie in terms of plot - but this movie reeks so much of the period in which it was made it is more like an historical record of a nations mood.
Barry Newman is an ex policeman and ex stock car racer, who now is reduced to delivering cars for a living. In pushing himself to get the job done, he is forced to take speed, and has no time to sleep - he is a man falling between the cracks of society. He accepts a bet that his latest delivery - a Dodge Challenger - can be delivered from Denver to California by a certain time. While racing to meet his deadline the police take notice and a chase begins, commented on by a blind radio station dj, who helpfully provides an iconic 70's soundtrack to the proceedings.
Along the way he meets dropouts, hippies, drug dealers, Jesus-freaks and hold-outs against civilization. In short, a synopsis of all those from the 60's generation who are disillusioned at the way the 70's are starting.
If it's aged in terms of the music and in places the style, It has not dated nearly as much as it's contemporary `Easy Rider', and the cinematography of the empty, grand spaces of Western United States makes the movie worth watching in itself. The soundtrack is surprising in places, but the sound design itself is a star, with the growl from the Dodge Challenger part of the rush.
It's arguably the movie that defined chase movies for years to come - where would Smokey and the Bandit be without it? And yet few of its successors had the sense of astute and bleak observation of the times.
Thrilling, expansive, yet trimmed down and simple in plot, this is worth catching up on and deserves to find an audience again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vanishing Point" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues Withe The 'US' Disc - But At Last – It Gets A 'UK' Release..., 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vanishing Point [Blu-ray] [1971] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Like most I saw the amazing “Vanishing Point” on television back in the Seventies when it already had built up a cult audience (I sought out Barry Newman films after that). And I’ve been lusting after it on the new format for years.

But the 2009 American BLU RAY issue on Image Entertainment is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are). And it looked to stay that way for ages…

However Fox has lined up a bunch of BLU RAYS in Steelbooks for issue in May 2014 – and “Vanishing Point” is among them (“Big”, “Speed”, “Legend” and the original of “The Day The Earth Stood Still” are some of the others).

So finally we're going to get to see it on this side of the pond. And about bloody time too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 11 April 2013
By 
Mrs. P. A. Jones "annabout" (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought as a present for my husband and he was thrilled with the original version. Great stuff! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing Point, DVD., 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is outstanding value for money. Great Film.
The product arrived on the 21st., one day after the maximum given for delivery.
The first Road Movie made and in my humble opinion the best every made.

Please just watch it and have your mind blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pedal is to the metal!, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
Honestly, this was a thoroughably enjoyable film. Despite the numerous "chase" scenes, this is actually quite a slow movie which examines the American pscyhe of the day through the life of the driver, Kowolski, as he barrels across the US, chased by various law enforcement agencies.

The scenery is stunning, the characters are well developed, and even the music (which isn't really my thing) fits well. This is a subtle movie and if you are watching it as an "action/adrenaline" flick you will be disappointed. But if you are looking for a character movie that offers an insight into the post woodstock generation, then you will love this.

The occasional smattering of very fine breasts is appreciated too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
There, are a lot of road type movies out there in movie land but for me this is the greatest of them all, no epic story line, a bit of the good guys and the bad guys, a hippie chick riding naked on a bike and a crazy cool DJ and that is it but oh what an ending a true classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vanishing Point [Blu-ray] [1971] [US Import]
Vanishing Point [Blu-ray] [1971] [US Import] by Richard C. Sarafian (Blu-ray - 2009)
Used & New from: 6.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews