Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£34.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2009
The Vice: The Complete Series (repackaged)
As a major fan of Ken Stott works in both Rebus and Messiah, i was told about this 10 disc box set featuring the full 5 series of The Vice - i watched with total interest.

This is a well written and acted hard hitting drama series, Ken Stott is without a shadow of a doubt one of Britains finest actors and i think very underated - should be a star in America by now, really with his performance he is The Vice, a good supporting cast in the first couple of Series and first rate storylines throughout all the series up till when Ken Stott leaves in the first story of the 5th series ( this is without a shadow of a doubt the finest story in the box set ) , unfortunately when Ken Stott leaves the stories do seem to suffer as you are waiting for Ken to appear, however Tim Piggot-Smith seems to keep the stories alive as a bent copper now in charge of The Vice as Frank Vickers, ( seen in some of the early episodes of the show as Ken Stotts enemy from the past ) i found it quite confusing in some ways as the rest of the team knew him to be bent but still worked with him giving him privelleged information - never mind.
Anyway if you love Ken Stott and like gritty well made drama then this is a must, also if you are having withdrawal symptoms waiting for Ken Stotts Rebus to come back on why not buy The Debt Collector starring Ken Stott and Billy Connolly, once again Ken plays a copper but i believe if thats what you do best ( which he does ) then why stop.
0Comment28 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2009
The Vice - The Complete Series
The Vice: The Complete Series (repackaged)
As a major fan of Ken Stott works in both Rebus and Messiah, i was told about this 10 disc box set featuring the full 5 series of The Vice - i watched with total interest.

This is a well written and acted hard hitting drama series, Ken Stott is without a shadow of a doubt one of Britains finest actors and i think very underated - should be a star in America by now, really with his performance he is The Vice, a good supporting cast in the first couple of Series and first rate storylines throughout all the series up till when Ken Stott leaves in the first story of the 5th series ( this is without a shadow of a doubt the finest story in the box set ) , unfortunately when Ken Stott leaves the stories do seem to suffer as you are waiting for Ken to appear, however Tim Piggot-Smith seems to keep the stories alive as a bent copper now in charge of The Vice as Frank Vickers, ( seen in some of the early episodes of the show as Ken Stotts enemy from the past ) i found it quite confusing in some ways as the rest of the team knew him to be bent but still worked with him giving him privelleged information - never mind.
Anyway if you love Ken Stott and like gritty well made drama then this is a must, also if you are having withdrawal symptoms waiting for Ken Stotts Rebus to come back on why not buy The Debt Collector starring Ken Stott and Billy Connolly, once again Ken plays a copper but i believe if thats what you do best ( which he does ) then why stop.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
I agree entirely that the series falls somewhat flat after Ken Stott's departure. It's not just the acting that suffers - the stories are weaker and there is a general lack of suspense. I don't understand the need for the 4:3 aspect ratio either (except in series 5) and it doesn't help.

For all that, it's gripping and addictive television for the most part and it's easy to understand how many police officers would get wrapped up in the whole sleazy thing. Also, why Stott's character gets very personally involved. I think I would too, but not to the same extent. I finally found myself getting more and more attracted to Caroline Catz towards the end and she's miles better in this than in the more recent 'Murder in Suburbia' ITV trash.

It's an absolute bargain and thoroughly recommended.
22 comments16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
. . . Yes, difficult to believe ITV produced this series, as it's a masterpiece of British television.
Made during the dying days of ITV's hold on quality television drama, this dark and compelling series feels more like cinema than television.
The difficult and controversial subject matter that this series portrays so brilliantly would not make it onto our television screens in 2013. [ Parliament, and the Americans have seen to that, sadly.]
Shot with vivid in-your-face authenticity, it is immediately evident that the production team went to great lengths in doing their research; so much so that it's difficult to be sure where they actually shot certain scenes in the 3rd and 4th episodes , this intelligent, sensitive and perceptive series portrays the reality of its subject matter with great directness and honesty.
Great moody lighting and photography, very film-like, and a real sense of place - indeed, at times the combination of location, mis-en-scene and score reach a real level of profundity, helped enormously by Ken Stott's huge prescence, great actor that he is. He is helped by a scattering of impressive British performers in supporting roles [ the magnetic Marc Warren in particular, as the vulnerable Dougie] - and what a brave way to exit Stott from the series...
Want to see the marvellous, atmospheric and seedy Soho before it became all Disney-fied, and the gays moved in? Clock this.
How did they do it?
A television masterwork.
Get it before it goes out of print.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2007
Never heard of The Vice before seeing it on Amazon, but then again, I don't keep my ear to the ground. Great series - up until Ken Stott's character leaves. Though Mr. Stott's last episode in the show is a great episode, you do miss him after that. He's a great actor (albeit 90% of the time playing a cop in anything that he does!) and lends the sort of dependability that someone of Patrick Stewart's caliber brought to Star Trek.

Even without the great Mr. Stott, the show remains quite watchable - it's just not the same.

Other than that quibble, The Vice is excellent , well worth checking out. Just no DVD extras on the Boxet, that's the only other thing.
0Comment19 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2007
Found it to be an extremely well made series about the Vice Squad & the people they deal with on a day to day basis. Prostitutes, pimps, bent cops, juvenile delinquents, etc. Some of the stories are very tragic, realistic & poignant. Well acted & simply but very solidly directed.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2008
Be careful when opening this boxset up as you will need to give yourself lots of time. Ken Stott is superb with a highly likeable and caring character in Chappell. I do agree with most comments that after Chappell leaves the show drops a bit. Excellent value with Amazon and should not be missed if you like high quality TV crime dramas that have a realistic touch.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
When I bought this box set, I had already seen the first few seasons, but being a big fan of Ken Stott, and the series, I wanted to own it and be able to watch it over if I wanted. I was nervous about Ken Stott leaving, as he was the reason I originally liked the show. But although I love him in the show, I still liked the show without him. Actually, one of my favourite episodes is Gameboys, I found Mel Raidos performance very touching in that episode, he's incredibly easy on the eyes as well. I like how you can really tell he's torn between his sympathy for the young boys being sold, and the older man selling them, and wanting to do the right thing. I found myself also quite torn as I felt sympathy for the older guy. Sean McGinley the actor playing him is great, I've seen him in a few other things, and he's always good. I like how everything's not black and white in the show, you do feel sympathy for some characters, even while questioning their motives. Being a big fan of Phillip Glenister, it was a nice surprise seeing him pop up in that episode at the end. All in all great show. And a mention also for David Harewood who takes over things when Ken Stott leaves, always enjoyed him in the show.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I missed this series on the television, so decided to give this a go as I've never seen Ken Stott in a bad drama (I particularly enjoyed Rebus and Messiah)! I raved about the first 4 series and told my family that they would definitely have to watch it as it was one of the best dramas I'd seen.
Then series 5...... the first 2 episodes were compulsive viewing and then suddenly Pat Chappel (Ken Stott) was gone! I really thought I'd missed out a couple of episodes and the DVD was faulty. No mention of him from then on in from any of his 'team' or 'friends' in the 2 episodes that followed, to give me a clue what was going on. He was replaced by a group of characters that I couldn't care less about (except for Joe), and didn't enjoy the fact the Vice Squad was portrayed as more corrupt than many of the criminals they were trying to catch and arrest. Series 5 definitely spoilt it for me....... I found Tim Piggot-Smith and Rosie Marcel's characters pretty annoying...... They should have stopped at Series 4!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
I bought this box set some time ago (mainly because of some of the cast) and finally found time to watch it.I found it a bit strange that it is still chopped up into segments to make room for the non existing adverts but one can live with that.I found individual episodes quite well done but the whole thing does not really hang together as a series.The characterisation of the various figures wanders all over the place and often strains credibility.- perhaps there were too many different writers involved.To be fair this is probably more apparent from watching a box set than seeing the story unfold over months or years.It would be interesting to know why Ken Stott left the series-just a clash of offers or had he had enough of it?
Still interesting to see Caroline Catz in an early role and the dependable Sarah Parish who disappeared rather too soon from the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse