Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic James, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is simply Sid James doing what he did best. I would recommend this set to everyone who loves classic British comedy. While James is slightly more subdued than in one of his many 'Carry On' performances, it makes him no less funny. Simply James doing what he did best. It's a shame we no longer have talent like him, Frankie Howerd and Ronnie Barker to name a few, around today. For me personally, the comedy style today is too rude and in your face. It's more about shock than humour. Things were funnier when comedy make you think and titter. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST BRILLIANT,, 6 Jun 2010
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I was brought up in the sixties in Kent/England & then dragged off to Australia at the end off 1969. Watching this series just brought back all the great times i had growing up in England. The cars the streets the people. But most of all the great sense of humour we English have. This complete series is a definite must for any one that likes a good laugh. The whole cast of actors specially sidney james are bloody brilliant. What a shame they dont make tv series like this any more. Well worth every penny. cheers..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic Comedy., 23 Jun 2009
By 
P. A. OSBORN "Phil" (Surrey. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This boxset is worth every penny, not only do you get the whole series, but you get the movie as well. I must admit that I did find some of the episodes a bit dated,but on the whole the series is a fine piece of comedy from that era. And if you search Sally Geeson on the web, you'll find out that she actually married William G Stewart, which was a fact that I never knew.
Back to B.T.H....I am a fanatic of Sid James anyway, not only for this series,but for all the Carry On's and even his work with Tony Hancock, but Bless This House holds fond memories for me along with a few other sitcoms of that era, such as the Good Life, The Original Reggie Perrin, and Love Thy Neighbour to name but a few, so if you do find a few of the episodes a bit dated, don't worry because there is a wealth of laughs on the majority of the whole series. And with excellent one liners and support from the whole cast you can see Sid James at his best and doing his very fine performances and look carefully and you'll see the cast even smiling and laughing at a few slip of the tongues,which makes the comedy even better...Long may you be gone Sid,but I'll forever remember you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sid - proof that there is a God, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The 1970s was the golden age of sitcom for Britain. It will never be as good again. True we'll get close, but nothing will ever beat those halcyon days. And though many will scoff at this next statement, this is, I would say, the best sitcom of them all.

It's hard to believe that anyone reading this review has not seen Bless This House, but if you haven't let me tell you now that what this set will give you is 65 episodes (and a film) of pure enjoyment; pure escapism; pure fun.

When Sid James started to make this show he was at the peak of his Carry On fame. In the same year that the first episodes made it to TV, Sid was the ultimate lecher in Carry on Henry and a compulsive gambling sauce pot in Carry On At Your Convenience. He is so far removed from those characters here that it is hard to think it is the same person. What really delights is that it was Sid himself that appealed to his script writers to lay off the dirty old man cobblers and give him something more befitting of a man of his age. They came up with a format hardly likely to blow anyone away with originality and made him a dad in a family he adores but doesn't really understand. Welcome to Bless This House.

This is, by gazillions of miles, Sid's best and most enjoyable role. He obviously loves who he plays and this carries across in every episode. But to help him along there is arguably one of the most beautiful women ever to have lived in Diana Coupland. She exudes her charm in every single scene and plays the part of the loyal, faithful, loving and just a little tiny bit ditzy wife in such a way to generate a delightful chemistry on screen with Sid. To add to the enjoyment are continued great performances from "them next door" played by Carry On stalwart Patsy Rowlands and the ridiculously under-used actor that was Anthony Jackson.

The story-lines early on in the series seldom stretch the viewer - the favourite idea is that Sid is presented with a situation and jumps to completely the wrong conclusions. This is set out in the first episode in which he presumes his son is gay (shock horror for 1971!!!) and that his daughter is on the pill (more shock horror for 1971!!!). Of course, Sid is totally wrong on both counts, much hilarity then ensues. This format is continued for quite a number of the episodes and although that should seem as though this is a drag to watch, it is in fact part of its kitsch charm.

Alas, when you get to series 5 and 6, the writers begin to change and more situations arise in the episodes; this actually makes these last 2 series the best 2 in my opinion. In fact I would argue that Bless This House could have continued easily for another 5 years had Sid not so tragically died in 1976. The last series is in fact only very slightly marred by how terribly tired Sid looks in some of the episodes. It is therefore further testament to his character that it is this series that will create the most laughs. A true showman to the end.

When you buy this (and you MUST buy it) then I suggest when the Thames TV logo appears, that you push the "back" button on your remote. You will then see the original leader tape. On these hidden little segments you can hear the stage hands and director and sometimes Sid himself in the seconds before the filming began. You will also notice that every single one is "take one" which means that each episode is effectively a live performance recorded in front of a studio audience.

They don't make TV like this any more. And they don't make actors and actresses like this any more.

Buy.

And enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Sid James was a truely brilliant actor.This complete set is a must have if your a fan.The writing was as excellent as the cast that delivered it.Yes, it is a bit dated, but that adds to the charm of the series.The gorgeous Sally Geeson and her brother were a perfect match.You never quite knew what monkey shines Sid will be up to next.The quality of the transfer to dvd is also very good,( picture,sound) another excellent choice to add to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bless This House (Complete Series), 1 May 2009
By 
Mr Blue Sky (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Still refreshing to see this comedy again, it brings back so many memories of this era. This is a classic comedy that stands the test of time, I still laughed out loud when watching it again as I did the very first time I saw it. Anyone who thinks the comedy of today is substandard should really appreciate this. A real must for all Sid James fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun!, 22 Jun 2011
By 
T. Harper "Tom" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is great value for money. Seen some of these episodes when they first appeared on tv back in the seventies. Sid James is excellent,no one now has his comic genius. If you like Sid,and are in need of a little cheering up then go on and purchase this marvelous box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blessed by Bless this House!, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have been truly blessed that Bless this House is now available as a complete series box set. This set is awesome, and includes the Bless This House movie that was made with Robin Askwith playing Mike and Peter Butterworth as Trevor. Bless this House is fantastic innocent very-English comedy. It was one of several fantastic series to come out around this time - Are You Being Served?, Man About the House, George and Mildred.

If you're a fan of Sid James or you just like quality clean British comedy, buy this! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 70's classic tv, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is classic Sid James.
Back in the day when Sunday was truly a day of rest.
Bless this house reminds me of my childhood.
Sids in classic form as penny pinching football supporting Sid Abbott.
It flags a bit in the final series which is a shame because its among Sids final filmed work.
For a slice of classic 70's comedy check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bless This House, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
What not to like about Sid James with that unique infectious mischievous laughs. One of the best comedy character
Definitely worth my five stars rating. Highly recommended for those with good sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD]
Bless this House: Complete Series [DVD] by William G. Stewart (DVD - 2008)
£29.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews