Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (179)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ziggy Stardust in sparkling sound at last, with just a few oddities
Ziggy Stardust is one of those classic albums that has been reissued many times, but never done quite right. Until now? This is undoubtedly the best release yet, though there are a few peculiarities.

First, a note on the music. First released in 1972, this was the album that propelled Bowie to stardom. The band is Mick Ronson (guitar), Trevor Bolder (bass),...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by Mr. T. Anderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album, disappointing remaster
Classic album but disappointed with this 40th anniversary edition CD remaster, far too clean sounding for my liking. The 1999 release has a richer, warmer sound and is altogether more ballsier. I'll stick with my old copy and won't bother with the 40th anniversary edition Aladdin Sane if this is any guide.
Published 14 months ago by Belmez


‹ Previous | 119 20 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
SPOT ON SOUND TRACK. WELL WORTH IT. GOOD SELLER. JUST ORDERED ANOTHER 4 CD,S. SO IT SAYS IT ALL. . LOOKING FORWARD TO RECIEVING THEM AND PLAYING MY FAVORITE OLD SOUNDS,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am a Very Happy Bowie fan re living his youth !, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Very Happy Bowie fan re living his youth !

I am a Very Happy Bowie fan re living his youth !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the cassette version!, 4 Sep 2012
By 
P. Hird (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I originally bought this album on an RCA music cassette, after watching the BBC's Cracked Actor documentary in 1975. The sound was muffled, but that didn't manage to take the shine off the alien landscape of this marvellous album, (my brain filling in the auditory gaps; rather like imagining the colours on a black & white TV). Now all these years later, this 1999-remastered CD has lifted the veil to reveal Ziggy Stardust in all its auditory glory - crisp and sharp and full of the detail denied me by the sonic limitations of the musicassette. It's a new shiny version of this classic alien Bowie album and the lack of bonus tracks ensures the album's integrity is preserved - 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bowie CD, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Colin Mayo "Rooster Booster" (Hemel Hempstead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raw, original and full of energy this is the Bowie masterpiece - the man has many imitators but no one can compare to the Thin White Duke. Ziggy was the album that made Bowie a mega star and a must for any contemporary music fan. Personally I prefer his early 70's CDs to his later work and this is the jewel in the crown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the songs on this CD are great, 28 Nov 1999
I love all the tracks on this CD. No-one who enjoys rock will regret buying this. 'Ziggy Stardust' is tragic and emotive; 'Rock'n'Roll Suicide' is brutal lyrics set to a beautiful arrangement; the other tracks range from soulful ballads to stomping good rock. It's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what is the difference between the 30th and 40th anniversary editions?, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This, like the original vinyl and 30th anniversary editiion, is sheer class. But it appears the new track listing is a little disappointing. The 30th had extra tracks including demos, it appears the 40th anniversary has missed the boat in making the new edition "the" definitive edition. However, if for some odd reason you have not purchased Ziggy before, do not hesitate. Ignore the hype, this is vintage Bowie. This is the ultimate glam rock concept album. Also coincides with the unveiling of a plaque in London's Heddon Street (just off Regent Street) where the monumental cover was shot. Sadly the graffiti'd red phone box has long gone along with the illuminated K West sign but Heddon Street exists alright and is a mecca for all Bowie fans. Enjoy Ziggy again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album of All Time, 26 Jun 2002
By 
David Wood (Twickenham, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I think so, even though I was a child when I first heard it. Continues to be the reference point for most modern music and now it has been remastered along with many of the great B-sides it shows how good British rock music can be (compared to todays).
Contains some of the great singles of the 70s that have evolved into anthems of an age, wonderful stuff. I still have it in my car and it still gets a regular airing. How about that!
Anyone looking to discover David Bowie would do well to start here, he continues to be the chameleon of music and all albums of his are worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album of All Time, 7 April 2008
Ziggy Stardust was the greatest rock creation of all-time and this is the best album ever made.
Every single track is a classic, a gem , a work of art.
David Bowie is a living legend and the most talented performer in the history of showbiz.
Fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars only turned out to be the bonus track version ohhhh yes, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews