Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very smooth jazz guitar, 26 Aug 2003
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
I picked up this CD by chance as the store I was in had an offer on Blue Note CD's. I've never been a big jazz fan, but love guitar based music so I thought I would give this a chance and I was blown away! The title track is worth the CD price alone. It falls 2 seconds short of 15 minutes, but there isn't a dull moment on this mellow smoky track which is pure heaven to listen to. Grant Green is an amazing guitarist, very smooth, and the rest of the sextet (piano, sax, drums, bass and vibes) play just as well. The second track, Jean de Fleur, ups the tempo nicely after Idle Moments and the third track, Django, takes the pace back down again with a brilliant melancholic intro before another inspired Green solo. Track 4, Nomad, is another faster paced number, ending the album perfectly. The Blue Note RVG edition also includes alternate takes of Jean de Fleur and Django, which are also a pleasure to hear. I can't believe Grant Green was such an underrated and unsung jazz guitarist in his time. This is a perfect place to start any jazz collection. I would also recommend the Grant Green Blue Note CD 'Green Street' if you want to hear the guitarist in a more intimate setting of a trio (with just bass and drums).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very smooth jazz guitar, 26 Aug 2003
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
I picked up this CD by chance as the store I was in had an offer on Blue Note CD's. I've never been a big jazz fan, but love guitar based music so I thought I would give this a chance and I was blown away! The title track is worth the CD price alone. It falls 2 seconds short of 15 minutes, but there isn't a dull moment on this mellow smoky track which is pure heaven to listen to. Grant Green is an amazing guitarist, very smooth, and the rest of the sextet (piano, sax, drums, bass and vibes) play just as well. The second track, Jean de Fleur, ups the tempo nicely after Idle Moments and the third track, Django, takes the pace back down again with a brilliant melancholic intro before another inspired Green solo. Track 4, Nomad, is another faster paced number, ending the album perfectly. The Blue Note RVG edition also includes alternate takes of Jean de Fleur and Django, which are also a pleasure to hear. I can't believe Grant Green was such an underrated and unsung jazz guitarist in his time. This is a perfect place to start any jazz collection. I would also recommend the Grant Green Blue Note CD 'Green Street' if you want to hear the guitarist in a more intimate setting of a trio (with just bass and drums).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most relaxing album ever?, 1 Mar 2004
By 
Barry Kleinberg (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
It doesn't matter how stressed I have been during the day this album sorts it all out! The title track is magnificant with each of the artists taking you along a smooth and mellow path and when that sax comes in.....no need for anything else...except maybe a small single malt whisky!
Buy it and enjoy it. Over and over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The epitome of cool, 4 Feb 2008
By 
S. Rogan "Shaun" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
Grant Green and Bobby Hutcherson were always going to be a formidable combination and so it proves on this date for Blue Note. This is probably the best guitar date Blue Note ever recorded. Relaxing? Yes. Challenging? Absolutely. But dont be fooled this is not comatose. This swings like nobodys business, and is thoroughly modern. I love this record. If any guitar lead ensemble ventured near Kind of Blue territory its this one. Its beautful and deep. If you love music that is contemplative and beguiling you want this record. its a simple choice. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, relaxed session, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
This is a pretty restrained session and all the better for it. The relaxed groove of the title track makes this the stand-out performance. I love Duke Pearson's piano fills on the theme. The combination of guitar, vibes and piano has always been a winner since the days of George Shearing's quintet and "Idle moments" opens up with this kind of sound before Joe Henderson enters of tenor. The CD is worth purchasing for this performance alone. Almost as good is the version of John Lewis' "Django" which is played in a meatier fashion than usual but with no loss of the pathos that underpins the tune. "Nomad" offers the set's most convoluted line but the whole session is extremely listenable yet substantial enough to more than please purists. Nice to hear Bobby Hutcherson lend his vibes to a more mainstream session and Pearson, Cranshaw and the under-rated Al Harewood provide great time. The results are as good as you would expect from this kind of all-star line up.

Guitarist Grant Green is one of those musician's who divide fans. There are plenty of those who admire his playing but his eventual development into funkier elements of jazz with decreasing yields of return has led some of his sternest critics to unfairly dismiss him. Listening to "Idle moment" offers the chance to hear Grant at his prime together with the (then) new tenor sensation, Joe Henderson who is somewhere stylistically between Sonny Rollins and Wayne Shorter. On the evidence of this disc, the recording can be rated at nothing less than five stars although Blue Notes' insistance at supplementing the CD with rejected takes adds nothing to the performance and are demonstrably inferior to Alfred Lion's ulitmate choice. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb laid back jazz..., 24 Dec 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
Everything relating to this disc from the cover art,remastering,to the choice of material and the performances are first rate.The mood is relaxed, smoky and quietly sophisticated as in Parisian cafe society,quietly sophisticated.Many jazz guitar albums frequently rate highly on sheer ability but often lack focus and character,and that's because they focus on a very narrow core audience - fellow players or suckers for 'hot' fretwork. No problem here though.From the opening bars, we know we are in the presence of master musicians.These guys combine beautifully and unselfishly to produce music that can only be called balm to the ears.It may an album of unhurried jazz but there is no hint of boredom or feelings of enervation.You will hear some great playing - not least from the ultra cool Joe Henderson on tenor sax and Bobby Hutcherson on vibes. So while the musical themes are less then energetic, the listener gets to hear some incredibly tasty soloing along with some gloriously realized melodies and group interplay.To my mind,this isn't easy listening jazz ,simply jazz that is easy to listen to, if you get my drift.

Rather like Miles Davis and 'Kind of Blue' and Dave Brubeck with 'Take Five','Idle Moments'is the sort of album that can nestle in the collection of any kind of jazz fan's collection - from the seriously committed to more common or house garden variety.Either way, it is an impeccable piece of work and can be be enjoyed by anyone with a working set of ears.Recommended.

ps: if you enjoy this little platter, try Ike Quebec's 'Blue and Sentimental'- another midnight jazz classic.Blue & Sentimental
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grant Green at his best, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
Brilliant album with a good mix of content .There are other players on this album I didn't know who are also very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green's finest moment?, 22 Jan 2011
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
I own quite a lot of Grant Green recordings, and this is, for my money, the best. From the sublimely mellow title track, to the rambunctious Green original 'Jean De Fleur', this is top notch Blue Note hard bop all the way. Originally just four tracks, this is nonetheless, as Steve Huey of Allmusic.com says, "the essential first Green purchase, and some of the finest guitar jazz of the hard bop era". After all, it's about quality, not quantity! Green was very prolific, recording many albums as a leader, and many as a side-man. If you're thinking of taking a first punt on Green, start here. If you're already a fan, and don't own it... sort it out!

It's an interesting album, in that Green, never one for comping, shares the solos with a larger than normal band, including Bobby Hutcherson's vibes. I'm not always fond of vibes, especially when there's also a piano, but Hutcherson sparkles here, and he and Green let pianist Duke Pearson handle the chordal work. Al Harewood's a great drummer, and with Bob Cranshaw he stokes the engine room fires with the perfect balance of fire and restraint, allowing the soloists to take some inspired flights.

The remastered RGV edition adds two out-takes, and these testify to the length that sessions ran to. The versions of these two originally released are the two shorter tracks on the album. But the out takes add considerably to the times. With 'Jean De Fleur' it seems the alt-take contains longer solos, whereas in the case of 'Django', the shorter (orig album) version is faded out early. Whilst it's overall a good policy, I'm not always that fussed about the out-takes that Blue Note customarily augment their CD re-releases with, but, in this case, getting more of something wonderful isn't something to gripe about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money, 8 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
Im amazed at how cheap these albums are as the musicianship and technical skill are so impressive. Grant Green's guitar with the vibraphone works beautifully tonally and melodically. An album for a jazz fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A desert island disc, and it deserves six stars!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
I discovered this album by accident (exploring Grant Green / Bobby Hutcherson music) many years ago, and it has remained firmly in "my top ten"!

What a "front line"... Joe Henderson, Bobby Hutcherson, Grant Green all in their prime, plus a trio lead by Blue Note resident pianist Duke Pearson. I guess the title track (that runs to 15 minutes) was a spontaneous tune developed by Pearson. The released version was initially regarded as too long by Alfred Lion, who insisted that it be re-recorded as a shorter track, but shortening it spoilt the whole feeling of a laid back blues...Idle Moments. Thank goodness the original take was released. Every musician is on top form; the track is hypnotic and demands attention. It seems effortless, but I am sure that it was 15 minutes of 100% concentration.

That one track alone would make this a five star album, but there are three more tunes (plus two "alternate takes").

Jean de Fleur is an up tempo tune by Grant Green which allows Bobby Hutcherson full flight, another Pearson tune Nomad", and the john Lewis tune "Django". Until I heard this version, I thought that the several versions recorded by the MJQ could not be bettered, but this arrangement takes the biscuit. This is the definitive version.

I play this album regularly and am never disappointed. It will be the first album that I pack to take to my desert island and the one I'll rescue from the waves!

Every lover of modern jazz should have this album. It is a landmark album (not an album that has changed the direction of jazz such as Kind of Blue, or Ornette Coleman) but an album of great beauty and skill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Idle Moments
Idle Moments by Grant Green
Buy MP3 Album£9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews