Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very lucky man
It seems that George was not the first choice to record Rock your baby. It was written for KC and the Sunshine band, but despite the lead singer of that group being a co-writer, it proved to be unsuitable, so another singer was sought. Gwen McCrae (George's wife) was then chosen but didn't turn up for the recording session. George therefore recorded Rock your baby, which...
Published on 9 Mar 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing sound
I enjoyed the music but unfortunately the CD is of a very poor sound quality. I cannot recommend purchasing the product.
Published 7 months ago by Marc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very lucky man, 9 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
It seems that George was not the first choice to record Rock your baby. It was written for KC and the Sunshine band, but despite the lead singer of that group being a co-writer, it proved to be unsuitable, so another singer was sought. Gwen McCrae (George's wife) was then chosen but didn't turn up for the recording session. George therefore recorded Rock your baby, which subsequently became a number one hit in Britain and America. How lucky can one man be?
Subsequent releases made less impact, especially in America. George nevertheless managed to make the UK top ten twice more (I can't leave you alone, It's been so long) and just missed the UK top ten with I ain't lying. George also had three minor UK hits (You can have it all, Sing a happy song, Honey). All these hits came in the period 1974 to 1976 and all except Honey are included here. George eventually had a minor hit (One step closer to love) on a different label but that (like Honey) is missing.
Neither of the missing hits matter on this collection, which contains everything you are likely to need by one of the pioneers of the seventies disco scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant I love it, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The songs are brilliant and bring back loads of memories it's great to hear them all again bring back the 70 s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Oldie Remastered, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent George McCrae LP when it was released back in '75, handled with care and remastered on perfection. If you liked any of the singles off this LP then this upgrade is an easy purchase. Go and enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great !, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of George McCrae (MP3 Download)
All great songs on here ... really enjoy listening to it and it includes all the ones everyone will know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album and brilliant as I got mp4 downloads too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing sound, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the music but unfortunately the CD is of a very poor sound quality. I cannot recommend purchasing the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars smooth soul, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classy pop/soul. There's more to to this guy than just Rock Your Baby. Well worth getting if you like your soul on the smooth side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly the best, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing George Mccrae on the TV I knew I had to buy one of his CDs. He has a lovely voice & his songs are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George - as you remember him, 24 Dec 2010
All the hits and more on one cd - orginal recordings too. A must have for 70's fans includes - It's been so long since I've seen you a track not found on not many compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews