Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail to the thief!
Even if these reissues are just a way of squeezing every last penny out of Radiohead fans, the record company have done a great job on them.
The album itself makes up the first CD. i will not say much about it as everything that needs to be said about Hail to the Thief is probably covered in other peoples' reviews. it is left just as it was, as it should be in my...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by Kid Z

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fail To The Thief!
The final Radiohead album for EMI, "Hail To The Thief" came a couple of years later and takes the musical experimentalism and new directions of the previous two albums, and forges them into a concentrated whole. It neither broke new ground, nor spoilt the narrative. Radiohead created in this a stuttering, paranoid whole, obsessed with the end of times, the final days of...
Published on 24 July 2009 by Mr. M. A. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail to the thief!, 26 Oct 2010
Even if these reissues are just a way of squeezing every last penny out of Radiohead fans, the record company have done a great job on them.
The album itself makes up the first CD. i will not say much about it as everything that needs to be said about Hail to the Thief is probably covered in other peoples' reviews. it is left just as it was, as it should be in my opinion - i don't think there's any need for remastering, and appending any bonus tracks to this disc would stop it ending the way it was meant to. radiohead albums always end well so it's fortunate that it's kept that way.
the second CD is all the B-sides from the album's singles plus a few live songs. (most of this is on the COM LAG (2plus2isfive) EP.) the B-side songs, while not as good overall as the album songs, are quirky and/or interesting, and still very good. Gagging Order is just gorgeous. NOTE: THIS 'LOS ANGELES VERSION' OF 'I WILL' IS DIFFERENT TO THE ONE ON THE COM LAG EP. THE ONE HERE ACTUALLY SOUNDS LIKE IT'S AN EXTENDED VERSION OF THE ALBUM VERSION.
the DVD has the music videos for the singles and four songs performed on Later... with Jools Holland. there could probably be more on here but oh well.
also in the box is the original booklet (again it's good that this is kept the same - the artwork is great), three postcards with the covers of the singles on them and, best of all, a huge fold-out map which i believe came with a limited edition version of the album - as with the second Kid A booklet and the Amnesiac library card it was quite generous to include this.
So, in summary, you'll get your money's worth even if you already own Hail to the Thief and Com Lag. and it's definitely better value than the version which just has the two CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hail To Radiohead, 26 Aug 2003
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Radiohead as a band clearly have a mission. To unequivocally prove to the world, that they are the most creative and original band of their generation. Well, in that case, 'Mission accomplished boys'. Tom and the guys give us another master piece which is head to toes full of colossal music, impeccable production and deeply meaningful lyrics.
My favourite tracks from 'Hail To The Thief' are the very boundaries of the album. Track 01, '2+2=5' and the closing tracks of the album 'Scatterbrain'
and 'A Wolf at the Door'. How does this album compare to their previous ones? Well, it's not quite anything like 'Kid A', but on the other hand it's nothing like 'The Bends' either. Most probably, it's somewhere in between. Some critics have said that Radiohead are completely mixed up and that they have completely lost their direction. Perhaps these critics are right, but the result is still top notch quality.
I miss the old Radiohead, I really do. 'OK Computer' and 'The Bends' have earned them a place in Rock History. However, this album which is a clear cut better than 'Amnesiac', still deserves to be bought.
This album is definitely not their career's bet, but for me, its still thumbs up for Radiohead's number 6 studio album. Hail To Radiohead!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year?, 6 May 2003
By 
Mr. Gideon D. Brody "twitter me: gideon_" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Having scaled great heights both commercially and musically It seems incredible that Radiohead, with their fifth album, Hail To The Thief, are able to not only scale similar mountainous heights once again but they are in fact on course to surpass them.
OK Computer, Radiohead’s zenith moment and worthy of all the acclaim it received arrived into our homes with meteoric effect. Astounded by its clear brilliance the world became besotted with the intelligent musicianship of the Oxford collective. Ok Computer’s impact was clearly massive - the crater it created is something than any band would struggle to claw itself out of. The testing but worthwhile Kid A and the even less accessible Amnesiac were clear reactions of a band fearful of plummeting from their self-made position of apogee.
Both Kid A and Amnesiac were careful (and fitfully beautiful) treads in the direction of Hail To The Thief which dutifully avoids the stickier protracted attempts at computer experimentation that beset the two aforementioned albums and puts an emphasis on the band’s supreme song-writing skills and moreover, the enchanting and often haunting voice of Thom Yorke.
Gone will be all those ill-informed Aphex Twin comparisons given the much heavier use of guitars (’Where I End & You Begin’, ’2+2 = 5’, ‘There There‘) than on the last two albums but that isn’t to say that it pays homage in any big way to Radiohead’s breakthrough album The Bends. No, Radiohead are certainly not about to regress and they certainly are in no mood to play the old rock trick of ‘going back to what you know best’. As an exposition of the band themselves, Hail To The Thief is a clear indication that Radiohead are comfortable with where they are now - making symphonic sounds that pierce your soul and endure until the songs themselves become irremovable fixtures in your mind. Radiohead are clearly not interested in the idle fancies of ordinary pop musicians and money-sucking uber-producers yet it is the challenging and brutal yet beautifully melancholic nature of this band and this album that allows tracks to outlive the 3 minute perfection of radio-friendly post-pop.
Whilst eclipsing previous achievements may be an impossible task Radiohead are still gaining plenty from the album-making process and as a result Hail To the Thief has a very polished feel. The vocals of Yorke are beautifully harmonized like never before(’Sail To The Moon‘, ‘I Will‘), the electrical wizardry is measured (’The Gloaming‘) and the pace of the album is carefully programmed so that its shocks then lulls you in emotionally. With your breath taken you are left in a state of truly satisfied reverie.
An astonishing album by an extraordinary band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Radiohead Classic., 28 April 2003
By 
Ernie (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
When you first heard Creep from Radiohead, you either thought this is a good song from a band that will have more to offer in the future or you thought that this is a good song from a one hit wonder. Little did everyone know that the "Creep" group would later turn out two great followups in "The Bends" and "OK Computer". Radiohead would later leave thier mark on music with "Kid A" and "Amnesiac". Kid A and Amnesiac would leave people thinking what else can this band do and have they already peaked or already reached thier pinacle. I am here to tell you that they have not reached it yet. With the release of "Hail to the thief" Radiohead is once again leaving people baffeled and amazed that this band can constantly reinvent itself. The one thing that sets Hail to the thief apart is the fact that the albums tracks could have easily have gone on any of the previous albums. What makes Hail to the thief different is the fact that this album is in the the tradition of Radiohead's previous albums of always pushing the boundry of music. Some of the tracks are completely different from one another yet they flow so perfectly well together. Radiohead has yet again proven that they can not be pigeon holed into a genre of music or labeled as a typical rock band. You will not be disappointed when you buy this album today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mastering makes a difference, 10 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
For anyone who grabbed the internet leak of this album and are now wondering whether its really worth buying a cd which you've already been listening to for a couple of months the answer is delete your mp3s now and buy this album. The band warned us that the leaked version was not the final cut but it is astounding how much difference there is. The sound is fuller, the instrumentals more pronounced and Thom Yorkes vocals are now more haunting than they have ever been. Hail to the Thief is now an epic rivalled only by OK Computer and whilst for sheer beauty it will forever remain second best, the roller coaster of emotions which Radioheads latest offering provides is nothing but phenomenal. From the first signs of anger since the bends in the anti capitalist 2+2=5 through the unadulterated beauty of sail to the moon and I will and finnally finishing with perhaps the best song since Paranoid Android in a Wolf at the Door, the album leaves nothing unturned. Many feared that Radioheads days of exploring new musical frontiers were numbered and the synthesisers had been pushed to their limit, well perhaps they have but in that case Yorke et al have responded with an epic summary of their hugely distinguished career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!! Although still second best to The Bends, 24 May 2003
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
I managed to get the album 2 months before its release, which, being a massive radiohead fan was brilliant. The Album is an epic in its own right, its one of those album's you could listen right the way through without skipping songs. '2+2=5' could be quite comfortable on 'ok computer', its starts out slow, but climaxe's into some hard guitar work. But that aside the best song on the album is 'we suck young blood', it reminds me of 'Pyramid song', but i think its the best song they have brought out in years. It has a haunting sound of a piano with some fret pulling of the guitar in the background with swooping bass notes. The music is amazing, but what makes the song is Thom Yorke's unbelievable voice. A definate buy for the big radiohead fans, but also a great buy for the average fan. If you didn't like Kid A or Amnesiac, you'll be surprised at how they have linked together the old sound and the new sound and came to a medium which will rocket them into the charts once more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the debate rages on..., 26 Aug 2003
By 
kathryn "Kate" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
What, exactly, is it that so divides Radiohead fandom? There are such extremes of opinion. Someone who loves The Bends to bits is equally likely to loathe Kid A. I suppose this is inevitable when the band in question have changed/are changing so radically over their careers.
And there a lot of people who are throroughly dissapointed with this album. They say OK Computer is the best, and this doesn't begin to measure up. OKC is undoubtedly a brilliant and important album. But what would you have them do? Reproduce it? Issue it in different coloured cases every few years? OKC has been made. It's there for everyone to enjoy.
Imagine if Radiohead had paid any attention to the critical acclaim Palo Honey got (and it was well liked in the music press). They would have repeated the formula in their next album, and the one after that (you know, like Coldplay and Muse). There would be no The Bends, let alone OK Computer.
So KID A, Amnesiac and HTTT aren't OKC. Well, duh.
To get to it's actual musical worth: I think it's brilliant. Like Kid A and Amnesiac, there's a whole lot been said about the move away from guitar music, rock music. That's silly. There's plenty of guitars here, for one thing - for another, it's ridiculus to expect musicians of radiohead's talent to limit themselves to the three or four instruments traditional to rock. We wouldn't expect Steve Reich or someone to stick to the traditional instruments of classical music.
It's the media, and the fans, who insist upon all these definitions - rock, dance, pop, classical, who cares? What Radiohead make might not always sound like rock, but it's certainly great music.
What it all comes down to, for me, is that I love listening to HTTT - I've already listened so much I know nearlly all the words) and it's not because I'm a snob who likes to be seen as a fan of experimentalism. Actually, my CD collection largely consists of bands who probably aren't technically brilliant, but make a good noise (including - eek - the Sugababes and Coldplay). Radiohead are my favourites becuase they make a good noise while excersizing huge talent.
There's one other thing: I don't think anyone who's seen this stuff live could doubt it. I saw Radiohead at Glastonbury, and the new stuff was some of the most exciting on offer. I love The Bends and OK Computer as much as anyone, but that doesn't stop me loving HTTT just as much. It's different, yes, but could we expect any less of Radiohead?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Backwards., 14 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
Phew.. relief! Radiohead havn't lost it after all..
When I first heard 'There There', the first single to be taken from this album, I was pretty shocked. It sounded like every Radiohead cliche rolled into one.. droning, miserable & dull.
I thought they'd done an REM by going all boring after releasing a great, and different, record (in REMs case 'Up').
I've liked Radiohead since hearing 'Creep' all those years ago, but it wasn't until 'Kid A' that I truly loved them.
'OK Computer' was undoubtedly awesome, but with 'Kid A', alongside 'Amnesiac', they really moved up a level.
Sure, they were both a bit messy, slightly inconsistant..
but I loved them. They had a character that really was truly their own. I never could understand the accusations of being 'difficult' or 'pretentious'.. maybe i'm missing something.
Initially I thought that Radiohead had taken these criticisms to heart, and were taking a step backwards away from the exciting new directions they were headed towards. Turns out though that 'There There' was a bit of a one off... easily the worst track of the album. When I first pressed play it was clear that my fears were uneccassary.. '2+2=5' is an amazing track, full of energy.. a great way to start a great record. It is certainly more cohesive than the previous two albums.. and yeah, more tuneful even. The middle section is particulary fantastic. 'We Suck Young Blood', 'The Gloaming','I Will' and 'Punch Up at A Wedding' are all, for me, future classics. There's no doubt for me that Radiohead are one of the all time greatest bands to record rock music, but yet I feel there is better to come.
I look forward to the day when the band truly submerse themselves into the experimental field that they have skirted around of late. 'Hail To The Theif' is a sidestep from the line they were taking, which will no doubt please haters of the 'Kid A' era, but it certainly isn't going backwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What else did you expect?, 12 July 2003
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
This album has suffered dreadfully from the hype surrounding it. Several music magazines were having wet dreams about the second coming of OK Computer, and ended up disregarding the album because - let's face it - it's not.
What Hail To The Theif IS is the continuation of what they've been doing their whole career - moving forward and re-inventing. Yes, there are elements of all their previous records in here, but this isn't the melting pot some people think it is. It's an entirely new Radiohead record. So what's changed?
Well, for a start, this is the first Radiohead record that hasn't allowed you to sink into it immediately. The Bends and Ok Computer let you pour over the hidden meanings in the lyrics for hours on end. Kid A tried as hard it could to destroy your mental health. Amnesiac was a combination of both of these, although it was their weakest record to date. Now, however, Thom has begun choosing lyrics because they sound good, not because they have convoluted hidden meanings. However, both A Wolf At The Door and 2+2=5 are based on George Orwell's classic 1984, so you can still dig for those meanings. It's just that this record doesn't grab you and suck you in; it chooses instead to sit there and let you do what you want with it. If you liked Creep and Stop Whispering, and are now stuck listening to imitations of The Bends (Travis, Coldplay), you'll want to destroy it. If you were drawn in by Kid A's raw inventiveness, it's definitely worth your time.
So, in short, this is a good-nay-damn-good record, that in places is dancy and catchy, at times is wierd, is rewarding with more and more listens, and throws you curveballs on a regular basis. Just don't come to it with any preconceptions....okay??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even old fogeys can get it, 2 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Hail To The Thief (Audio CD)
If you have heard the hype about Radiohead and are thinking of taking the plunge but worried you might be grunged out by them, don’t worry. Play it once, you’ll wonder what the fuss is about. Play it twice and you’ll think it’s the most boring thing you’ve ever heard. The magic cuts in on the third play and by the fifth play you are hopelessly hooked.
I am 50 years old. I grew up on a diet of sixties and seventies rock. But by 1985 I had stopped listening to rock music because it was getting too boring: it just seemed to be repeating itself. If I hadn’t got an Ipod for Xmas I would never have even heard of Radiohead. But heard of them I now have and I absolutely love them. And I think this album, Hail to the Theif, is their best yet. It’s right up there with the very best from the golden age of rock. Astral Weeks: Forever Changes: Live Dead: Pet Sounds: Out of the Blue: Ziggy Stardust. You name it. It just possibly beats them all. This album is an aural masterpiece. From the opening guitar riffs of 2+2=5 to the closing bars of A Wolf at the Door, it just sounds right all the way through in a way very very few albums ever do. There is a consistent feel to it that is remarkable so that even the difficult tracks (there are just three) end up sounding perfect. You can just put it on anywhere along the way throughout its 13 tracks and instantly you get transported to Thom Yorke’s strange wonderland. OK - the lyrics are a bit off beat but frankly I wouldn’t care if he spent the entire album singing about his mother-in-laws wallpaper. There is one wonderful moment during Track 5 Go to Sleep where he wails We Don’t Want Baloonists Taking Over: now that I can relate to! I have played this album maybe 50 times in a month and I am still hearing new things each time. And dotted about within it are several moments of such poignant beauty that I shiver every time I hear them. Play it Loud. Play it Often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hail To The Thief
Hail To The Thief by Radiohead
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews