Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock'n'roll balladeer
Please note that there are at least two compilations with the same title (Very best of Bobby Vee). One of them has 20 tracks while another has 27 tracks. As Amazon post the same reviews on all of them, I've tried to adapt my review to reflect that.

Bobby Vee's first big break when his group (the Shadows - no connection with the similarly named British...
Published on 28 Feb 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst....Best of!!
For this to claim to be the Best of Bobby Vee is just a disgrace. Without 'Walking With My Angel' and 'Letter From Betty' it falls a long way short of such a claim. Using cover versions of other artists hits is OK when all the best of the original songs are included. Whoever put this together just doesn't respect Bobby's work. Another attempt to cash in without respect...
Published on 9 May 2008 by Mr. K. G. Charmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock'n'roll balladeer, 28 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Please note that there are at least two compilations with the same title (Very best of Bobby Vee). One of them has 20 tracks while another has 27 tracks. As Amazon post the same reviews on all of them, I've tried to adapt my review to reflect that.

Bobby Vee's first big break when his group (the Shadows - no connection with the similarly named British instrumental group) that had to deputize for Buddy Holly at a gig in Iowa soon after that singer was killed in a plane crash. As a result of that performance, Bobby was offered a recording contract. He failed to make an impact with his first three singles (Suzie baby, a cover of What do you want (Adam Faith) and One last kiss) but made the American charts with a cover of Devil or angel (Clovers). Bobby then had an international hit with Rubber ball. Bobby's version of Rubber ball had to compete in the UK charts with a cover by Britain's Marty Wilde, but both versions made the UK top ten.

Following the success of Rubber ball, Bobby was a regular on the charts for the next two and a half years but faded quickly as Beatle mania took over. In that period, Bobby had major international hits with Take good care of my baby (a number one American hit), The night has a thousand eyes (arguably the most popular of his songs now), Run to him, Sharing you, How many tears and More than I can say, all of which made the UK top ten. More than I can say became a UK hit again in the seventies when Leo Sayer covered it. Bobby's other hits include Devil or angel, Forever kind of love, Bobby tomorrow and Please don't ask about Barbara. All these hits and others can be found here.

After the hits dried up, Bobby paid tribute to Buddy Holly by recording several of Buddy's songs, some of which can be found here. Exactly which tracks you get will depend on which compilation you buy. You may also get covers of some other famous sixties songs.

Bobby made one more return to the charts in 1967 with Come back when you grow up, an American top ten hit that sold a million. It failed to chart in Britain but you'll find it on the 27-track compilation.

This compilation contains all the essential tracks from Bobby's early years. It omits some or all (deprending on which complation you buy) of those early failed singles and some American hits that didn't chart in Britain, but the cover versions are likely to appeal more to British buyers.

As a sample of Bobby's music this is ideal, at least from a British perspective, although you might consider buying the budget-priced triple CD, Singles collection, instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bobby Vee fan, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my daughter who is a Bobby Vee fan.She was really pleased because it has loads of his hits on that are her favourites and probably those of many others too. Arrived in great time for her birthday so very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF THE EARLY SIXTIES FAVOURITES', 5 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Bobby Vee' was first noticed by the 'Music-Moguls' when he stepped up on
stage in Febuary 1959 to stand-in for 'Buddy Holly' who along with 'Richie
Valens' and 'The Big Bopper' had tragically died on route to the engagement.
Of course the remainder of the performers had continued on the Bus to
reach the venue, this included 'The Crickets'
'Bobby Vee' did both perform and record with 'The Crickets' over the following
year or so, of course 'The Crickets' prior to 3rd Febuary 1959 famously performed
and recorded with 'Buddy'
'Bobby Vee's first U.K hit was in 1961 a song that was covered by 'Marty Wilde'
that being 'Rubber Ball' I remember both versions chasing each other up the
charts in fact 'Marty's' version peaked at number '9' 'Bobby's' version reached
number '4'
'Bobby Vee' surprisingly didn't actually achieve a number one here in the U.K
however between 1961-3 he had Ten Top Thirty Entries, seven of which were
in fact Top Ten Hits.(He did also have several lower order entries back then)
All Ten of his Chart-Hits in the U.K are on-board this splendid album, among
some of his memorable tracks included on this album ....'More than I Can Say'
(Chart '4') 'The Night Has a Thousand Eyes' (Chart '3') 'Run To Him' (Chart
'6') 'Please Don't Ask about Barbara' (Chart 29) 'Take Good Care of My Baby'
(Chart '3') and my personal favourite 'A Forever Kind of Love' (Chart '13')
These songs being among his Top 30 Hits in the U.K. of course 'Bobby' had Hits
both sides of the Atlantic.
Though he continued to perform 'Bobby Vee's Chart career faded as was the case
with many Quality -Acts of the late fifties, early sixties as a new era of Pop-Music
emerged with groups such as 'The Fab Four'
The Music we remember this artist for back in the early sixties remains in our
memories of those 'Great' times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value album from Bobby Vee, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value album, all of Bobby's big hits here on this compilation ,quality and originality good. Great to hear these songs again. Good delivery as always from Zoverstocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the most popular hits. Brought back many memories. A great easy listen to CD. For those who like Bobby Vee, it is an ideal one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (MP3 Download)
Good choice of songs on this album. This to many words to have to write as a review should be able write as fewer words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bobby Vee CD, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great sound bringing back memories of that time. All the songs that I wanted are on this CD. A good recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mum loves it, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Caught Mum singing along to a song on the radio! Found this and she loved reliving her youth.I was surprised how many songs were familiar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VEE FOR ME, 15 Feb 2011
By 
David Lowe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first steady girlfriend was a BIG fan of Bobby Vee and she used to wind me up something wicked over her "crush" on him. Yes, I admit it, I was jealous of the fact that she lavished so much of her attention on HIM, rather than me. Secretly, though, I appreciated just how good his hit recordings were. Now, some fifty years on, I can revisit ALL those memories with a smile on my face, thanks to this excellent CD. I wonder whatever happenened to her....? DAVID LOWE (Producer~Presenter BBC Radio Devon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Takes me back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews