Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ode to Horace
I came late to the marvellous Horace Silver, O tardy me. This album and the later Song For My Father are driving jazz at its very best, Silver an inventive, endlessly questing pianist with a funky bebop style (though how superfluous such terms tend to seem now) and a way of nagging at a phrase, for example on the suitably jumpy, wittily titled The St Vitus Dance, on which...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by GlynLuke

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blowin the blues away
I attempted to purchase this item and another cd from MediaMine through Amazon in April. Neither item has arrived. They have been promised so fingers crossed I will be able to offer a review in the near future!
Published 14 months ago by Pen Name


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ode to Horace, 11 Jun 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowin' The Blues Away (Audio CD)
I came late to the marvellous Horace Silver, O tardy me. This album and the later Song For My Father are driving jazz at its very best, Silver an inventive, endlessly questing pianist with a funky bebop style (though how superfluous such terms tend to seem now) and a way of nagging at a phrase, for example on the suitably jumpy, wittily titled The St Vitus Dance, on which drummer Louis Hayes (74 at the time of writing) has some terrific moments too, an attentive, percussive sticks man with a steady beat and a mind of his own.
This date benefits enormously from the presence on trumpet of the forthright Blue Mitchell (1930-79) and undemanding tenor sax of Junior Cook (1934-92), who trade frenetic solos on Break City. All but the final, extra track are dug from the Silver mine, the languidly lovely Peace later covered by Chet Baker on a fine album of that name. It`s good, after three fairly breakneck openers, to hear the quintet relaxing into this slowish number, never forgetting to swing - they rarely forgot in those days - even with Hayes keeping a langourous beat and Gene Taylor (1929-2001) laying down a calm, minimal support on bass. Interestingly, Taylor later did bass duties for both Judy Collins and Nina Simone, also composing the latter`s tribute to Martin Luther King, "Why (The King Of Love Is Dead)".
Melancholy Mood is, unsurprisingly, another ballad. It`s none the less full of creative surprises, with Silver wresting almost Monk-like contortions from the mercurial melody.
Sister Sadie rocks like mad, the band playing in unison occasionally before one or another of the soloists has his brief say.
Horace Ward Martin Tavares Silva is one of the greats of jazz. He`s still with us at 82, one of the last of an era. This is a wonderful document by a group going at their beloved music hammer & tongs, with a couple of placid interludes for everyone, listener included, to catch their breath.
Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does What It Says On the CD..., 10 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowin' The Blues Away (Audio CD)
This is possibly Horace Silver's best front line. Certainly he seems to have thought so and with good reason. Both the ensemble playing and the solos are sharp, in keeping with the tunes. In comparison to Horace Silver's earlier and later groups I much prefer Blue Mitchell to Kenny Dorham and Junior Cook to Joe Henderson, not forgettting Louis Hayes. Each seem to me to understand instinctively where Horace Silver is coming from, let alone where he is going. Last but no tleast, I can't honestly say I prefer any one track over the others but the Blowin' The Blues Away does it for me every time. Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLOWIN' THE BLUES AWAY... CERTAINLY BLOWS!, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowin' The Blues Away (Audio CD)
Superb and exhilarating. Junior Cook's sax is for me, quite a discovery this late in the day! Gutsy sound...excellent jazz... excellent sound...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horace Silver's BLUE NOTE classic from 1959., 17 Oct 2012
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blowin' The Blues Away (Audio CD)
Recorded during August & September, 1959 this album features pianist/composer Horace Silver's superb quintet with Junior Cook(tenor sax), Blue Mitchell(trumpet), Gene Taylor(bass) & Louis Hayes(drums).
This beautifully integrated group plays 7 memorable and varied Horace Silver originals plus one bonus tune by pianist Don Newey. Highlights include the classic 'Sister Sadie', 'Peace', a trio version of 'Melancholy Mood' & the title-track.
'Blowin' The Blues Away' is an exhilarating album that still sounds fresh over 50 years later and is a must for anyone who appreciates soulful and hard swinging hard bop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver strikes gold, 2 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Blowin' The Blues Away (Audio CD)
Another classic album from the series Horace Silver recorded for the Blue Note label. You can easily dip into any of his recordings for this label and enjoy melodious, tuneful hard bop. He always composed catchy tunes and employed the best sidemen in the business. Silver can be compared with Hank Mobley for consistency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blowin the blues away, 2 Jun 2013
This review is from: Blowin' The Blues Away (Audio CD)
I attempted to purchase this item and another cd from MediaMine through Amazon in April. Neither item has arrived. They have been promised so fingers crossed I will be able to offer a review in the near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blowin' The Blues Away
Blowin' The Blues Away by Horace Silver
Buy MP3 Album7.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews