Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second in the "Pink Panther" series
Heralding the future success of two new characters - Herbert Lom as his boss, Police Commissioner Charles Dreyfus and Burt Kwouk's Cato as his valet - who made their first appearances in this, the second of the "Pink Panther" series starred Peter Sellers again as the hapless Inspector Clouseau; they would continue as integral features of future films.

Clouseau...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by RR Waller

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kato, you attacked me from a behind... hmmm
Sellars is great as the British impressionist with a passion and skill for French mimicry. If only he could catch that crazy oriental before the telephone rings. You should laugh out loud from start to finish. Also contains nudity and cars.
Published 15 months ago by Bru


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second in the "Pink Panther" series, 8 Dec 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Heralding the future success of two new characters - Herbert Lom as his boss, Police Commissioner Charles Dreyfus and Burt Kwouk's Cato as his valet - who made their first appearances in this, the second of the "Pink Panther" series starred Peter Sellers again as the hapless Inspector Clouseau; they would continue as integral features of future films.

Clouseau bumbles his clueless way through a murder investigation this time leading to a successful and stunning solution meeting Elke Sommer along the way whose beauty, of course, sways him not an inch.

Completed and premiered less than a year after the first film and full of glorious gags with Sellers at his best, ably supported by Lom's unsuccessful attempts to control him and Cato's surprise attacks to keep him on his toes, it is an excellent example of cinema humour of all kinds. A laugh (or two) a minute.

The DVD was difficult to obtain for a while but now, at under 2.00 (a cup of cinema coffee), it will provide hours of laughter. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic comedy, 14 April 2009
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The Pink Panther franchise is on the whole a very funny series but until recently you could only buy 'The Return of the Pink Panther' individually on DVD. The remaining 5 films were only available together in a boxset but I have been on the look-out for them to be released on their own as I only really liked 3 of them ('The Pink Panther', 'A Shot In The Dark' and 'The Pink Panther Strikes Again').

'A Shot In The Dark' takes off from the first movie where Inspector Clouseau was a supporting character to David Niven's jewel-thief lead character. In this film, Sellers has the starring role as Clouseau and we are also introduced to his boss, Police Commissioner Dreyfus (played by Herbert Lom). There isn't a diamond in this movie - instead we have a murder case and Clouseau has to solve it. However, Clouseau hilariously bungles each and every avenue of investigation. This drives Dreyfus mad setting the tone for a story arc of Dreyfus trying to kill Clouseau, which continues into the next couple of films. Despite his sheer incompetence, Clouseau's luck never runs out and the case is solved!

This ranks as one of Peter Sellers best films and I highly recommend it to fans of classic comedies from the good old days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic humour, 31 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
There are some awesome examples of subtle humour, such as the scene where Clouseau notices a photo of himself receiving a medal and adjusts his posture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as I remembered., 22 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Quite a slow film, particularly the first half hour. Great running gag with the police van taking away the arrested Clouseau, and the naked couple in the car caught in a traffic jam in Paris is such a classic scene that you just never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sellers and Lom go mad, 17 Oct 2009
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
What a joy to this in widescreen on DVD and on a big TV. I hadn't seen it for many many years and so previously it would have been panned and scanned on an old TV. This is the 2nd of the Pink Panther films and perhaps the best of the lot. Peter Sellers plays Clouseau. He is an incompentent French Police Inspector investigating a murder at a rich socialites mansion. A beautifully straight-faced performance by George Sanders - although if you have seen some of the out-takes!

The film is awash with brilliant sight gags, almost too many to list. Many involve Sellers, but frequently Herbert Lom. His is a marvellous performance. As the Police Commissioner, and Clouseau's boss he is slowly driven literally insane by Clouseau and probably steals the acting honours from Sellers in the process.

A special mention must also go to Henry Mancini. He wrote the famous original Pink Panther theme and here he is spot on with the music soundtrack. Many scenes are enhanced by his witty musical motifs that fit perfectly to the action on the screen.

...and I forgot to mention Cato!

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Panther film, 13 Mar 2009
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
"A Shot in the Dark" is an unrecognised classic of comedy. There are those who prefer the later Pink Panther films, but to my mind, they are just silly, non-sensical, commercial rubbish. "The Pink Panther" and "A Shot in the Dark" are the definitive Sellers/Clouseu comedies. The element of innocent comedy, coupled with the familiar faux-pax that all of us encounter, makes these films far more personal than the later films. Comedy cannot be described in words. Watch this film and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 30 July 2013
By 
M. J. Kane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Side-splitting classic. We have this on Video Tape with 'The Pink Panther' but decided to get the DVD as it's more convenient to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Shot in the Dark, 7 Jun 2013
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
By far one of the funniest in the series of films, in my opinion. Peter Sellers was one of the most popular and one of the most famous British film stars around in the sixties and seventies. A much loved actor who will im sure be solely missed by his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i just love it, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I could watch this all day!! The best of the Pink Panther films in my opinion. This arrived within days of my order and was well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HELLO, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
THIS IS ANOTHER CLASSIC FROM PETER SELLERS. IS SO FUNNY FROM THE BEGNINING TO THE END YOU CAN NOT STOP HAVING A GOOD TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964]
A Shot In The Dark [DVD] [1964] by Blake Edwards (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: 6.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews