Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An American city girl in the English countryside - not good for one's stiff upper lip!
This adaptation of a Noel Coward play was great fun. It was full of great performances from an all-star cast, and some hilarious set pieces - involving a chihuahua and the can can, and a fabulous tango from Colin Firth, but I digress.

The roaring twenties are in full flow when John Whittaker has a whirlwind romance and brings his new American bride home to meet...
Published on 14 Jun. 2009 by Annabel Gaskell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Francophile...pharmacist...floozy?"
The year is 1928, and young playboy John is bringing his new bride to his parent's country estate. His possessive mother (Kristin Scott Thomas) is fuming over the marriage and horrified to meet Larita (Jessica Biel), his outspoken, race car-driving, and slightly older wife. John's father (Colin Firth), an unhappy veteran of WWI, is the only one in the family who seems to...
Published on 4 Feb. 2010 by Kona


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 29 May 2009
By 
Lucy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
Sitting in a cinema surrounded by people twice (at least...) your age doesn't usually give a good starting impression of a film...But I thought this was truly fantastic! Laughed all the way through the first viewing and again when watched on DVD! Just a great, laugh out loud film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very English Saga, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Macdermott (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
A great, fun film! Jessica Biel, Kristen Scott Thomas, Kris Marshall and Katherine Parkinson all gave stella performances. This film has a great cast, fun narrative, brilliant direction and a spiffing setting. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a dog gone good movie, 28 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
At first I was a little skeptic. This is the standard formula movie period piece with all the standard actors and all the standard clichés and the entire standard, standards. Yes you know the end before it starts. I didn't expect to be so overwhelmingly caught up in the story and forget that they were actors and never noticed the clichés and almost sad that it had ended. Very seldom do I see a movie where I feel for the lost souls escaping captivity.

Veronica Whittaker (Kristin Scott Thomas) runs the English family estate. She is shocked to find her young son John (Ben Barnes) heir had purchased a French floozy Larita (Jessica Biel) for a wife. She is even more shocked to find out that the floozy is not French but American.

"Smile Marian"
"I don't feel like smiling"
"You're English darling fake it"

First we find that the cultures clash in a comic sort of way then we find that not only are cultures clashing but people and situations. The stories and people are too real to be an objective observer.

The basic story under the movie was adapted from a Noel Coward play written by Noel when he was 25. They saved about 30%. Also Larita was made a race car driver.

For those technically inclined I have only seen the Blu-Ray version so I cannot comment on the other versions. However the beginning of the DVD touts how great Blu-Ray is. And it looks like it has all the Blu-Ray menus and extras. Be sure to listen to the voiceover commentary.

Camille [Blu-ray] ~ Sienna Miller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
I'm very happy with my purchase, thank you :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
An enjoyable film and one I will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
Christian Philipsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
I like anything with Kirstin Scott Thomas...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must watch, 27 May 2009
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
Easy Virtue [DVD] [2008]
this is a must watch dvd it has a brillent cast very well acted and it has it all romance action murder mystery i dont no any one who would not enjoy this movie buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant comedy and a fantastic cast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
Great film but a long time arriving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who enjoys british humour, you will appreciate this film. Thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Virtue [DVD]
Easy Virtue [DVD] by Stephan Elliott (DVD - 2009)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews