Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An American city girl in the English countryside - not good for one's stiff upper lip!
This adaptation of a Noel Coward play was great fun. It was full of great performances from an all-star cast, and some hilarious set pieces - involving a chihuahua and the can can, and a fabulous tango from Colin Firth, but I digress.

The roaring twenties are in full flow when John Whittaker has a whirlwind romance and brings his new American bride home to meet...
Published on 14 Jun. 2009 by Annabel Gaskell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Francophile...pharmacist...floozy?"
The year is 1928, and young playboy John is bringing his new bride to his parent's country estate. His possessive mother (Kristin Scott Thomas) is fuming over the marriage and horrified to meet Larita (Jessica Biel), his outspoken, race car-driving, and slightly older wife. John's father (Colin Firth), an unhappy veteran of WWI, is the only one in the family who seems to...
Published on 4 Feb. 2010 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I SAY OLD CHAP TAKE A GLIMPSE AT THIS, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
I say old chap you must get at least a glimpse of this flick. Its a hoot! I can not feel enough sympathy with the leading lady who is surrounded and drowning in the british posh toffs of englands 1920s. The poor american girl is simply beside herself as she battles against the prudish tide of cutting bitchiness as well as the snobbery who life the lie being rich while in reality they are dead broke and holding on to dear trouble and strife of debt.First class film. Break out the champers old bean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely period feel, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Julie Hambleton "Caspian's Queen" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the DVD mainly because Ben Barnes, who plays John Whittaker, stars in it - I simply adore him!

I was not disappointed - the film is stylish, very funny and very English, and the period feel is excellent. Jessica Biel is superb as the lead character Larita, and one can't help but feel sorry for her as she struggles to keep afloat in the Whittaker household but finds even John, her husband, drifting away from her. Colin Firth is lovely as the detached, gentle husband/father.

The soundtrack is also excellent and I also bought the CD (something I do not usually do).

Ben is as gorgeous as ever.

Excellent British comedy - highly recommended for light, enjoyable viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fabulous inter war comedy-drama, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
I had a wet afternoon lit up when I put this film on. The story is adapted from Noel Coward's stage play but significant changes have been made especially to the main character, Larita. The cast are drawn from Britain's finest but the beautiful Jessica Biel steals every scene for me. I would imagine that the film is essentially more appealing to those who enjoy period drama and comedy. It is clever, witty and directed masterfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful war with conventions, 11 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
This is a delightful movie: funny and thought provoking concerning norms and conventions. The end was perfect, just what should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
Needed a magic wand to make it believable. NOT hilariously funny, as advertised. Kristen Scott Thomas not enjoying the role she was playing. Pretty Jessica did not belong. Colin Firth had nothing better to do when the film was being made. Admittedly it is a little tricky to present Noel Coward's arrogant and bored aristocrats in a believable light today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious with groovy soundtrack, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
At first I didn't expect this film to be that good, but I brought it as a present for someone else and we watched it together. I laughed so much and I love the way that they have modern songs put to 30's ragtime beats like 'sex bomb' and 'when the going gets tough' by Billy Ocean! Very amusing. Also like the strong and independent female lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy on the eye, 1 April 2009
By 
J. Hutchings "jjhutchings" (Framlingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at the cinema and was much taken it with. It is a typical English comedy in the Coward style, and the excellent cast has much to recommend it. Shot on location in Nottinghamshire, it would appear that great care has been taken to ensure the film's visual presence - the tumbledown house compared to the loft Georgian pile of the wealthy neighbour and so forth. Kristin Scott Thomas excels as the mother in full Maggie Smith mode - the manner in which she holds her head during the final tango is exemplary; Colin Firth as the disillusioned father gives a rather exciting edge to his performances not seen for some years; Ben Barnes succeeds as the labrador-puppy-esque son delightfully in love; the two sisters (Kimberley Nixon and Katherine Parkinson, more famous for her role in the IT Crowd on the UK's Channel 4) are well cast and give their supportive roles some weight. Kris Marshall seems an odd choice for the Butler, but it works. Jessica Biel, as the American woman who joins the family, is well cast and well matched to those characters in the film.

To the film itself, there are really quite a large number of laugh-out-loud moments (especially where the family dog meets its demise), and some slow-burning comedy moments, such as one based around hayfever, give the film a definite charm. The music is excellent, and from what I can discern, sung mostly by the cast: Jessica Biel can certainly hold a tune, Colin Firth sounds just as he did in Earnest, and 'Car Wash' and 'Sexbomb' have never sounded finer. Perfect viewing for a Sunday afternoon or autumn evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy watch, 16 July 2012
By 
Marham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
This film will not stretch your brain cells however it is an easy houmerous watch. Based on a Noel Coward play this should not surprise you. It is set in the period following WW1: of country house parties and gay (sorry to have lost the old meaning of the word!) young things. A very enjoyable way to spend 92 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 16 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film, with its VERY english witty humour .kristin scott thomas and colin firth are excellent as the parents with their sarcastic comments.jessica biel is perfect as their new unwelcome daughter in law .the can can dance is unforgettable,superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Et in Arcadia Ego, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Virtue [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful. Essential subject matter, insightful observations and superb acting and production. As much as I love Noel Coward I do think it is the irreverent Australian direction that makes Coward's play even more accessible than it might have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Virtue [DVD]
Easy Virtue [DVD] by Stephan Elliott (DVD - 2009)
£5.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews