Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2002
Once you listen to it you want to listen again and again. Even if you have not heard Thunder before it will get you rocking! Beautiful ballards and good time rock all mixed in from songs of previous albums with fantastic (and powerful) vocals. Listen and enjoy
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2003
This 1995 compilation from UK rockers Thunder serves as an effective introduction to the band's brand of classy rockers and ballads. Featuring tracks from the first three albums plus two new cover songs (Python Lee Jackson's "In A Broken Dream" and the Rolling Stones' "Gimme Shelter"), as well as a rearranged version of "Higher Ground" and the previously unreleased slowie "Once In A Lifetime", those looking for a taster of what the band is all about need look no further. The songs are all several years old now but stand up (pun intended) very well to repeated listening.
Highly recommended and a bargain at the reduced price, but if you buy this keep some pennies to one side, you will soon be spending it on the studio albums!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 January 2008
Thunder remain one of the most underrated British hard rock/blues bands. They sold more albums than they did singles, with their third: 'Behind Closed Doors' peaking at number two in the UK in 1995, the year of this CD's release.

'Their Finest Hour' is just that - it's a compilation of all their singles and selected album tracks up until 1995. Despite their songs never reaching any higher than no.18 (the single was 'A Better Man') in the charts, you'll probably be familiar with at least 'Dirty Love' and the standout ballad 'Love Walked In', the latter introduced me to the band when I first heard it on a compilation.

Other highlights include 'Higher Ground' (my favourite), the story of a man's ambition to take his girlfriend and move away from their dull and over familiar surroundings, there are two versions of this song, the one here is the 1995 re-recording. Another standout is 'Castles In The Sand', with excellent storytelling lyrics and guitar work, and a rocking cover of the soul classic 'Gimme Some Lovin''.

'Their Finest Hour' is an excellent collection of Thunder's most popular songs. If you are looking for an introduction to this band - you've found the perfect single CD here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2001
I cant believe nobody has reviewed this album yet. OK so Its not Huge in the strict sense but damn its a good album. I have all manner of rock music but If Im just wanting to swing my head while doin the dishes or hooverin the floor: you cant beat this album.. its funky rock (slightly old fashioned) but the one thing these guys have over everyother band is the slow to heavy impact without the EUCH ITS THRASH effect. (I dont mind thrash at all). But I can see how some folks out there can like - for example - Bon Jovi and hate Metallica. So If your after some simple straight forward good listenin rock music (and no I dont mean country rock) with some nice riffs and intelligent lyrics then this is the one for you. There isnt a single song on this album I hate but theres a couple I simply love..... If you get this album listen for the soft to heavy switch in "Love walked in" and "Castles in the sand" and the fantastic lyrical song "A Better Man". A wonderful album if you cant make up your mind what you feel like listening to. You will not be dissapointed I promise.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Their Finest Hour (and a bit)' is probably the best place to start if you're new to Thunder and want to see what they are like. You get a wide selection of their tracks with the now anthemic `Love Walked In' and `Castles in the Sand' to an excellent cover of `Gimme Shelter' which I actually prefer more than the original. Thunder have a slightly eighties rock feel to them (although they were bigger in the nineties) and if you like that kind of `big hair' rock but with a more updated feel, then this is the CD for you. You get plenty of great riffs, heavy rock (but not quite metal), good vocals and an all round feel good album. You can't ask for much more and this is a summer favourite for me every year.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Not only is this a good mix of Thunders finest, but they are still rocking and still putting it out there for everyone to listen too. 2015 saw a new album and tour and 2016 promises more of the same. I have been fortunate enough to meet Ben & Danny in the past and they remain down to earth and very approachable.
Treat yourself , your worth it and so are THUNDER !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Good, down to earth, non pretentious rock music, melodic, harmonic, great riffs, vocals, and superb lead breaks...although excellent thought In a broken dream..was crying out for a blistering lead break..but perhaps better like that...cause made me listen to it great band, cant wait to see them next month in Nottingham.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
This is a great CD, loads of quality tracks. I have always rated this band highly after their being blown away at Donnington's monsters of rock festival in the 90's, they have a great range of high caliber back catalogue songs most of which are on this CD and should have been a much bigger band than they are!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
I only heard of this group for the first time when they supported Whitesnake and Journey at the MEN Arena in 2013, and I thought they were the best act of the night which inspired me to buy this greatest hits album. I just can't get enough of this group now.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Disc is a must for any Rock fan! Thunder were an understated group in the late 80's and 90's, all the favourites are on this disc and some that are not so well known but equally as good!

Great Album, would recommend to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)