Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gary moore- wild frontier, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
this in my opinion is a classic by gary moore with irish rock being a focall piont throughout the album. my particular favourite as it was the album that got me into gary moore and love listening to it still. "thunder rising" is a great rock song both vocally and guitar/songwriter wise as is "take a little time" a brill song! i like his take on the easybeats song"friday on my mind" its a great version of a great song. definatly an album worth remastering, just a shame too repeat certain tracks again and not have more quality songs in place, my only critism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden oldie, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
What can you say about Mr Moore?,great album from start to finish.If your looking at this to buy then you should already know what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good at the time but has not aged well., 21 April 2007
This review is from: Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
This is another milestone in Moore's rock solid history. Throughout his career he has chopped and changed genres frequently making him such an exiting guitarist.

This is one such episode where the obvious celtic feel is prominent reflecting his mood from revisiting his native ireland and the untimely death of the great Phil Lynott.

The Wild Frontier Track was originally written for Phil Lynott to share vocals which sadly never came about, Over the Hills is a very clever well put together song and probably the only that that stood upto and warranted the over-production. Wait a little time has 'Billy Idol' stamped all over it (Moore made no secret of admiring him at the time). The loner is an instrumental which liked by Many but too tame for Moore. Friday on My Mind is Pants and should not have been on the album. Strangers in the darkness a slow ballad with a dark undertone. Thunder Rising is Moores rendition of Lizzys massacre and johny Boy is a moving tribute to the great Phil Lynott.Crying in the shadows is a great ballad which originally missed of the vinyl reflects Moores ability to cover all the styles.

The rear of the Album said simply ' For Philip' and was a sound tribute in both style and content.

The Album sound reflects the over-production and myriad of instruments and drum machines which Moore does not need.

This is probably the least played Album in my GM collection prefering either the harder rock stuff from previous 3 albums or the later blues ~(and later powered blues).

A great album full of great songs but has not aged well owing to the over-production which so many artists suffered from at this time.

A quote from Don Airey about Moore hits the nail on the head ' He is such a talented artist bursting with ideas with so much drive and ability that it cannot be contained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars immense, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
always been a gary moore fan so had this cd before but lost and now have replaced thankyou,will listen to this again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present.., 30 Jan 2012
By 
Angela "Ange" (Stanley, Co Durham...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
Was bought for my Sister to give to her husband as a present, as far as I know it's great and well received!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of Gary, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild frontier (Audio CD)
The best album he wrote in my opinion. Had a copy many years ago that got lost in numerous moves so thought it was about time to revisit the "Wild Frontier". Not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary goes back to his Celtic roots., 8 Aug 2000
This review is from: Wild frontier (Audio CD)
Believe it or not this album contains five singles, 4 of which made the UK top 40. From the excellent cover version of "Friday on my Mind" to "Over the Hills" (which gives Big Country, Runrig and all those other Celtic Rock outfits a run for their money), to "Thunder Rising" to "Johnny Boy" this album is how Celtic Rock should be played. If you don't have this album already but it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Moore's best albums, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Jan Patrik Sahlstrøm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Gary Moore at his very best. Moore's guitar skills have never been in doubt, but not all his tracks contain more than fancy guitarwork. This album has the songs to match Moore's guitar skills and the result is brilliance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good artist, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
got this for my coll
i was happy with the album well put together
and i tell other people about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gaelic rock-out from Lizzy sideman back on home turf, 15 Jun 2003
This review is from: Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
I never did buy Gary Moore's reinvention of himself - canny though it was - as a bluesman: he was always a hard rocker of that most fabulous seventies kind: big boots, tight jeans, mullet, foot to floor style of playing.
Here we find him in pretty much his last incarnation on the wild frontier before crossing the great divide into sell-out land, where history records he would go on to pretend he *still* had the blues, despite scant evidence of ever having had them in the first place.
On his way to the Wild Frontier, Gary Moore found himself at a cross roads: certainly, Heavy Rock wasn't just for hard men on motorbikes anymore - Bon Jovi had seen to that - but nor was it necessarily for a solely white audience either: Moore and his producer were clearly cognisant of the change ushered in by Aerosmith's collaboration with Run DMC on "Walk this Way" - alas all it culminated in during this session was a fairly lame rap remix of his excellent Easybeats cover, "Friday On My Mind". I suspect the remix hasn't made it onto the CD. No great loss.
In other ways Moore was returning to his Irish roots - there is a definite Gaelic feel to the cover of Big Country's "Over the Hills and Far Away", the title track, and "The Loner", the last of which is an instrumental for the late Phil Lynott of Thin Lizzy. Alas, it comes nowhere near the outstanding "Parisienne Walkways" which Moore recorded with Lynott before Lynott's death, but which you won't find on this album.
In any case I think this return to the roots was a good thing - certainly much more bona fide than the blues "renaissance" he would subsequently experience - and it sets this record apart from most of the others that were coming out at the time.
Wild Frontier has elegant cover art, too - or at least would have but for the prominence of Gary's ugly scowling mug and his decidedly unconvincing balled fist.
In any case well worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Frontier
Wild Frontier by Gary Moore
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews