Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Police at their top, really uncertified!
While the official 4 CD/DVD box suffers from over production and correction of the sound, this DVD is as close as one can get to The Police, including the mistakes.
Being a limited Brazilian release in the grey area -and thus not listed in the official releases-, and obviously with a limited budget, the 2 channel audio mix is somewhat poor. However, image and sound...
Published on 14 Oct. 2009 by Karel Van Isacker

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good police dvd, some flaws though
it has only stereo 2.1 sound
4:3 aspect ratio

I bought this due to the low price and it is good value for money. Not the best gig in the tour, that is probably the Certifiable DVD (much better sound production and 5.1 surround, plus a better performance by the band). Nevertheless the sound production gets better as the DVD goes on and it is a good buy...
Published on 12 Aug. 2009 by enanitogrunyon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good police dvd, some flaws though, 12 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Police Live In Rio (2007) (DVD)
it has only stereo 2.1 sound
4:3 aspect ratio

I bought this due to the low price and it is good value for money. Not the best gig in the tour, that is probably the Certifiable DVD (much better sound production and 5.1 surround, plus a better performance by the band). Nevertheless the sound production gets better as the DVD goes on and it is a good buy altogether, representative of the tour but if you're looking for the best, then buy Certifiable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Police at their top, really uncertified!, 14 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Police Live In Rio (2007) (DVD)
While the official 4 CD/DVD box suffers from over production and correction of the sound, this DVD is as close as one can get to The Police, including the mistakes.
Being a limited Brazilian release in the grey area -and thus not listed in the official releases-, and obviously with a limited budget, the 2 channel audio mix is somewhat poor. However, image and sound are crystal clear.
A perfect item for every avid Sting/Poice fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to this three-man show., 22 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Police Live In Rio (2007) (DVD)
Yes,The Police 07 live show does'nt possess a tenth the energy of their early 80's peak.Song structures are messed with in order to be a little more vocal friendly.The mix is chased around for two tracks.I could nitpick all day,but the truth is this dvd is an honest representation of where The Police are now and that is a good place.Their musicianship is much improved,Stewart's drumming is more controlled,Andy is given more room to shine and Sting has mastered his gadgets and dumped his double bass,backing vocalists and brass section(thank God).With a set-list most bands would kill for it seems they have one thing left to prove,new material.It seems Sting's got something in common with Stan Laurel-neither were meant to be a solo star.So come on Sting,give your loyal fans what they really want-a follow-up to Synchronicity.Oh yeah,BUY THIS DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect...but still enjoyable..., 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as I enjoyed the Certifiable Blu ray very much as I am a long time Police fan. Overall it's a good DVD, it's not widescreen so you get what looks like you're viewing an old TV program on a modern television.

The sound is decent enough...the compression on the mix is a little heavy here and there...but I've heard a lot worse. Picture quality is a bit grainy, put me in mind of recording stuff off the tele when we had VHS recorders....I did find the ever present 'multi show' logo in the top left of the screen a bit annoying. The biggest bugbear for me by far though was the fact that the sound and image are slightly out of sync, the sound seeming to be ahead of the image, most noticable when watching Copeland's drumming, it's not a massive issue and seemed worse at some points more than others.

This is a more honest presentation than the Certifiable concert, with a few mistakes and vocal gaffs present that were 'fixed' for the Certifiable release, in my opinion all the better for it, I'd rather hear a few mistakes and know that's what happened on the night rather than a perfect 'airbrushed' performance.

So, all in all...some issues but I'm not unhappy that I bought it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good gig - must have for Police fans - despite RUBBISH 'MULTI-SHOW' PRESENTATION, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is good to have the Police performing as a 3 piece and this DVD is essential for any Police fan - certainly worth getting, and the four stars here are for the performance. But there are irritations that potential buyers should know about. The first is the rather poor sound quality - particularly with respect to Andy Summers' guitar on the early tracks - although this does improve as the concert progresses. Connecting the DVD player through my hi-fi made the sound acceptable. The other thing is the poor presentation: no menu at all on the disc - there is a list of tracks on the case - which means that you have to scroll through from the beginning if you want to access a later track. Most irritating of all, however, was the ridiculously large, distracting logo of the manufacturer 'Multi-Show' which remains in the top left and corner of the screen throughout the entire programme and - as if that wasn't annoying enough - CONTINUALLY BLINKS!. I, for one, will be avoiding any DVD produced by 'Multi-Show' in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really like this. A few people complained about the mix ..., 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like this. A few people complained about the mix being a bit odd but I really like the more live rawness of it and it is most noticeable during the first track which is pretty common at gigs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like the police it s good to see again that ..., 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the police it s good to see again that fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Police Live In Rio (2007)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews