Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I was almost put off by a lot of hype trying to connect this film to Bollywood in some way which wouldn't have really been my cup of tea. What Danny Boyle has achieved here, however, is a stunningly vivid and touching film all about ordinary people which should translate to just about every country and culture in the world. A well deserved barrel load of Oscars and...
Published on 26 Aug. 2011 by Shrewlord

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BOB GELDOF, EAT YOUR HEART OUT
Bizarrely-improbable plotting that expects us to believe that every question asked by a quiz-show host would exactly and directly relate to the life of a contestant, such that he would have no problem answering any of them - despite his lack of formal education. (Like sitting an exam and finding all the questions are just and only the ones revised for in the past year!)...
Published 5 months ago by Robert BUCKNOR


‹ Previous | 123 24 2530 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The mind's the measure of the man., 19 Feb. 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a cleverly arranged biopic of an ordinary young man from the slums of India, he exceeds all expectations on a gameshow and is suspected of cheating - however, we the audience get to share some of Jamal's life experiences to understand how he came to know the answers to the questions asked of him.

Slumdog Millionaire tackles head on the prejudices we have about those who grow up in destitution. Those who live in the lowest social orders are often dismissed as second class to the rest of society. But here we see the triumph of a young man driven by love and his strict moral beliefs.

We get a very personal story of three young children who share experiences as they grow up together and reunite at various stages of their lives. Jamal is one of those children, and so is his brother. The two take on very different directions in life, but ultimately they and their third musketeer Latika, determine the fate of each other.

Doyle shows us what seems to be a very real portrayal of India - the side we rarely get to see, and it is filmed with compassion for the people who live there. This means that we don't get constantly dark and depressing shots of impoverished slums - instead we get to see the people and share their humour. The surroundings don't overshadow the human stories, they simply set the scene and help us to understand why those from the slums always encounter resistance from those who are more wealthy or educated.

The origins of a person's life doesn't determine the value they can bring to the lives of others. Education doesn't always equal intelligence and whether someone is brought up in a slum or an affluent city-block - they are still capable of having integrity and feeling love, though some may find it more of a struggle than others to exist from day to day.

By the end of the film you know that it doesn't matter to Jamal whether he wins the jackpot or not, there's another prize he wants to win and she is all he cares about. That is what stands him out as superior to all those who looked down on him because of his background, and by those who exploited the innocent desperate many who wanted to better themselves. Jamal outshines them all not because he stands to chance to win an amazing sum of money, but because he is in every sense, a good man.

The Soundtrack is by A. R. Rahman who is the man behind many a Bollywood score, and with the backdrop and story of two brothers - this is reminiscent of the `80s Bollywood genre. If you haven't watched a Bollywood film before but feel this has given you a taste of something you fancy, then try one of the many modern Bollywood films with a western feel, these will bridge the gap and ease you in to the Bollywood scene, for example; Lagaan, Dhoom (or Dhoom 2),or Krrish.

In a nutshell: This is a heart-warming film that isn't too scared to show us the dark side of slum-life and for every laugh there's a moment of sympathy. This isn't a film about a boy from a slum who goes on a gameshow - this is a window into the life of a young man, and we get a privileged view of his past where he had choices to make - and he always decided to make the choice he felt was the most morally just.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it a hit? Ask the audience!, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
What a marvellous film!

To be honest, I wasn't expecting to like this very much but I was curious, given all the publicity. There is actually something a little bit dishonest about its marketing from which you might easily think this was a bit of feelgood whimsy, a Bollywood Mamma Mia. Well, it's nothing of the sort.

In fact, this is a very gritty and raw epic - the comparison with City of God which several reviewers have made is a good one. At times it even feels like an Indian Scarface. There are some harrowing scenes of torture and mutilation - yet it all feels very realistic and the story is totally compelling.

Even though you can spot how the stucture of the film is going to work early on (the central character knows all the answers on Who Wants to be a Millionaire because each question happens to coincide with something vital that has happened in his life), there isn't a wasted moment. Your eyes are glued to the screen throughout.

If I have a solitary criticism, it is that the final multi-million rupee question seems a little easy - but it fits the plot so cleverly that you don't mind!

Certainly not a piece of fluff - a meaty, captivating film you will remember for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely satisfying but enjoyable nonetheless, 21 April 2009
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
In the year that Spielberg's "Saving Private Ryan" was nominated for the Best Picture at the Oscars, it lost out to "Shakespeare in Love",- a decent film but the best of the year? Probably not. The fact the "Slumdog Millionaire" took the same accolade in the year that "The Reader" was nominated conjures memories of Spielberg missing out a few years ago.

It isn't that Slumdog is a bad film, far from it in fact. It is an enjoyable film with much to admire, the acting is decent in the main, the story holds the thrall and there are plenty of messages both hidden and explicit about poverty, social class, greed, love and loss but the film struggles to find an identity! It's a little too much of a mixed bag, it's a comedy, a drama, a romcom and a gangster film and the sum of these parts is better than each element on its own. The film's comedy is not actually that funny, the drama is not very dramatic, the gangster elements are less than threatening or cold blooded and as a romcom it leaves you feeling a little cold.

Nevertheless, it is still an enjoyable film, it is original in its ideas which in itself is something of a refreshing change, the direction is slick from the ever reliable Danny Boyle (although again, he won an Oscar but was it the best of the year??? I'm not convinced) and the film is vibrant and colourful.

Maybe this is film represents the coming of age of the Bollywood New Wave and heralds it as entering further into the mainstream and thereby being less of a new wave. It is a very "nice little film" but will it be spoken of in years to come with the same reverence as some of its predecesors as Best Film Oscar winners such as The Godfather, Schindler's List, Manhattan, The Sting, Crash or One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest to name a few or will it mentioned in the same breath of vague memory as Shakespeare In Love.

I fancy that it will be the latter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars over rated, 17 Jun. 2009
By 
V. L. Bunney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
I am not going to waffle on about the story line if you are silly enough you can watch it your self. This is a vastly over rated and boring film that insults your intelligence and is not worth the entry fee. Marketing wins over quality almost every time and this is not quality entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
I was bitterly disappointed with Slumdog Millionaire. Having heard about all the rave reviews, awards etc I couldn't wait to get my hands on a copy but frankly I found it very dissatisfying. The plot was a brilliant idea and the way the young lad had 'learned' his answers to the Competition's questions very inovative and entertaining BUT the soundtrack was often difficult to make out either because it was of poor quality or I had difficulty understanding the Indian accent. OK - so there were fixed subtitles (as opposed to the ones you can normally select) - but this was not what I expected or liked. I feel sure that if you are lucky-enough to understand the language you will enjoy the DVD so very much more. This DVD was not for me, I'm afraid. It was not what I had envisaged at all. I await the release of The Boat that Rocked and hope fervently that it is an improvement! The Boat That Rocked [DVD] [2009]
Incidentally - as far as the supply and delivery of the item goes, it was faultless and the DVD arrived ahead of time and very well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 19 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched this on channel 4 so luckily didn't spend a penny apart from the elctricity and 2 hours of my life. That alone is enough to get me angry. I feel like the boy in the movie who is covered in dung. This is truly awful, never in the history of entertainment has so much hype been fostered on one movie. Any idea that an Oscar is a reflection of merit has been demolished. Surely Van Damme must be next to win the coveted award?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream gloss over of a much more gritty and troubling topic! Slumdog is pure disney!, 24 May 2010
By 
C. J. Rymer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
Slumdog Millionaire has like many of the negative reviewers commented on been called 'feel-good', and I recall seeing the poster in my local Odeon labelling it a 'romantic-comedy'. Why this film fails is not just because of the contrite truly amateur acting or in its ridiculous rags-riches cliche predictibility, but in its portrayl and truly fictious outlook on slum life. The fact Boyle creates such a gloss with his cinematography and editing over the few bits of mainstream grit found here (really? people thought the torture scene was that disturbing :-/). Slumdog merely dwells on an optimism which I truly detest considering the subject matter. Take any Brazilian film about slum life in the favela's and you will know what I mean. The 1980's film Pixote is an extremely graphic but completely realistic depiction of life on the streets without the hollywood wash over. In that film our young 10-year old protagonist deals drugs, accidentally kills people and becomes involved in a life so embroiling in sadness that it will move you more than anything this hollow wreck could offer. It also has the truth, that in Pixote the child actor playing the lead would be killed several years later living the gang and crime life he had tried so much to avoid. So out of respect avoid Slumdog Millionaire for all its worth. Depends how you like your films though I guess...:-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 9 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
I must say, without fear of being cynical, this is truly one of the slowest films I have ever seen. The plot is stretched at best and (to add insult to injury) the supporting woman in it is more wooden than a clothes peg, making this a must-miss movie. There is no doubt that the sheer concept of a film, such as 'Slumdog', is a brilliant idea...however, the director did not see it the way a lot of critics, such as myself, have seen it and made it in a slapstick fashion, cutting corners anywhere he could.

Subsequently, this film did not deserve eight Oscars. The music is average, the directing is poor and the plot is dull and predictable. Seriously, what are the chances of a boy from the slums escaping when his mother and every other person is slaughtered, only to become obsessed (to a stalker-esque extreme) with the weakest character in the film before getting separated from her THREE TIMES and finally living happily ever after (with his selfish brother, turned good, dead from a shootout with some organised crime group)??? It's a Disney fairytale ideal with no hint of realism and a storyline slower than a corpse in a footrace. Utterly ridiculous!

However, it is not all bad...after all the film is only two hours long...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I will keep this short............, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
How this film won so many awards is beyond me. It was so boring it even sent my glass eye to sleep. Avoid like the Plague....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Release Date, 20 April 2009
By 
P. Collins "Paul & Piper" (Melbourne, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well done U.K distribution companies, this film is already out in the USA, and it's been online to download since it came out in the cinema. I want to buy this film but can't at the moment in the U.K because? Anyone? Anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 2530 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slumdog Millionaire [DVD]
Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] by Loveleen Tandan (DVD - 2009)
£2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews