Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I was almost put off by a lot of hype trying to connect this film to Bollywood in some way which wouldn't have really been my cup of tea. What Danny Boyle has achieved here, however, is a stunningly vivid and touching film all about ordinary people which should translate to just about every country and culture in the world. A well deserved barrel load of Oscars.
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by Shrewlord

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Slumdog Millionaire" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc...
Never did understand why this harrowing and at times horrible film was peddled on us as 'an uplifting' tale. It isn't.

However if you're a fan - note that the ‘US’ edition of the BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which most aren't).

Buy the UK...
Published 4 months ago by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 123 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UNSATISFIED, 7 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
No satisfaction on this request to purchase and no response to e-mail through Amazon for advice when item to be received. Refund claimed as no confidence that seller will supply. Will not use this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars faulty, 1 July 2009
By 
C. W. Thomas (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this item and it wouldn't play on our DVD players sent it back and received another copy which kept freezing - this was returned and we didn't order a third copy. The service we received from Amazon was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 73 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars vastly over rated, 24 Feb 2009
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
described as the feel-good film of the year!! This film was a vehicle for unrelenting and unnecessary violence. Very uncomfortable viewing and definitely not feel-good. I know some people will say that that's life but I certainly do hope not!! Do not go to see it unless you are prepared to sit through a couple of hours of aggression and child mutilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish dont waste you money buying it, 18 Dec 2009
By 
M. Speight "book worm" (uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
This must be one of the worst stupid films we have watched how it won any awards is beyond us,it does not portray the real mumbai as we know it the film was childish no real story
and no thought given to the script we are amazed they were allowed to release it and call it a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slumdog Millionaire, 1 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
The dvd appeared to be scratched in several places and did not play the whole way through after the first two times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not play, 29 Jun 2009
Tried it in a few blueray machines and it will not play.
I gave it one star because it would not let me continue without a rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don`t waste your money, 20 April 2009
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
All I can say that this is a hyped up mediocre film which proves what a farce the whole Oscar business is.
It is a crude Bollywood type gangster film which carries no message other than how easily it is to control public lack of taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EXTREMELY overated film, 23 Feb 2009
By 
C. T. DUNCAN "Craig Duncan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
A classic example of an extremely overrated film. Predicatble, badly acted, under stated issues and a mish mash of overly present soundtrack (prob with CD sales in mind). Mediocre direction and flimsey unbelivab;e story line attaching itself to notions of 'destiny'.

Straight to DVD because the distributers thought so too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slumdog millionaire, 24 July 2009
By 
M. Chappell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately I have not received this item, purchased on 21st June 2009. My emails have been ignored and I would like someone from amazon to contact me soon with regard s to making a complaint about the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fails to play on Sony BDP-S300, 14 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This BD fails to play on my Sony BDP-S300 (V3.7). Sometimes it says 'loading' and the loading bar fills again and again (still going after 5hrs!) Sometimes it reaches the settup menu but selecting 'play movie' immediately crashes the player which powers down and starts up again. Twenty other disks play fine. Attempts to update the player (only 1yr old) have failed so far. A second disk behaves similarly. Anyone else had this problem - is it a faulty batch, or just not compatible?

PS - I have now updated the BDP-S300 to V4.9 and Slumdog Millionaire plays! So not a faulty batch, but confirmation that some Blu-ray disks really do not play at all on players bought only a year ago without an upgrade, a situation that seems incredible and unacceptable to me (and others - one person even calling for a 'class action' against Sony), as upgrading is not a simple process, required the installation of recent Nero software capable of 'burn image to CD' (not just file transfer) which in turn called for an upgrade to Windows XP - all of which took several hours in total. Then it does not proceed quite as Sony say it should - though help is available from others on the Web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slumdog Millionaire [DVD]
Slumdog Millionaire [DVD] by Loveleen Tandan (DVD - 2009)
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews