Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fun, but a little bit unequal in difficulty
I've finished the game a few days ago, and I must say that it is awesomely fun. You never get bored by a single moment of the game, and I really recommend it to fans of the Devil May Cry series. Graphics are impressive, music is nice (if you like the style ;)), and the gameplay is rich enough to always give you some new ideas to destroy your enemies in a new way. I also...
Published on 21 April 2010 by E. Cron

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not great
It feels like a rip off of the Devil May Cry series... Only less playable for some reason. Couldn't sit through 20 minutes at a time of it. I'll be trading this one in soon...
Published 16 months ago by Stephen J Bannister


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the top, ludicrous, insane and the first great game of 2010, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. P. J. Pears "Eternal Solar" (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bayonetta does not start subtle. Beginning with the titular main character falling on a plummeting clock face while angelic monsters swarm around her the game starts straight away with you battling them off with four sets of guns attached to each arm and leg. It's a fantastic opening scene and the Bayonetta piles on the steam from there.

Straight out of the mind of Hideki Kamiya (Devil May Cry, Viewtiful Joe) Bayonetta is very much an evolution of Devil May Cry, basically if you enjoyed that or any similar action game (Such as God of War) then Bayonetta will pull you in and not let you go with a much more exciting/fast-paced combat system then any other action game in its class. Fantastic graphics and gorgeous creature designs give the entire game a wonderful look and feel plus the playful references to other games (Sonic and Outrun among others) add to the funny jokes and provide a surprising amount of laughs.

Gameplay is fast paced and also very liner with the game following a similar patter of 'move forwards, battle enemies, solve environmental puzzle, fight boss' but it pulls it off with such style and intensity that it can become hard to keep up with the insane action on screen as you loop through combos, jumps and dodges. Speaking of dodges, pressing R2 at anytime (even during combos) causes Bayonetta to somersault out of the way and doing this at the last moment causes 'Witch-Time' slowing down time allowing you to smash in some hard-hitting combos. This handy feature turns battles more into a dance as you leap and somersault out of the way before turning the tide on the swarms of enemies with rapid strikes from any of the several unlockable weapons.

On Normal the game lasts about 10/14hours depending on your skill level but there are many unlockables and you can start the game on either of the two harder difficulties with all your items, weapons and the like from the first play through. A large and rewarding unlockable art gallery, many hidden bonus stages, online leaderboards and hidden upgrades and items reward multiple playthroughs which makes this game on the whole, good value for money.

The music is a mixture of crazy J-Pop, Blues and massive dramatic choir music which can be a bit hit or miss at times, voice acting is...okay (very stereotypical and campy but fitting with the zany actions of the characters) the story is likewise a bit hit or miss, largely disjointed and forgettable (yet there are many cut-scenes which try to tell it) the story does however take you to some incredible battles against two headed dragons, massive floating angelic monsters, cardinal virtues and others. The game is hard and will push your reflexes however a competent 'continue' system allows you to push forwards and learn from mistakes without giving into rage and frustration.
One point that should be made clear is that this is first and foremost an action-fighting game; if you don't enjoy this sort of game then Bayonetta is not for you. Also the story as mentioned isn't really a major plus either. Plus the camera can also at times make it hard to see what is happening on screen(particularly in the final battle) and there can be some console slow down (but nothing on the level of the PS3 version)

Overall Bayonetta is a superb game, a game so ludicrously over the top and drunk on itself its hard not to hum along with its remix of 'Fly me to the Moon' as you slash and hack through the angelic hordes. If you are a fan of Kamiya's other works or just want to try something that could only be made in Japan then you should not hesitate, this is the first great game of 2010.

+ A fantastic, fluid and responsive combat system
+ Unique and evocative art style
+ Some of the best boss battles around
+ Great animation and graphics
+ Rewarding of multiple playthroughs
+ Delightful, insane and wonderfully fun

- The story is all over the place and largely forgettable
- Some slight camera issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Near masterful, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Easily platinums best . If they didnt just shove a lot of sexual stuff all over your face then this would have been a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SO. MUCH. FUN., 22 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you're looking for a game with a deep story, characters you can truly bond with, and a surprisingly complex subplot... Then this is definitely not the game for you. If however like me, you've been playing a lot of games which swallow up your day and get you so immersed in the story you lose track of time, you might need a little break from the serious stuff and have a little play on something a little more light-hearted. I picked this up after a recommendation from a friend, and I have to say I am not disappointed. If it's not the (extremely) over-the-top action, hilariously implausible cutscenes, over-emphasised sexiness on Bayonetta's behalf which leaves many a character and player gawking at the screen, it's the addictive arcade-style intro's to several missions which take you breaking the sound barrier on a motorcycle Ghost Rider would be envious of to riding a missile into a metropolis while gunning down an assortment of Heaven's bravest angels. Honestly, there is no real way to describe this game without playing it, but the finishing moves will see you dumbfounded and wanting to replay them just to see them one more time. A particular favourite of mine see's Bayonetta play volleyball with a rounded enemy. But before you've even realised it the humour has made way for edge-of-your-seat action that will keep you hooked and completing the game in one long playthrough if you don' allow yourself sleep.

Addictive, hilarious, limitless fun the likes I've never seen in a video game before, and definite replay-ability if you're brave enough to take on Hard Mode. Definite 10/10 from me, going down in my Hall of (Game) Fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Witch time...., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a game that does not take it self seriously which is a good thing. From the same stable as Devil May Cry you should have an idea of what to expect big bosses, big battles, big weapons. The plot barely makes sense but what matters is the fast paced action, amazing action sequences, great battles and fantastic finishing moves thanks to Bayonetta's weapons and abilities. It also finishes with fantastic dance number from the cast of characters what more could you want? Ooh did i mention Bayonetta wears a catsuit made from her own hair and many of her special moves involve her getting nude..... Overall a good fun game with a rather unique female lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faster paced devil may cry, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It has the manga-esqueness of the devil may cry series with a dollop of camp added in. There are more combos with a faster paced combat system. While devil may cry has harder difficulties such as hell and hell, bayonetta is a lot more kinetic. Great fun, nice and silly with challenging gameplay. Those who are not as experienced can stick it on easy and button mash and get just as much pleasure out of it. I can guarantee that you will laugh at some of the moves that can be accomplished.
There are a few pervy points in the game but all I can say is oh Japan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not great, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It feels like a rip off of the Devil May Cry series... Only less playable for some reason. Couldn't sit through 20 minutes at a time of it. I'll be trading this one in soon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Suprising, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A wonderfully smooth, ingenious, addictive, fun, well-made game.
Right from the start, this game hooks you in and invites you to wreak awesome carnage on a massive variety of highly detailed creatures.
You'll never be bored, with the fact you can perform seamless combinations of attacks, and flips, with your body, guns, or exclusive weapons!
One of the highlights of this game, for me, was that between loading the chapters, ( of a pretty compelling storyline ) you can move freely, and do near enough everything you'd be able to do, if you were in the chapter.
I loved the fact that when you dodge an enemy, you gain "witch time", which is a few seconds where you can potentially 'make or break' in the combat.
If I were a straight male, I would like this game about 10x more than I do. Strange I know, but if you've played this game you'll understand that she is some HOT pixels. Very, very sexy.
The only thing that I would consider a drawback, but it's not necessarily a fault, is the fact there are SO many boss fights. It just got a little silly for me, but may be a contributing factor to those who like endless boss fights, the endings of these fights were something I looked forward to, based on how she ended their existence, it was very interesting.
All in all this game was a wonder to play, it contained many unique selling points that you wouldn't get in any other game. I highly recommend this game if you want to spend a good minimum of 15 hours on a FUN game, that does have a sense of playback ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 3 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Game of the generation by far. If you like this you should get platinum's other games; vanquish and metal gear rising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Platinum Game, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Platinum Game create a beautiful game like never see, one beat them all very funny end awesome. Buy it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 16 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bayonetta (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
amazing game by sega and platinum, awesome gameplay, hardcore environment all in all a perfect game for gamers and also cheap my score its 10 on 10 obviously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bayonetta (Xbox 360)
Bayonetta (Xbox 360) by Sega (Xbox 360)
15.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews