Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best hip hop album in a while
Refreshing, Ingenius, Simply amazing. Those are the only words that I can use to describe Deltron 3030. If you are sick and tired of the same old reused base lines that you find in most of todays rap songs then this is definetly the cd for you. Also track 2 on the cd, the 7 minute one, is quite possibly the greatest and most innovative rap song that I have ever heard in...
Published on 17 July 2001

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars completely different to any thing that you've heard before
For those of you who know Dan the Automater's work this wont throw up any surprises, experimental,strange,and a little self indulgent. There are some incredible moments on this LP(the first proper track for instance)Which produce amazing atmospheric soundscapes, but as with all concept albums can be a bit of a chore listening to it all the way through. This album is set...
Published on 7 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best hip hop album in a while, 17 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
Refreshing, Ingenius, Simply amazing. Those are the only words that I can use to describe Deltron 3030. If you are sick and tired of the same old reused base lines that you find in most of todays rap songs then this is definetly the cd for you. Also track 2 on the cd, the 7 minute one, is quite possibly the greatest and most innovative rap song that I have ever heard in my entire life. The whole album is awe inspiring and is deifnetly worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It!, 26 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
For everyone out there who has forgotten that hip-hop can be fun and inventive this may just make you remember; it did for me! There's no gangster-wannabe rappers here, just fresh ideas and clever production. Not every track is a killer (in my opinion), but overall the album is a worthy investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great lp in its own right, but maybe more sci-fi next time, 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
"The year is 3030, and here, at the Corporate Institutional Bank of Time, we find ourselves reflecting..." And Sir Damien Thorn VII is correct, in a way. In an original and clever move on behalf of Dan 'the Automator' Nakamura and Del tha Funky Homosapien, they have set this album in the far future. This is perhaps to be free of the confines of contemporary hiphop, or maybe so that Deltron can discuss the planet's issues in retrospect, having witnessed another World War and Damon Albarn's ascension as a God of Rap. But for whatever reason, here there is an oddity; half concept album, half surreal sci-fi adventure, I am still unsure as to what Deltron wanted to accomplish. The tracks themselves are definitely up to scratch- '3030' provides a perfect start to the voyage of The Cantankerous Captain Aptos, with swelling orchestral pieces combined with Dan's musical talents and Del's MCing placed firmly in the sci-fi camp. Followed later by 'Positive Contact''s jumpy beat and that song that tells us that we upgrade our grey matter- good advice, surely. As the album continues, slightly more downbeat styles present themselves, such as 'Madness' and 'Mastermind'. Still, I cannot help feeling that it was a missed opportunity: It was such a good idea! But no matter how much skill Deltron lay onto this album it still seems as if it would not be too different if they had just set it in 2000: the ironic adverts of the future (track 3, for example) would just be replaced with ironic adverts for today's world. Nevertheless it is still a success, and deserves to receive rapturous applause from those that appreciate this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deltronic supersonic, 16 Sep 2005
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album, i never really thought an unbased concept album could be any fun, but with del's aggravated rhyming (very much reflecting our present state as well), dan's smooth as soap production and kid koalas scratching the trio bring to life the fantasticly dystopic future in their album. Basically if you like del, this is his best album, and you might even catch a glimpse of the gorillas crew when damon albon appears on a few tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish it was 3030, 2 Dec 2004
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
Wow, this is a true hi-hop album, no fake gun , just good rhymes and good beats. I tend to be very wary of concept albums but this one realy shines through, the production is stunning and the lyrical content is superb. the only thing letting it down is the number of interludes but it does give the album more structure. So if you are a REAL hip-hop fan go out and buy this NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want y'all to meet Deltron Zero, and Automator..., 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
I was getting a bit tired of similar hip-hop beats and generic rap stylings, until one fateful day I heard a tune by Gorillaz. Now I discovered that their album was not out for a while, so a little browsing discovered the unique and incredible world of the Automator. As is mentioned over and over, this album is set in the future, and, whether it is because of this or not, it is an excellent selection of tunes. Del is a grand rapper and lyrisist, he flows really well and shows creativity in his futuristic lyrics, while the Automator provides some superb production. It may not all sound incredibly striking or exciting, but upon listening to this album properly, I discovered it is a well-polished machine of music. It's a nice break from most of the generic tunes, and gives a glistening example of how talented these people are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh yes please!, 8 Dec 2004
By 
M. Esq "eleuthranaut" (the Original York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
it's not the year 3030, but who cares?? this is amazing, it's kinda like the Gorillaz before the gorillaz, but more hip-hop and better, so good in fact i even crashed my car to this album! really!! created by Daniel tha Automator, scatched by Kid Koala, occassionally sung by Damon Albon, & Beautifully rapped by Del tha Funkee Homosapien, definatley one for the heads (& people who like good music too!), so don't hesitate as long as i did, it's already been out a couple of years, buy & enjoy like a new toy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IN A WORD ....... UNIQUE, 11 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
WITHOUT DOUBT ONE OF THE MOST ORIGINAL HIP HOP ALBUMS OF ALL TIME, WITH THE MOST CONSISTENT MC IN THE GAME, DEL THE FUNKY HOMOSAPIEN & THE MOST INNOVATIVE PRODUCER OUT THERE, DAN 'AUTOMATER' NAKAMURA AND NOT FORGETTING KID KOALA, THIS COULDNT REALLY HAVE BEEN ANYTHING ELSE. STAND OUT TRACKS FOR ME WERE '3030' ALL SEVEN MINUTES OF IT! AND MASTERMIND... WITH AUTOMATER AT HIS BEST. MONEY WELL SPENT IN MY OPINION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic really., 26 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
To the guy from York... Kid Koala is Canadian. But they're basically a colony anyway.
Track 2, 3030 is an awesome tune that begs to be played really loudly. And its a shame when the 7 minutes are over.
Actually the music is os good everyone should buy it. But the interludes are damn irritating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The beats, the beats, the beats!, 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
Well, to put it simply; this is one of the best produced HipHop albums of all time. Dan is the man, and goes along way to prove that Dr. Octagon's classic status was not just down to Kool Keith.
The theme on the cd is quite loose, believe me you will not buy the cd for the storyline. Del, is very much on point throughout the cd with that unique style of his and does very well laying down the story behind 3030. Though, the star of the show is Dan the Automater, the beats on the cd are just brilliant. The main difference between him and other producers is that he knows how to build tracks and flip them half way through e.g Madness.
Beatwise this cd is untouchable and overall is at least 4.5/5. One of the best of albums of the year, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deltron 3030
Deltron 3030 by Deltron
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews