Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TOASTER!
We decided on this toaster after ages looking for one that did everything, and could toast slices of bread the size of Denmark, evenly. However, all these things are a compromise, and we thought this was best compromise. It has been brilliant. Fairly even browning, fairly quick, great to look at, and we are delighted. We had a problem with one bank of toast slots...
Published on 21 Jun. 2011 by andy

versus
84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let down!
Although not normally prone to writing reviews, the public needs warning about this one. We had the previous Avanti model, which was great, but it had to be replaced after an accident. This new model is a cheap plastic version of the previous one. The black that you see in the picture is a thin flimsy plastic, whilst the levers are silver painted plastic. Yes it makes it...
Published on 11 July 2012 by Ms G


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let down!, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
Although not normally prone to writing reviews, the public needs warning about this one. We had the previous Avanti model, which was great, but it had to be replaced after an accident. This new model is a cheap plastic version of the previous one. The black that you see in the picture is a thin flimsy plastic, whilst the levers are silver painted plastic. Yes it makes it light-weight, so light-weight that if all four slices pop at the same time the toaster slides across the counter. Also, the high-lift function is ineffective and one side is already non-operational after seven weeks. It's one plus point - it toasts!

This product is an over-whelming disappointment after having its predecessor for several years. I would buy tefal again, but not mail order, or at least not until I was confident of the quality of the materials used in production. At 20 paces it looks fine, but does not stand up to close inspection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TOASTER!, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
We decided on this toaster after ages looking for one that did everything, and could toast slices of bread the size of Denmark, evenly. However, all these things are a compromise, and we thought this was best compromise. It has been brilliant. Fairly even browning, fairly quick, great to look at, and we are delighted. We had a problem with one bank of toast slots failing, but I emailed Amazon on the Monday, they replied to the effect that a new one was in the post, and by Wednesday we had it in the kitchen and working. They also arranged for the old one to be collected free of charge. Fantastic service! Well done Amazon. If you buy this you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 8 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
Good design, has two sets of slots with independent temperature control. Also has extra levers to push up smaller items so that they can be extracted easily, however these are somewhat flimsy. looks smart in black, and is easily cleaned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Toaster, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
I had a two slice Tefal for years & it was brilliant so I thought I would replace it with another one only this time a 4 slice. The quality of the toaster was really poor compared to the old one which was really solid but I didn't mind too much. After six months one side of the toaster completely stopped working & soon after the raising lever on the side which still works got all jammed up so now I can't get my teacakes etc out. Even for a relatively cheap toaster one would expect it to last more than six months, disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Toast of the Town?, 23 Jan. 2011
By 
wabrit (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
For something whose function is so simple, it's remarkable how many duff toasters I have bought over the years. Usually the problem comes down to one of inconsistency; the dial may offer several settings for degree of toasting, but the effect varies depending on what you are toasting and how recently you last used the toaster. There are high-end products such as the Dualit 4718 but unless your pockets are deep you may find the idea of paying over £150 for a toaster somewhat beyond the pale.

The Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 is not in the very highest price bracket, but at £50 there is the expectation that it will perform a lot better than the cheap models.

Having used this for a few days I would say that the strong points are:

- The design allows you to see how the toasting is going without having to risk singed eyebrows.
- Having two pairs of slots with independent temperature control allows you to mix and match different items that need different degrees of toasting.
- Extra levers to push up smaller items so that they can be extracted without burning your fingers or (worse still) sticking something metal into the toaster to extract them.

The only major downside for me was the fact that the slots aren't quite big enough to take the standard large loaf that you can bake in a bread machine. Other than that I would say this is definitely an improvement over the lower end models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reasonably happy, 1 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
goods arrived quickly.. and as described
same as every other toaster I have ever bought.. as it seems to "do" one side of the toast more than the other
also.. slots not long enough to fit in full size slice of Warburton's loaf without cutting off the ends
other than that reasonably happy with the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 19 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
At first I thought this toaster was great. Then after 3 weeks the left arm stopped working and so now I only have half a working toaster. I am in the process of getting a refund. So my advice is if you are thinking of getting this toaster............don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish quality, 28 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
Having read the 1 star reviews I decided to take a punt on this toaster any way. I was wrong to do so. The individual slots are not that deep so the top of the toast does not 'toast', the slots are not that wide so you are unable to put the bread slices on their sides to compensate for this. As for the evenness of the actual toasting, well, if you like your toast dark brown on one side and lightly warmed on the other then this is the toaster for you...
Other reviews have mentioned the quality of the levers, they are correct, they do indeed feel cheap.
This toaster will be returned and a refund sought, its a shame and rather surprising that Tefal are selling a toaster of such pore quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black One !, 19 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent toaster, very quick even toasting. Had I known about this item before I would have bought it earlier! Much apprecition to the makers of this fine toaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Toaster Con, 6 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Tefal Avanti Classic 532718 Toaster - 4 Slice - Black (Kitchen & Home)
I know the toaster I recently purchased is a Tefal , however ; the quality of the materials are poor, it does not toast the bread evenly on both sides . A bit disappointed - I suppose you pay for quality and on this occasion Tefal has a range of poor quality products for the bargain hunter!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews