Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Science-Fiction classic on DVD at last
My old VHS tape can now rest in peace, at last we have a widescreen DVD version of Logan's Run with remastered sound.
It's one of my favourite movies of all time. It has a great fast moving story, lots of beautiful people intent on living their alloted 30 years to the full but living alongside a darker underclass, the cubs, and an underground movement that helps...
Published on 27 Sept. 2008 by I. R. Kerr

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life clocks are a lie! Carousel is a lie! THERE IS NO RENEWAL!
Life clocks are a lie! Carousel is a lie! THERE IS NO RENEWAL!

In the year 2274, Earths citizens live in a contended state. However, to keep the populace balanced, all citizens are sentenced to death upon reaching 30. Naturally not all citizens are thrilled by the idea and take too making a run for it. Enter the Sandmen, chosen specialists trained to hunt...
Published on 15 April 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 14 5 613 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logan's Crawl, 13 July 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Logan 5(Michael York) lives a seemingly idyllic life within a domed city. He has a good job as a Sandman, now and again having to hunt down and kill 'runners'. Runners are those of 30 years and over whose life cycle has come to an end. Another way out is to report to Carousel, where individuals are renewed, by being reborn in fire. Then Logan's world is turned upside down when he meets the free spirited Jessica 6(Jenny Agguter), whilst the discovery of possessions on a runners corpse leads to a mission that he has no choice but to undertake, as his life clock has been accelerated. Logan is now a runner, and he sets off with Jessica in search of 'Sanctuary' purued by his one time friend Francis(Richard Jordan).
This is a film full of fascinating ideas and concepts. It's in the execution of these ideas that it comes unstuck. It is a film that relies heavily on symbolism, but sometimes becomes mired in its own moralising when it should have been concentrating on moving the plot along. I'm a big fan of 70's conceptual sci-fi cinema, but this simply doesn't do it for me.
There are compensations however. The film is a visual delight, theres a great experimental electronic score by Jerry Goldsmith and York and Agguter make a very engaging partnership. The dystopian society portrayed as live for the now with no regard to the future, as its all taken care of with rituals carried out blindly by the populace is an agreeably sinister concept, but in director Anderson's hands it all gets just a little bit dull.
So a guarded thumbs up from me. Its all a bit of a missed oppurtunity in my opinion however. 3 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logan's Run, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
MarkusG "Markus" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Logan's Run had premiere about the same time as Star Wars, which it seems to have been eclipsed by. And you can see why: the aesthetics is more old-fashioned futurism and the special effects are cruder, despite being a big budget film. But Logan's Run is still an interesting film worth to see, especially if you're interested in SF.

It takes place in a post-apocalyptic future where the remaining humans live in a city under a dome. We don't know how many generations have passed and it seems like they have entered a kind of post-history. Everybody is focused on entertainment and shallow pleasures, and the dome feels like a huge shopping center. So these future humans are one-dimensional and don't think outside the box. To ensure material wealth, people are executed when they reach 30, and this is done as public entertainment called the Carousel. The legitimating ideology is that those executed in the Carousel are reborn, so the infants are given names of the deceased.

The scenario in Logan's Run is actually quite interesting. In the aerial views of the city it can be seen that it is a small scale model, but I don't think that is a problem. The problem is the second half, when Logan decides to flee the city. This part is unbearably tedious, and the ending is uninteresting and unrealistic.

The transfer of the DVD is ok, I watched it on a projector without problems. There are also some extra material that I haven't looked into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fare, often copied, never bettered., 20 Jun. 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This film has intrigued me since the day I saw it. I think I subconsciously compare every other viewing experience to it in some way or another. I'm sure the visuals had a hand in it; perhaps laughable by today's standards, nonetheless, they presented clean sleek lines echoed by contemporary movies like Rollerball and imitated by others such as the Island. The lavish vista of a utopian society, the origins of which are never really explained, seems to hit the mark with me somehow. The obvious class structure, shown in the scene where Francis bumps into a passer by is testament to the underlying tensions brought about by the different classes. Logan's apartment and decadent lifestyle should say something about our own carefree throwaway society. It's as if the story is telling us were on a downward spiral to destruction with none of us knowing or caring where it will all end. The dialogue is fine as are the action set pieces. The movie is really about a moral dilemma and the search for the truth rather than showing the viewer sci-fi. Thankfully the action isn't confined to plastic sets and the many outside shots work wonderfully well. Logan's realisation of what his society has become is damning and I found his effort to bring it to an end gave the movie a satisfying conclusion. It reminded me of Planet of the Apes but Logan, at least, has something to smile about at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run Blu-Ray (Blu-ray)
great film ,ive been trying to get this film for a while and finally got it it at a great price . arrived early and in excellent condition .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jenny Agutter naked? Yes! Peter Ustinov hairy? Check! Michael York young and lean? You got it!, 14 Aug. 2011
By 
G. Chung "chungking888" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Logan's Run is set in a post-apocalyptic future where human beings lead a hedonistic life-style involving lots of orgies and wearing dodgy toga-type clothing. The one minor problem is when you reach 30 years of age you have to go to Carousel, an arena-type stadium, where you find yourself floating up in front of a baying crowd and basically exploding to death. Obviously some cats aren't too happy about this and decide to escape this fate by running away. This is where the sandmen come in (basically the enforcers of Carousel whose one great advantage is they get to wear neat black uniforms instead of a bedsheet) and start hunting down runners blasting them to death with equally neat guns which make a "BWAP" sound.

Logan (played by Michael York) is one such Sandman who finds himself having to infiltrate Sanctuary because the master computer has prematurely aged him to 30 years.

That's about it really but the film really is good. You've got Michael York looking young and thin (and amazingly he still looks the same 30 years later) and you've also got Jenny Agutter taking off her clothes (again). What more can you ask for?? Peter Ustinov looking hairy? Yes ... it's got that too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last its on DVD., 19 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I saw this excellent Sci Fi film when it first came out and enjoyed it immenseley.The story line is good and the acting is first class. The last part of the film with Peter Ustinov is a hoot. The special effects showing Washington DC in ruins could not be faulted. All together a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars clasic logan, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [Blu-ray] [1976] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
honestly I don't think I have ever seen this classic in such fine quality, theres a little grain but completely expect it from a movie of this age. Simply put its great quality for a great film. if it wasn't for the grain it would be a 5 however if I could id give it a 3.5 cause of grain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sci Fi, 1 July 2009
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This is a classic piece of work & stands the test of time, even if some of the effects are a bit wobbly !

The young Jenny Agutter in a wispy green dress is extremely easy on the eye and was one of my first ever crushes !

Brilliant story that hardly strays from the book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great escape of the future, 15 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
It has been 30 years or so since I last saw this. As a mere teenager it had a long-lasting impact on me. Getting to age 30 always struck me as end of (young) life ! I am glad to say that having made it past 30 that life is good, if not better than twenty-something! This movie is an underrated classic. I watch it now without the trepidation from when I was 14. The film is about young men and women enjoying themselves until they reach 30 when they are called to carousel... which is a ritual for so-called renewal but basically kills them off. Logan 5 (Michael Yorke) is a sandman who terminates 'runners', people who want to live beyond 30. He finds the truth that no one is renewed and he himself goes on the run. I seem now to be watching alot of the scenes in the film with new eyes. I don't remember many of the scenes. This is a highly enjoyable film, Michael Yorke is a fine actor and he definitely makes the film watchable. So if you like futuristic films this is a great film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A scifi colt movie, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Logans run tells a story of a possible future where people are created by design, A myth call, "sanctuary", the system wants to find this place. Logan is programmed to find it and bring the information back. If you like a sci-fi with a great story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 613 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logan's Run [Blu-ray] [1976] [US Import]
£5.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews