Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars125
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2005
I've had a few listens through now, having got my copy a couple of days early (thank you Mr Post office!)
This album is definitely a more mature production from Robbie. Songs that grab you straight away - Make Me Pure, The Trouble with Me and Advertising Space, which has a definite U2 influence. Then the songs that take a couple of listens like Tripping, Ghosts and Sin Sin Sin.
The influences of Robbie's upbringing near Manchester and that of Stephen Duffy are evident in a lot of the album with an 80s beat particularly strong in Sin Sin Sin.
This is heading to be one of my favourite Robbie albums, his voice has improved and the song writing has definitely improved. He's not missing Guy Chambers at all. Even if you've never liked Robbie before, give this one a go.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2005
I've got this album from downloading the files that have been on mr. williams website for the past week or so.
So lets have some facts from someone who has never met Robbie, or is not connected with the media
- Trippin is confidently the worst song on this album
- Stand out tracks: the opener Ghosts, A Place to crash and Make Me Pure
- The humour is still there
- This is diffrent from before. If you imagine the change from Sing when you're winning to Escapology... its a similar one again. From poppy to more adult MOR. And it works.
- Robbie Doesn't need Guy Chambers. For the first time each song is genuinly diffrent. A lot of guys songs seemed to cover the same themes.
- The World will be reminded how brilliant Robbie is at what he does. He will never be a totally serious musician, in the frame of my other Musical Love, U2, but what he does do, he is the best at doing. Whilst he is generically slightly diffrent, he is very similar to Michael Jackson.
Now stop reading and go and enjoy.
Dave
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2005
A decent effort from Robbie but it just does not jump out at you. There are some good tracks:
Nake Me Pure
Sin Sin Sin
Ghosts
Tripping
but nothing spectular. ON the other albums there is at least one mega hit, but most of this is just safe ground. the album drags on and the tracks are average and do not stand out. a bit dissappointing.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2005
robbies back with an amazing new album i do believe this is his best album ever. instead of it just being a collection of songs like the past albums its an album that seem to tell a story. good work robbie deffiently your best work yet... go buy this album people.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2005
Wow, those reviews are interesting, you cant have heard the album properly before its even released... and besides, dont all the best albums get better with time? What I've heard of this album so far is really good, some of his best songs yet with a definate increase in originality. I watched him live in berlin last night and he blew the whole crowd away with new material, he had the audience in the palm of his hand... surely something that can only be done by such a rare talent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 August 2011
At £1.26 this is an incredible bargin. At normal album prices I can see some thinking about whether or not to buy it. This is an album that seems to follow the pattern of many of Robbie's albums with some songs that really stand out and others that either don't impress or actively annoy.

I am not hugely impressed by the impact of Steven Duffy on Robbie's direction. The issue is not the song writing, it is more the production of the tracks. The production first verse of Tripping feels as if it was dreamt up by a teenager on a keyboard. It is distracting and the music changing from that point shows how much better the song could have been. The music on Random Acts of Kindness is extremely repetitive and completely annoying at times. The swearing on The Trouble with Me feels thrown in there to cause a reaction rather than adding to the song (e.g. Your Gay Friend).

On the other side there are some really strong songs; Advertising Space is one of his best songs overall, not just in recent times; Your Gay Friend is a real grower; Ghosts, Tripping and Sin Sin Sin also perform well.

If it was purely on the music this would be a three star album, I sense it is going to divide opinion. The low price of it gives an extra star automatically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2005
what a fantastic piece of work!the man has every reason to be very proud of himself i know i would be.The album is an eclectic mix of songs ranging from the reggea beats of trippin to the mellow sounds of advertising space.I hope everyone will now eat their words because he has managed to evolve and re-invent himself and come back with an even better sound.Long may he reign as the king of pop.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2006
I came to this album objectively having been impressed with some of Mr Williams more recent outputs like Escapology, however I was hugely disappointed - and that disappointment only increased on further listenings (the wife is a fan!)
Some of the more thoughtful lyrics might well have been bearable if it wasn't for the completely substandard tunes that turn this into a collection of 'B-sides I'd rather forget'.
I would like to recommend at least one song for further listening but to be honest there is nothing redeeming about this album. This once likeable northern hero seems to have developed a case of self-obsession, false modesty and an arrogant assumption that he can churn out any old drivel and peaople will buy it - ah, it's sold in shedloads - what do I know!
Still, next time something for everyone, eh, Rob?
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2005
Intensive Care is once more a new sound from Robbie, no two of his albums sound the same and this album fits well into that legacy.
There is calmness to this album that the others lacked and while this can be interpreted as a bad thing for Robbie I can find no fault. The album is beautifully conceived and constructed and thought there is less diversity to the tracks the core of the album is strong and fulfilling.
I can't pick a favorite song from the album, but Sin Sin Sin, The Trouble With Me and Advertising space stand out to me as the most 'Robbie' like in terms of lyrics and his cheeky but poignant commentary. Tripping and Make me pure are not the sum total of this album, but they are two superior tracks.
This album has very quickly become one I love to listen to; at work, in the car or at home. For some it maybe an album that grows on you, but listen to the album as a whole, not each track as a separate entity, and the Robbie we all know and love is defiantly apparent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2005
This is definitley a hit! Once you put this in your CD player you wont want to take it out!
Me personal favourites are "Make me Pure", "Advertising Space", "A Place to Crash" and "Your Gay Friend", but every song on here will have you hooked. Well done Robbie. Can't wait to see you on tour next year :o)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)