Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach for a buck!
This CD must represent the best value for money of any item in the Amazon catalogue: four Bach concerti at less than a pound a piece! Not only that, but what you have here is the English Chamber Orchestra playing Bach AND they're being conducted by Daniel Barenboim. If that isn't enough for you, the soloist is Itzhak Perlman. That's right, for less than...
Published on 23 Mar 2006 by DocMartin

versus
8 of 182 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I've turned my back on Bach
I used to be a huge fan of Bach, bach in the day, but ever since hearing Stravinsky, I can't get bach into it. It's really bachward in comparison. Try listening to every Stravinsky record, bach to bach, and you'll see.
Published on 30 Aug 2006 by JO Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach for a buck!, 23 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
This CD must represent the best value for money of any item in the Amazon catalogue: four Bach concerti at less than a pound a piece! Not only that, but what you have here is the English Chamber Orchestra playing Bach AND they're being conducted by Daniel Barenboim. If that isn't enough for you, the soloist is Itzhak Perlman. That's right, for less than pound a piece! (for those of you outside the sterling zone, that's a tad over one dollar/one euro each)
Assuming you're still reading this, rather than adding the CD to your shopping basket I could add, in a nonchalant yet triumphal manner, that the jewel in the crown comes at the end when Pinchas Zuckerman joins in for the Concerto in D for Violin and Strings (the “Double Violin”), one of my very favourite pieces of music. So, for less than a pound a piece, you have a great composer's great work, a great orchestra under their greatest conductor and two of the 20th Century's greatest violinists who invariably make a whole that is greater than the sum of its parts. So that's great - why aren't you clicking on the shopping basket?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!!!, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Listening to the perfomances on this CD is like drifting on a big fluffy cloud. Itzhak Perlman plays the violin with warmth and gentleness, without being boring - far from it! And the collaboration between Perlman and Zukerman on the D minor pieces is just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for the ears,mind, and soul, 13 Jun 2006
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
fresh, lively, up-front, open and honest - and with no distortions or mannerisms masquerading as 'interpretation'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars warm and lively, 12 April 2014
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
If your ears have become accustomed to "historically informed performance," then this might strike you as a bit too warm -- the orchestral texture is heavier than I ideally like, but you can still hear the harpsichord, and the tempos seem right for the music. The balance of the solo instrument in relation to the orchestra is very well judged too, so there's no sense of artificial highlighting. I assume that Perlman plays the solo concertos, with Zuckerman joining in for the double. He plays beautifully, and the slow movements in particular are eloquent, and yet one never feels that they are over-sweetened. There's a wiriness to Perlman's tone that is most attractive, and the focus of the playing is so precise that there's no question of "expression" being applied too thickly. The Double Concerto is a great success, again with a most lovely slow movement, but with real bite and energy in the final one. The solo concertos are well-known, of course, except perhaps for the G-minor, which had to be reconstructed from what seemed to be a keyboard piece. It's very lovely as played here by Perlman. So . . . if you get a chance, add this one to your collection, even if you prefer a more "authentic" sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super Barenboim, 9 April 2014
By 
C. Lloyd (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
This was to replace a much loved but lost DVD. A very good quality recording and masterful conducting by Barenboim brings out the best in Itzhak Perlman. Sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Itzhak Perlman and Bach with Daniel Barenboim, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (MP3 Download)
Wonderful combination. The music is brilliant and the interpretation is superb. Add to that the superb Kindle Hi-Fi quality and its hours of wonderful music,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL TIME CLASSIC, 14 Dec 2013
By 
G. Bernard "cafemania" (whetstone london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (MP3 Download)
I have been a fan of Itshak Perlman, a legend violinist. Bach 's music is my favourite. Glenn Gould played Bach 's variations at top level while Perlman with his violin.
This Violin Concerto he collabarated with another great violinist Pinchas Zukerman, conducted by the renowned Daniel Barenboim, what else can one asked for more. My CD is getting old so to download all the pieces and keep Them itsn my hard drive.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My daughter-in-laws favorite composer, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
I gave this to my son and his wife and they both have said how much they have enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Bach, 7 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. Ian Gillibrand "A dreamer" (Cornwall.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Bachs violin concertos are in some respects not the best known of his huge output but on this evidence they are unjustly neglected.I am a recent convert to classical music generally but having hugely enjoyed the more celebrated violin concertos by Bruch,Tchaikovsky and Mendlessohn this collection goes alongside theirs as favourites in my collection particularly to gorgeous concerto in G.
Hugely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect performance with not a really great interpretation.., 5 Feb 2008
By 
Sue (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bach: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Perlman is a violonist whose perormance is regarded as standard when it comes to Bach's works; in this album however, I was a bit disappointed of finding what I would expect in that the whole work sounds rather classic than baroque.
also, the orchestra seems to be a bit axcited of having Perlman as the violinist (!!?) as you simply can't hear the orchestra as it's always in the background. This gets quite annoying when it comes to question and answer parts between the violin and orchestra or when it's the violin who should be rather in background.. but that's a matter of recording I should think..

but in general,you still, no doubt, can enjoy the perfection of Perlman's performance, if you're not fussy about different interpretations of Bach's works..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Violin Concertos
Bach: Violin Concertos by Itzhak Perlman/Pinchas Zukerman/Daniel Barenboim
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews