Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afro genious
This is the first (and only so far) compilation album by Soul II Soul covering their amazing career from 1989's Club Classics to 1990's A New Decade and 1992's Just Right.It takes off with the smash hit (no introductions needed)"Back To Life" which is still regarded one of the best R&B records ever.The more mellow "Keep On Moving" is next followed...
Published on 19 May 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok
Published 3 months ago by Craig and Yvonne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afro genious, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
This is the first (and only so far) compilation album by Soul II Soul covering their amazing career from 1989's Club Classics to 1990's A New Decade and 1992's Just Right.It takes off with the smash hit (no introductions needed)"Back To Life" which is still regarded one of the best R&B records ever.The more mellow "Keep On Moving" is next followed by the sophisticated rap of "Get A Life" and the haunting melodies of "A Dream's A Dream".It's pure soul on "Missing You" , "Move Me No Mountain"(the weakest track in the album) and "Just Right" before it gets a bit more clubby with "People".Soul II Soul's first record ever "Fairplay" probably invented mainstream 90's R&B and the only new track on the album "Wish" is yet another winner.The album ends with the latest Soul II Soul Top 5 hit "Joy".All in all,the album certifies Jazzie B. for what he really is:a R&B/soul genious and while his music has lost its commercial appeal it certainly keeps getting better and better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great collection, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this after hearing Back to Life and remembering how much I liked Soul II Soul back in the day. This is a great collection of songs: funky beats, amazing vocals and they even included Jazzie's Groove ("The future for Soul II Soul? A happy face, a thumpin' bass for a lovin' race. Peace.") The only thing I don't like are the three remixed tracks tagged on at the end. The other 12 tracks are happy grooves and will send you to work with a smile on your face if you listen to them on your morning commute (at least it worked that way for me!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music, good memories, 22 Oct 2011
By 
Soul II Soul, led by Jazzie B (still one of my fave DJ's) started life as a sound system, and playing at classic London venues like 'The Africa Centre' (Covent Garden) & 'The Fridge' (Brixton).
The first track on the album is the HUGE number 1. hit, 'BACK TO LIFE'. This track was massive and really sounds fresh today. The Caron Wheeler vocal, over the infectious hip-hop style beat, i still love this track. Track 2 is the equally soulful & impressive KEEP ON MOVIN', features Ms. Wheeler again on lead vocals. much more down tempo, this is a great summer track. Track 3 'GET A LIFE' has Jazzie B delivering a smooth rap style vocal, with a funky bassline, and a great chorus (sung by kids!), sounds really superb. Other stand out tracks on this album are track 9, 'FAIRPLAY' with Rose Windross on vocals, which i heard dropped in a bar not long ago, and the dancefloor went wild! Track 12 is 'JOY', with a great soul vocal by Richie Stevens, and the horns offer a great hook!. This cd also gives us a remix of 'FAIRPLAY' (see above) by The Ethnic Boys & 'BACK TO LIFE BONUS BEATS' reconstructed & mixed by Louie Vega & Kenny Dope.

This is a great collection of very good music.

Peace out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to life, back to reality!, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must-have album for R&B fans. As soon as I saw the cover, I recognised it straight away. I'm in the middle of buying up old albums I had at very reasonable prices and this just blew my socks off. Fancy finding it here!

There can't be many people who don't know Soul II Soul, but if you don't, they were huge in the 80s/90s. Much stuff of theirs is based on sampled other records with new vocals. Every track is beautiful to dance to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I think it fair to say that 1988 to 1993 was not classic period for great music but this band are certainly an exception, 28 July 2014
By 
Ian Tandy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd was an absolute bargain. I remembered Soul II Soul and a handful of their hits. I think it fair to say that 1988 to 1993 was not classic period for great music but this band are certainly an exception. There is not a dud track in this collection and the consistent quality is remarkable. Listening to this music you can hear the soundtrack for commercial dance music for the next decade. A very influential and talented band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
HECTOR (luton, beds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still got great soul and atmosphere-old school :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories Re-kindled, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really bought this cd to re-kindle old memories of the funkin nineties which it has done to some extent but I guess you can never perfectly re-capture the past and all that it meant to you at the time but this is still an album worth purchasing if you were ever into Soul II Soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An all time favourite, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic album and has been an all time favourite FOREVER! Great for chilling out to - lyrics a really positive and full of good sentiments about people. Makes a great change to put it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Soul 2 Soul, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It maybe their greatest hits, but if you have never heard their music - invest! One of the best, if not the best, British R&B group ever to come out of the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hadn't heard any Soul I I Soul for too long, really enjoying having it in my collection, thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews