Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect introduction to Bowie's best period
This album is a perfect introduction to Bowie's most interesting and, in my opinion, his best period. This really is an intoxicating stew- Here we have plastic soul (Young Americans, Can You Hear Me), Krautrock-influenced rock-funk (TVC15), heart-stopping balladry (Wild is the Wind), electro-pop (Sound and Vision) and avant-garde guitar noise (check the startlingly weird...
Published on 28 Aug. 2007 by Steve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Terrific,some average ,some terrible!,,
After track 11 it's hard to be a saint in the city ( a pretty good Springsteen song) the next few tracks are really weak . What have they done to john I'm only dancing on this and why? Knock on wood Awful too . Wish I'd just stuck to cds I've got of his and compilation I have too .
Published 15 months ago by Speedy at


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect introduction to Bowie's best period, 28 Aug. 2007
By 
Steve (By DUNDEE Scotland) - See all my reviews
This album is a perfect introduction to Bowie's most interesting and, in my opinion, his best period. This really is an intoxicating stew- Here we have plastic soul (Young Americans, Can You Hear Me), Krautrock-influenced rock-funk (TVC15), heart-stopping balladry (Wild is the Wind), electro-pop (Sound and Vision) and avant-garde guitar noise (check the startlingly weird guitar solo on Boys Keep Swinging). There's even a great version of Knock on Wood, from the coked-up David Live. To be honest, after getting into this stuff, Bowie's glam period, great as it is, just sounds a little conventional in comparison, mainly because the late 70s saw Bowie experiment with different procedures for making music. For instance, Sound and Vision has no vocals for almost 2 minutes (very unusual for a pop single), and on Boys Keep Swinging, Bowie instructed the musicians to swap instruments, giving the song a suitably shambolic, teen-punk feel. 'Chance' procedures were also employed on Low and Lodger through the influence of Brian Eno.

All of the albums from the period are well-represented, except Low, (which is his best album, so you should own it anyway). Although some of the tracks are edited (TVC15, Young Americans, Heroes, Golden Years), this doesn't matter, because if you come to this album as an introduction, never having heard the originals, you won't notice this anyway. In fact, Heroes and The Secret Life of Arabia (another gem) actually sound better than on the "Heroes" remaster, which has a thinner mix.

The only stinkers are It's Hard to Be a Saint in the City, which is pretty dreadful, and the disco version of John, I'm Only Dancing, which is actually rather enjoyable in a camp, Bee-Gees kind of way;) One thing's for sure, Bowie was never less than interesting during this period, whether or not his experiments came off successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of 1975-1979: David Bowie - Bowie provides us with sound and vision, 9 Jun. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is the second in a trilogy of albums anthologising David Bowie's output since 1969. This does an excellent job of collecting all the hits up until from 1975 to 79, essentially collecting in one place the important recordings with which he consolidated his reputation. This was an inventive and productive era for Bowie, during which he underwent several stylistic changes and so there is no one `sound' that characterises this album. Suffice to say it is track after track of catchy seventies pop.

While I feel Bowie's albums of this period are a bit uneven, this set manages to give all the essential hits while cutting out some of the filler you would inevitably end up with if you collected the albums. A great way of getting Bowie's big hits from the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These were truly his golden years!, 11 Feb. 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This great compilation reflects my favourite Bowie period, the middle to late seventies. Drawn from the albums Young Americans, Station To Station, Heroes and Lodger, it covers his "plastic soul" excursion, the Thin White Duke period and the three albums of synth experimentation. The sequence of tracks is odd - I think a chronogical one would have made more sense. My favourite tracks from Low are here: the sublime Sound & Vision and the ominous Breaking Glass, of which the latter inspired Nick Lowe's brilliant song I Love The Sound Of Breaking Glass from 1978. Station To Station, in my opinion the best ever Bowie album, provides the energetic TVC15, the classic soulful Golden Years and the wistful ballad Wild Is The Wind, but a serious omission has been the magnificent Word On a Wing, one of the greatest and most poetic Bowie tracks of all time with its transcendent spiritual quality, its inspired lyrics and soaring melody. Fame and Young Americans, the "plastic soul" songs, still sound good after all these years, especially next to the disco version of John, I'm Only Dancing. I don't find some of these tracks from Heroes, like Secret Life Of Arabia or Beauty And The Beast, as memorable as some of the other songs here, but I love his cover of Knock On Wood and of course the title track of Heroes remains a landmark composition, one of the most psychologically trenchant songs of all time. Artists as diverse as Blondie and Nico have covered it and I still listen to the German and the French versions on vinyl. To me, Lodger was the least satisfying of the trilogy of Eno albums, but Boys Keep Swinging still swings after all these years and I remember its dramatic video clip from 1979. I consider this his most creative period based on the sheer quality of songs such as Sound & Vision, Breaking Glass, Heroes, Golden Years, Fame, Young Americans and Wild Is The Wind. That's why, although I regret the omission of the breathtaking Word On A Wing, I have awarded this album five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some Terrific,some average ,some terrible!,,, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After track 11 it's hard to be a saint in the city ( a pretty good Springsteen song) the next few tracks are really weak . What have they done to john I'm only dancing on this and why? Knock on wood Awful too . Wish I'd just stuck to cds I've got of his and compilation I have too .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Filled the gaps!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a fan of David Bowie for years, I was so let down by the Young Americans album apart from the title track. and i stopped listening to what followed. This CD has enabled me to get the tracks i like from the albums i did'nt have, even an outtake from "Station to Station".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost great., 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good selection from the crucial period after Bowie ditched Ziggy. Most tracks are the best from the relevant albums, but could have done without the live "Knock on wood" and the Lodger tracks for "V2 Schneider" from Heroes and more from Diamond Dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie CD, 19 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent - arrived promptly and is very good quality. I would have no problems in recommending this item and this service to other buyers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars david bowie, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the good ones on this cd.Better value than changes as it had several more tracks on it.Cant knock David bowie even now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the main man of music, 23 May 2013
By 
R. Reeves "roysie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Bowie at his best if you want all the classics get this cd and the other two in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars no complaints, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I choose this rank because I think that service is fast and good, but pack of the item is used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews