Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best just got better!
This is one of the best PSB albums but it wasn't until I got all 6 of their rereleased albums that I realised how excellent they all are! This new packaging and new CD with plenty of unreleased or unreleased on CD tracks takes the biscuit. For all those people out there who reckon the PSB have been off the scene for many a year, you'd do well to revisit all their old...
Published on 5 Jun 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Remastered 2009
When CD arrived my first thoughts were that it did not sound right. I have only one other CD being "Ultimate" plus a handful of other songs by the PSB. Therefore it was one of disappointment when I first heard it. However after several listenings it started to grow on me so much so that I liked all the tracks in equal measure. I subsequently put it aside for a few weeks...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by M. Walker Paul Charles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best just got better!, 5 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This is one of the best PSB albums but it wasn't until I got all 6 of their rereleased albums that I realised how excellent they all are! This new packaging and new CD with plenty of unreleased or unreleased on CD tracks takes the biscuit. For all those people out there who reckon the PSB have been off the scene for many a year, you'd do well to revisit all their old material, and bring yourself bang up to date. They are one of the most successful bands in the UK even now. They may not make a song and dance about it, but then, they never did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best just got very much better, 10 May 2001
Very is by far the greatest pop moment of the Pet Shop Boys career and now it is coupled with a second CD of fantastic rare and previously unavailable tracks making this CD highly collectable for the fanatic or casual listener alike. Highlights of the bonus disc include a previously unreleased 12" mix of the number 2 hit Go West and a demo of "Falling" which the duo wrote for Kylie Minogue. Go on treat yourself its worth every penny for CD1 but CD2 should throw you right over the edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Verr Remastered, 11 Feb 2009
This review is from: Very (Audio CD)
Neil Tennant is a musical genius and this is my favourite - its funny, tender, perceptive and has benefited from the remastering to make it smoother in terms of continuity. If you haven't bought it yet then go ahead, perfect driving music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing....., 24 Mar 2005
By 
Silas "hex17" (Haslemere, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
But it's worth it for this album.
This was the PSB's definitive album. At once futuristic dance, evocative melancholy and wonderful composition, this work has everything for the discerning PSB fan.
The moment that Neil bursts forth with the line "remember when we were so easily led, behind the cricket pavilion and the bicycle shed" during the stomping opener "Can You Forgive Her?" you know that you are in for something truly special. There isn't really a weak track, but the real outstanding moments come with the dramatic and thought provoking "The Theatre" and the smash hit dance extravaganza "Go West".
If you love elctropop, high camp and impossible drama then this is one for the collection. On the other hand, if you have any Dire Straits albums in your collection then you should probably give it a miss.
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So very..., 5 Jan 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very (Audio CD)
This album, Very and its much more rare companion, Very Relentless, can be summed up in the Pet Shop Boys' own words (one of the lyrics taken from the song Yesterday When I was Mad) -- they've 'both made such a little go a very long way'. A very long way, indeed.
All of the songs on this album have the same feel -- the same texture, the same lyrical quality, the same 'groove' if you will -- which is remarkable for a collection of different songs, from ballads to a roaring remake of the Village People's Go West (a song Toyota still uses occasionally in advertising -- listen for the backing music). One would almost swear that the actual Village People are making up the chorus as Neil Tennant's high-pitched, flat voice calls out 'Life is peaceful there' as the gruff, deep voices growl, GO WEST!
All the songs are dancable (not true of all the songs on all the albums) -- the videos which accompany this album all have the same computer-generated motion and costume and background (someone in the Pet Shop Boys camp obviously had recently discovered computer-generated graphics and animation and decided to have some fun!). I was frankly a bit disappointed with the videos, because the idea was original, but it was the same idea for each video (and we fans are used to stylish, original videos for each song).
This album will please Pet Shop Boys fans; it may find a good home with electronic/disco music fans. As with all Pet Shop Boys songs, listen to the lyrics -- they are witty and thoughtful -- the song Dreaming of the Queen actually plays on a recurrent nightmare/stress dream that the average Brit would have but Americans don't -- the stress that the Queen drops by for a visit when you're not ready (either undressed, or dirty house, &c.) -- probably the closest equivalent stress dream in American terms would be the test-anxiety pop-quiz-you-haven't-studied-for dream.
Other songs include the poignant The Theatre, in which one can sense the frustration of struggling artists as they watch their more successful compatriots pass by; To speak is a sin, recapturing a word from a previous hit, It's a sin, something the no-longer Roman Catholic Tennant likes to muse over now and again; the first semi-hit Can you forgive her, a crashing, triumphant, psychological song that reinforces the ambiguous sexuality of this duo (later to be made less so).
So, pay attention to the lyrics, and have a Very Very good listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THE great pop albums...., 11 Aug 2005
By 
John David Charles Hilton "Creative spark...." (Redcliffe, Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pet Shop Boys have released many great albums. Very is their greatest. From the great opening shot of Can You Forgive Her? to the majestic closer Go West you get one pop gem after another. There is not a single track that couldn't have been a hit single.

The lyrics are, as you would expect from Neil Tenant impeccable, ranging from the exuberant love song I Wouldn't Normally Do This Kind Of Thing to the delicate pathos of To Speak is a Sin.

But this time round it is the music that is centre stage. Chris whips up a regular storm on most of the tracks, sending out from the speakers a joyous and irrepressable energy, especially on Young Offender and Yesterday, When I Was Mad, the latter much better in this form than the comparatively flat single version.

Pop just doesn't get much better than this....

And then you get the second CD (Further Listening 1992-1994), a wonderful mixture of B Sides, remixes, demos and even a live track thrown in. The B Sides include the should-have-been-a-single Shameless and the beautifuly poignant Hey Headmaster. The remixes include a wonderful update of Violence (originally on Please). The demos are little gems, the original 1992 12" mix of Go West, the demo of Falling and the workout Forever in Love which ended up, in different form, on the Relentless album which was packaged with some of the initial copies of Very. The live take on Blur's Girls and Boys is a hugely enjoyable romp.

As with all this series of reissues, you also get a generous booklet with an essay about the album, notes on all of the tracks and complete lyrics.

If you have the original single CD version of Very it is worth upgrading to this set.

If you are new to Pet Shop Boys, or perhaps have heard them on the radio over the years, then either this or PopArt are probably your best ways into their world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pet Shop Boys, Renaissance, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very (Audio CD)
Dead, the Pet Shop Boys? After the commercial failure of "Behaviour." in 1990, the release of a "Best of" album in 1991, and a year off in 1992 you'd be forgiven to think so.

...but on top of being very talented and very disciplined musicians, Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe are also quite competitive. In a Pop world which is quite thankless in suddenly burying alive bands that it adored some months before, the Boys have attempted and successfully managed to remain in the charts and write magnificent, lasting music.

With "Very" (1993), their seventh album and their fifth with brand new material, PSBs show the versatility of their talent and their ability to keep the public interested. For "Very", they decided to be the producers of the album, with the help of Stephen Hague, who produced the Boys' first album, "Please", back in 1985-1986. Difficult to say if the idea was to go back to some sort of "original" PSB sound - but "Very" sounds much richer than the dry analogic synthesizers of "Behaviour.". It is also much more richly orchestrated with heavy brass, superb orchestral accompaniment by Anne Dudley on three tracks. Members of the family like JJ Belle, Sylvia Mason-James and Pete Gleadall are back on guitars, vocals and programming respectively.

What is striking on "Very" is the variety of colors and melodic invention that is being thrown at the listener pretty much on every track. Perversely, if you could argue that some singles on "Behaviour." were more memorable than on "Very", you cannot deny that "Very" is a much more CONSISTENT piece of work. Every single track is aimed at surprising the listener and generating amazement and admiration. Even more, a lot of tracks on "Very" change gear in the middle of the song ("I wouldn't normally do this kind of thing", "The Theatre", "One in a million Years", "Go West") which adds to the beauty of the whole thing.
Some concept songs are just sublime in originality ("Dreaming of the Queen", "Yesterday when I was mad", "The Theatre") and show the "artful" side of PSBs reflected much more successfully than in the previous album. I will particularly take notice of "Yesterday..." as it is one of the most successful rendition of madness in pop music with Queen's legendary "I'm going slightly mad" (despite the former song really being about anger).

Some tunes are really addictive, like "Young Offender", or the beautiful ballad "To Speak is a sin" - the latter quite reminiscent of the magical "Play to the World" by Barclay James Harvest. I have already commented on "Go West", a sublime re-invention of the Village People classic.

So anything wrong on "Very"? The production is "very" much in your face, and there is so much relentlessness in the musical beauties thrown at us that the listening experience can sometimes become a little bit too much and the music can be a bit overwhelming.

Also, in their willingness to produce the ultimate Pop album the Boys can't avoid a little bit of musical emptiness here and there, in particular in the two "One" songs.

But hey - this is a very good LP. 12 years after their beginning, Pet Shop Boys showed they were still on top of the Pop planet.

Also - I recommend the 1993 original ahead of the 2009 remastering: the latter has way too many dynamics, and for an uptempo album that was quite dynamic in the first place, listening to the whole thing can be quite tiring: this problem does not occur with the original CD, so buyers beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!!, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Ms. K. Driesel "KatieD" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very (Audio CD)
I unfortunately gave this album also away to a charity shop during the last move... I love the Pet Shop Boys and always will!! So I just had to get it back. Definately a classic album! - Go west!!!! Love all of the songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Remastered 2009, 17 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very (Audio CD)
When CD arrived my first thoughts were that it did not sound right. I have only one other CD being "Ultimate" plus a handful of other songs by the PSB. Therefore it was one of disappointment when I first heard it. However after several listenings it started to grow on me so much so that I liked all the tracks in equal measure. I subsequently put it aside for a few weeks to listen to other music. On returning to it I find that I have the same feelings that I first had and that the sound being not quite right is perhaps to do with the remastering. There seems to be a type of hissing sound coming from the electronics which I suppose to be the synthesizers which I find quite off putting and it is on all the tracks. It is a pity as the singing of Neil Tennant and music of Chris Lowe are great. I am going to try to find a copy of the original recording to see how different they sound. I still think the makeup of the CD is great, it is just a shame about the background noise. Obviously the hissing sound is meant to be there and other people will like it but it is not to my taste. This will not stop me from buying other albums from the PSB but I shall probably avoid the remastered versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dance music with a brain (and a heart), 7 Dec 1999
By 
A. I. Mackenzie "alimack" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very (Audio CD)
This is a fine album, from one of the most literate pop bands recording today. Neil Tenant is probably the best living English lyricist, Jarvis Cocker being the only competition I'm aware of. This is one of their better albums, although Behaviour is my favourite. The quality tails a bit towards the end of the album, but 'Can you forgive her?' and 'Yesterday, when I was mad' are excellent pop songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very
Very by Pet Shop Boys
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews