Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How sweet., 8 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
In any event, this first M+Mechanics album is as well crafted a piece of guitar/synth confection as you could hope for; the excellent 'Silent Running' starting up like a space-craft and soon followed by the keen but anodyne 'All I need is a Miracle'. More anthems than you can shake a stick at, most of them good, all professionally delivered - a minor classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was all downhill from here!, 11 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
The best album they did. full of classic songs. Not quite as commercial as some of the later albums and as a result is is more like Genesis and less pop rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album. Haven't heard it for about 30 years! but it's every bit as good as I remembered it. Great sound quality and all the tracks are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Disappoint, 22 May 2014
By 
Brian (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
For A Debut Album - This album is a great piece for any genesis / mechanics fan...all their debut hits plus some really good side tracks to boot....Carrack / Young on "Call to Arms" is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend this item, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
Item arrived within time scale stated and in good condition. Great listen. Just been to a Mike & the Mechanics concert & this CD revives good memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
My husband collects anything to do with Genesis so was really pleased to add this to his collection. Great music as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars their best album by a mile, 27 Sep 2013
By 
D. Moses (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
This album is a complete puzzle to me. Anyone who knows Mike and the Mechanics knows they have two fantastic lead vocalists. Carrack and the late, great Young. They are fantastic on this album, with Carrack shining on 'Silent running' and Young on 'all I need is a miracle' and especially the last mellow masterpiece 'taken in'. There is a selection of upbeat tracks and nice ballads.
The reason for my puzzlement is the lead vocalists on the album's two most spectacular tracks ever. 'par avalon' and 'you are the one' are two of the most beautiful ballads I have ever heard. They are by far the best tracks ever by Mike and the Mechanics and they are not even by the two lead vocalists! Upon doing some research I think the vocalist is John Kirby. I have no idea who he is, but think of the beautiful smooth vocals of Johnny hates jazz of Freiheit. Why he wasn't kept as a lead vocalist is unknown, these are two amazing tracks. Also, another standout track is 'a call to arms' and, while Carrack is singing some of the song, the opening is by another lead vocalist. Again, not sure who this is, but looking at the liner notes, I would have to assume it is 'Gene Stashuck'. I wish there was more in the liner notes about this!
Anyhow, this is their best album, mainly for 'par avalon', 'you are the one', 'silent running', 'call to arms' and 'taken in'. Heck, 'hanging by a thread is great also! And 'all I need is a miracle'. Oh, all of it! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
my dad loves this, every now and again he comes out with random lyrics that have no context to the conversation as the songs are still playing in his head long after the cd has finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MATM First album, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
Always enjoyed this one from the first time I heard it in the mid 1980's.

An excellent range of tracks, great vocalists and some real stand out songs in all I need is a miracle, silent running, and hanging by a thread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mike & The Mechanics, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD)
A brilliant album. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mike & The Mechanics
Mike & The Mechanics by Mike & The Mechanics
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews