Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant interpretations
Bryan Ferry does his equivalent of Bowie's Pin Ups on this interesting album. I Put A Spell On You and Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow get the ultra smooth treatment with ghostly keyboards lending an eerie feel to the arrangements. Answer Me has similar atmospheric synth flashes, whilst the guitar and organ on Just One Look make it special.
The song Rescue Me has...
Published on 10 April 2006 by Peter Uys

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What treading water sounds like
Shame but best to avoid.
Yes the musicianship is excellent and the choice of cover versions is varied.
However it just does not seem to work, by turns you are left thinking -it's all a bit "twee", and the sound is rather obvious, and why did he bother.
Unusually there are no stand out tracks to save the c.d.
It is almost like a "Bryan Ferry by numbers"...
Published on 4 Feb. 2008 by FRS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant interpretations, 10 April 2006
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Bryan Ferry does his equivalent of Bowie's Pin Ups on this interesting album. I Put A Spell On You and Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow get the ultra smooth treatment with ghostly keyboards lending an eerie feel to the arrangements. Answer Me has similar atmospheric synth flashes, whilst the guitar and organ on Just One Look make it special.
The song Rescue Me has muffled vocal samples, swirling keyboards and an infectious rhythm track with Ferry's vocal wrapping itself around every musical turn and twist; this is a highlight of the album. His version of All Tomorrow's Parties has an unexpected arrangement, not lilting and flowing but jagged and halting.
Old style rock 'n roll guitar opens Girl Of My Best Friend and Ferry sings a bit like that too, with more emotion and passion. The up-tempo Amazing Grace is another unusual interpretation, restrained vocals with impressive organ embellishments and a lively rhythm.
The title track is introduced by the sound of rain and car horns and turns into quite a soulful tale of lost love, whilst the short last track Because You're Mine (the only Ferry original) is like a rock symphony with obscure but dramatic voices in the brooding instrumental mix.
Taxi is Bryan Ferry at his smoothest, but with some surprises in his unusual takes on All Tomorrow's Parties and Amazing Grace. It is a very stylish album but do not expect anything like his version of Hard Rain's Gonna Fall (my favourite Ferry number) or the driving pop-rock of early Roxy Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars overlooked, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
Ewing Grahame - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Anyone mildly interested in exploring the music of Bryan Ferry would be well advised to start elsewhere - ideally with The Bride Stripped Bare, Frantic or anything he did with Roxy Music.
This album, while under-rated at the time of its release, is probably for die-hards only. Recorded during one of his many periods of writer's block, it consists of nine cover versions (including the title track, J Blackfoot's fabulous 80s soul rarity) and only one original composition, Because You're Mine.
Some attempts are more successful than others but try opening track I Put A Spell On You: if that lights your candle then you'll certainly savour the rest of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant interpretations, 22 Nov. 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Bryan Ferry does his equivalent of Bowie’s Pin Ups on this interesting album. I Put A Spell On You and Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow get the ultra smooth treatment with ghostly keyboards lending an eerie feel to the arrangements. Answer Me has similar atmospheric synth flashes, whilst the guitar and organ on Just One Look make it special.
The song Rescue Me has muffled vocal samples, swirling keyboards and an infectious rhythm track with Ferry’s vocal wrapping itself around every musical turn and twist; this is a highlight of the album. His version of All Tomorrow’s Parties has an unexpected arrangement, not lilting and flowing but jagged and halting.
Old style rock ‘n roll guitar opens Girl Of My Best Friend and Ferry sings a bit like that too, with more emotion and passion. The up-tempo Amazing Grace is another unusual interpretation, restrained vocals with impressive organ embellishments and a lively rhythm.
The title track is introduced by the sound of rain and car horns and turns into quite a soulful tale of lost love, whilst the short last track Because You’re Mine (the only Ferry original) is like a rock symphony with obscure but dramatic voices in the brooding instrumental mix.
Taxi is Bryan Ferry at his smoothest, but with some surprises in his unusual takes on All Tomorrow’s Parties and Amazing Grace. It is a very stylish album but do not expect anything like his version of Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall (my favourite Ferry number) or the driving pop-rock of early Roxy Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typically "Ferryesque" sampling of cover versions, 8 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Here is Bryan Ferry at his best, an easy listening collection of songs, long forgotten, brought back to memory in his inimitable style. From the somewhat sinister opening track "I put a spell on you" to the blues-orientated version of "Amazing Grace" there's something for just about everyone. Perhaps the best track on the CD..."Taxi".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. J. Cooper "big ears" (maidstone kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
I order music for my invalid son so can only say thanks for sending item in good condition and in good time and i'm sure he enjoyed the music or he would have let me know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
By 
Nigel Melvin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Bryan is the man. Most of his solo work outstrips the albums he did as Roxy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What treading water sounds like, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
FRS (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Shame but best to avoid.
Yes the musicianship is excellent and the choice of cover versions is varied.
However it just does not seem to work, by turns you are left thinking -it's all a bit "twee", and the sound is rather obvious, and why did he bother.
Unusually there are no stand out tracks to save the c.d.
It is almost like a "Bryan Ferry by numbers" CD, and probably "what treading water sounds like", even though it probably took ages to record and finish to get the Ferry-esque polish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great CD from Bryan Ferry, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Good service and all was as promised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Taxi. Stinks to high heaven., 7 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
Taxi. What a thoroughly depressing album. Ferry seems to be stuck in the 80s somewhere between 'Avalon' & 'Boys & Girls', deperately trying to recapture the magic. This dreadful collection of songs stinks to high heaven. Way too much texture, not enough guts. Tragic. But hey, the covers nice though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rainy night in Geordie County, 5 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Taxi (Audio CD)
As a songwriter Bryan Ferry is well below avarage but as an interpreter he showed a special knack of reconstructing a song right from A Hard Rain's Gonna Fall.
Only his covers interest me though his version of Amazing Grace is simply not very good
Trivia note> Ferry became the 2nd Geordie to revive I Put A Spell On You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxi
Taxi by Bryan Ferry
Buy MP3 Album£9.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews