Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Toe tapper extraordinaire"
This album never fails to put a smile on your face and I defy anyone to keep their hands, feet or head still whilst listening.The tracks range from layed back melodies perfect for a sunday morning,to feel good toe tappers that force you to join in. Unmistakeable Knopfler complimented by the renouned guitar 'picker' Atkins. A 'Gem' in anyones "easy listening"...
Published on 23 Nov 2000 by aubrey.s.w@btinternet.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necka nd Neck delivers
This disc is what you would expect from Chet and Mark.

A balanced mix of their individual styles comes together with a pleaseant, easy listending flavour.
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Mrs. S. Lawton


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Toe tapper extraordinaire", 23 Nov 2000
This album never fails to put a smile on your face and I defy anyone to keep their hands, feet or head still whilst listening.The tracks range from layed back melodies perfect for a sunday morning,to feel good toe tappers that force you to join in. Unmistakeable Knopfler complimented by the renouned guitar 'picker' Atkins. A 'Gem' in anyones "easy listening" collection. The fun had by both Knopfler and Atkins shines through in every track.Especially worth a listen is "There'll be some changes made" (The verbal and musical jousting heard between the two 'competitors' in this track forms a kind of subtle duelling banjos for gentlemen).Buy it! You wont be disappointed, Honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TWO GREAT GUITARISTS, 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Neck And Neck (Audio CD)
This recording is a great collaboration of two fantastic artists. Chet Atkins plays with so much confidence, a old hand that can really rock and roll. Knopfler on the other hand really seems like he is enjoying himself with some great solos and chord changes. The Dire straits front man really shows his skill in being able to play such varied music styles. My paricular favourites were "changes made" a funny, and light hearted banter between two rock and roll legends. The last track..next time I'm in town is what Knopfler played last track in his last series of concerts with his country band "The Notting hillbillies". Sadly Chet Atkins died last year, a great loss to the music world.Long may his spirit live on with his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two giants meet, 15 Aug 2006
This review is from: Neck & Neck (Audio CD)
Suberb due play together in perfect harmony.You can touch the feel of Mark's music and deep voice easily, at the same time you can hear the marvellous guitar play of Chet Atkins who is known for the master of the "picking" technique.

I lived for many years addicted to that album that I could not sleep without having it running in my player.

You will never regret if you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, mellow & fun, 29 Jun 2004
By 
James Bury (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neck And Neck (Audio CD)
Great guitar playing, humour, & fun music. Fantastic CD to have in the car or to unwind to after a long day.
Not only is the music good foot-tappin' stuff, the quality of the recording is outstanding. This is pure, unadulterated, superb guitar playing by two of the best people in the business. A real pleasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picken superlative picken, 26 Oct 2004
This review is from: Neck And Neck (Audio CD)
Frankly, albeit owning "Screenplaying" and "Shangri-La" I have not been greatly enthused by Mark Knopfler - until this album ! Teamed with the great Chet Atkins, the competition brings an extra portion of vitality from Mr Knopfler. Then again, the same is also true on "The Notting Hillbillies" album. Perhaps Knopfler is at his best when challenged by other skilled artists - certainly there is not a track on this album I 'ever' skip !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, undemanding little gem, 23 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Neck And Neck (Audio CD)
This is an album I've had in my collection a number of years and keep returning to it. It's a gentle, often humorous set of tracks (many being instrumentals) that doesn't tax the senses at all but brings a smile everytime I hear it. The warmth between the two and the talent they have shines through on most tracks. Whilst Chet Atkins didn't have the best singing voice in the world, particularly towards the end of his career, this adds to the appeal. A great one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TWO GREAT GUITARISTS, 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Neck And Neck (Audio CD)
This recording is a great collaboration of two fantastic artists. Chet Atkins plays with so much confidence, a old hand that can really rock and roll. Knopfler on the other hand really seems like he is enjoying himself with some great solos and chord changes. The Dire straits front man really shows his skill in being able to play such varied music styles. My paricular favourites were "changes made" a funny, and light hearted banter between two rock and roll legends. The last track..next time I'm in town is what Knopfler played last track in his last series of concerts with his country band "The Notting hillbillies". Sadly Chet Atkins died last year, a great loss to the music world.Long may his spirit live on with his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great duo, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. M. A. Cassell (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neck And Neck (Audio CD)
Seemed an odd combination to me (I'd like to shake the hand of the person thought of it) but, oh boy, does it work.
Fabulous album - heard it at a HiFi show - just wish I had known about it at the time when I could have bought it on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pickin good!!!!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on its first release and thought it was good.
Listening now, many years later ive come realise its great stuff.
Dont come to this thinking you are going to hear Dire Straits type music, coz it aint.
What you do get are 2 great guitarists(sadly Chet no longer with us) with a mutual respect for each other playing some great country, bluegrass type tunes exchanging licks and solos.
A wonderful wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh yeah, the boys can play, 22 July 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Neck And Neck (Audio CD)
Just to add my voice to the chorus of praise here for this excellent album. Two real guitar virtuosi in Chet Atkins and Mark Knopfler produce an immensely enjoyable disc, clearly relishing each other's company. It is country-tinged, full of fantastic guitar picking from both and manages to have real musical quality while being thoroughly good-natured.

If you like slightly country-flavoured music, fantastic guitar picking or just an enjoyable album of good songs performed by two real geniuses of the guitar, this is for you. Personally, I love it and, twenty years after its release, it still gives me huge pleasure, raises a smile and causes my toes to tap involuntarily. Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neck And Neck
Neck And Neck by Chet Atkins and Mark Knopfler
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews