Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.90
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Ok, this is the album that took seven years to make, was poorly received at the time, and has been the subject of mocking reviews ever since-Ferry's supposed 'White Album' or 'Be Here Now'. Even Ferry himself, having spent all his money on it, seems ambiguous about it in retrospect. The critical knives were out from the moment it was learnt that over 100 musicians had been involved in it's making. You know the jibes this was headed for-'vanity project', 'souless', 'empty'. But then you LISTEN to it (and it is an album of so many layers that it demands close and repeated listening, preferably on a very high quality sound system) and realise that this album is actually a masterpiece, and that if it took seven years to make, then that was justified. It's an infinitely superior piece of work to the comparisons made above. It's actually very bold-it doesn't aim for 'lows' or highs' or sharp contrasts, but to generate a dreamlike state, akin to being taken very slowly by gondola through an exceptionally beautiful part of Venice. It's not an album imitating other styles of music either-there are no blues, no country tracks, no pale rock and roll pastiches here. Through a mix of sound manipulation, subtle guitars and electronic drumbeats, this album instead creates it's own genre. On exceptionally beautiful tracks, like 'The 39 Steps' or 'Your Painted Smile', it's literally like being sucked WITHIN an oil painting by an old master, literally dazzled and knocked out by each continuously overlapping yet subtle and extraordinary wave of sound. Do NOT ignore this album.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
This is not an album for people with limited imagination, this is an album for those of us who take time to listen to what is there rather than those who can only criticise for what is not there. One of the best albums of the 90s
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2008
this is a reunion of roxy music from avalon. the opener is absolute 90's killer- better than bête noire. just listen to the opener, the sounds are peak.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
This is something really special. Another review says :"No hit singles". Yes, it's true. This album is not about hit singles. What you will find here, if you are interested, is a glimpse into a state of mind, into a mood. You will be taken over by emotions that are subtle and all will happen almost unnoticeably. I think it captures what happens in the back of one's mind (Bryan's mind? I suppose. Mine? I am sure!) while going about the usual business of the day. It's something that only surfaces at night, when you're in bed about to fall asleep or maybe holding your loved one (if you have one!). It's the discourse of one's heart, if you wish. I love it. It reminds me of that part of me that I should listen to more often than I do. Some of the songs you can't even distinguish from your own state of mind, but that state of mind was induced upon you by the songs themselves, while you weren't aware of it! It's magical! Coming home from a busy day in the city and listening to this: priceless!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2001
Outstanding record. The best record by Bryan Ferry since Avalon. This is a very slow record, ideal for listening to in the evenings. The musicianship and production on this record are outstanding. Highly recommended.
22 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Bought this following seeing BF in concert in 2013.Brilliant album every track great a true BF classic previously owned on vinyl.Excellent service from seller.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
So many albums yet they never get weak in the quality of the music.
Bryan Ferry be very proud as i am sure all your fans are. Recommended listening
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
I have loved the slow brooding chilled mood this album creates ever since I bought it when it was released. I agree totally with the previous positive revewers.
For a similar mood creating experience check out "The Gazebo Effect" by Dave Dark and the Sharks, sadly only available on download.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Complex, multi-layered, cool, soothing,uplifting. Wallpaper music for people who took lsd in the 60s and 70s (and who are likely in their 60s and 70s now). There is a wealth and depth of experience here drawn from a life more than ordinary.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Slip,hip,sly and romantic, it's all here. Lovely production and textured sound...please play it on the best system you can manage, alone, with one corner lamp on, of an evening when life all gets too much ...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£5.39
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)