Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judged Too Soon
Janet is one of my favourite females of all time....but....When "All For You" was released i wasnt impressed it wasnt till recently i gave the album a proper chance now i love it
1.Intro/It's funny 9/10
2.You Aint Right/This song is very camp and also very old school Janet seems like it belongs on Rhythm Nation its not rubbish though 8/10
3.All For You/Pure...
Published on 25 Nov 2004 by akoustik_soul2

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly disappointing
Having bought her last four albums I was expecting something from this that unfortunately it didn't deliver. While on previous albums Janet has dabbled with different styles that have resulted in infectious upbeat tunes and sultry ballads, this one rarely strays anywhere from start to end.
There is the mildly catchy "All For You" and an interesting tune...
Published on 23 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judged Too Soon, 25 Nov 2004
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
Janet is one of my favourite females of all time....but....When "All For You" was released i wasnt impressed it wasnt till recently i gave the album a proper chance now i love it
1.Intro/It's funny 9/10
2.You Aint Right/This song is very camp and also very old school Janet seems like it belongs on Rhythm Nation its not rubbish though 8/10
3.All For You/Pure class this is a great song pure pop a great song for Janet im glad it got the hype it deserved 10/10
4.2wayforyou (Interlude)/To me this kinda pointless it is a little funny 6/10
5.Come On Get Up/She was supposed to release this! I don't like it much its kinda borin its too dancy 7/10
6.When We Oooo/This is a great song i think this would have done well as a single i love the breathy vocals and the beat is great 10/10
7.China Love/The beat is so different this is a nice mellow track just lay back and listen Janet's soft voice suits this song perfectly 10/10
8.Love Scene (Ooh Baby)/What a great slowjam its really nice bit of a love maker its really sexy 10/10
9.Would You Mind/This song reminds me of something that was left of Velvet Rope it reminds me of Rope Burn i love this song it's great so so sexy 10/10
10.Lame (Interlude)/Yep men are lame at times 10/10
11.Trust A Try/Fan's wanted this to be a single it's so cool its got elements of rock and also pop its a great song 10/10
12.Clouds (Interlude)/Carly Simon chattin her rubbish lol 4/10
13.Son Of A Gun (Betcha Think This Song Is About You)/The remix is better but this is just as good i love the Bridge its the best part great choice for single 10/10
14.Truth/It's OK but it goes of for too long starts wearing thin 7/10
15.Theory (Interlude)/Just a studio conversation.... 5/10
16.Someone To Call My Lover/......Then goes onto one of the best songs shes ever done i love this song so much its so funky and cool it was a good choice of single 10*/10
17.Feels So Right/This isn't that bad i didnt really give it a chance but i listened to it and its kinda sweet 8/10
18.Doesn't Really Matter/What a song this is great the video was great and her performance in Nutty Proffessor 2 was excellent 10/10
19.Better Days/Seems a bit dated for this album but it's not bad a great ballad 9/10
20.Outro/The end ....
Top 5 All For You Tunes
1.Someone To Call My Lover
2.Son Of A Gun
3.When We Oooo
4.Doesn't Really Matter
5.All For You
Pick it up....it might take a few listens to enjoy it but its a cool album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story Worth Telling, 21 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
Here it goes. Do my thoughts exceed the average music listener? No. There is one thing that I can say in certainty. Janet Jackson has matured into a fine woman. Not afraid of shedding inhibitions, she gives us an insight on her emotions and provokes our thoughts in a way all her own. Her latest effort is a Broadway play worth waiting in line for.
(I, personally had baught the album for "Someone To Call My Lover".)
It was refreshing to start off with a candid recording session where Janet and a friend are discussing a dance step as they are unknowingly recorded by co-producer Jimmy Jam. After a brief mention of sexual innuendo, Janet does a classic impression of Fran Drescher that had me in stitches. We are invited out to a nightclub. Where the dancing is infectious and the lyrics are superbly written. One that stands out in the form of "You Ain't Right." A song about backstabbing and malicious intent, with one that she had come to trust as a friend. She has been flirting, and had made it clear that it's "All For You". Worries are cast aside by the end of "Come On Get Up". The stage is set for a slow dance in "When we OOOO". Janet gets her man and we are whisked away to her bedroom where she softly seduces him with "China Love". He has succumbed to her ways in "Love Scene" (My favorite song on this album) and "Would You Mind", an unexpected and hilarious look at lovemaking. She wants him to know that she is not like any woman he had dealt with in his lifetime with "Trust A Try". Janet soon finds that he's like all the others. Vain, dominating, and manipulative. That "Son Of A Gun"! And the "Truth" is she had a life before him. So she's off again. In search of "Someone To Call My Lover". She's finally found another that "Feels So Right" and it "Doesn't Really Matter" who cares about it. All she knows is that it's the start of "Better Days" yet to come.
Janet has woven a tapestry to depict an elaborate tale of the cycle of love. Unlike many others who use explicit lyrics, I have come to find it acceptable because of this piece as a whole. I look forward to her future endeavors. This product is one of the reasons why Janet Jackson has the staying power in an industry where "Love 'Em and Leave 'Em" is it's overall trademark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE WAIT!!!, 20 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
We've had to wait over 3 years since the release of "The Velvet Rope" for Janet's new album, but as I said, it's WORTH IT!! Although not quite as experimental as 1993's "janet", and not as thought provoking as "Velvet Rope", "All For You" is a happy, upbeat album that'll make you smile when you hear it... Here is my song-by-song review:-
* You Ain't Right:- Scary first few seconds, which came after an even scarier impersonation of Fran Drescher in the first interlude. But once this track gets going, it's really interesting, and dancey. Definitely the most experimental on the album, and a good starting point. THIS ONE IS A GROWER... you may not like it straight off.
* All For You:- If you don't know this funky, catchy dance choon by now, SHAME ON YOU.
* Come On Get Up:- One of my faves on the album. Brilliant Indian beat running right the way through it, and a VERY catchy chorus. A bit of a "Go Deep" part 2.
* When We Oooo:- Not at all what I expected when I saw the title. Rather than being like "Rope Burn" (as I expected), it was "All For You's" version of "Everytime" or "Again". A really sweet ballad about sharing a spiritual bond with someone, and a DEFINITE future single.
* China Love:- This song is quite nice and has a sweet melody and an interesting mixture of Chinese and Indian influences, it's the start of a weak, sex-obsessed part of the album. Not brilliant.
* Love Scene (Ooh Baby):- CRAP in a word. This song is really one of the only reason that the album didn't get 5 stars. No tune, and seems to last forever (even though it's the shortest song on the album). What were you thinking Janet?!
* Would You Mind:- Well, well, well... what have we here?! Probably the rudest song Janet's EVER done (and Janet fans will know that's saying something). Lyrics are SO dirty, it's funny!! And the ending!! Well, listen to it for yourself!!
* Trust A Try:- BRILLIANT!! Undoubtedly the best song on the album, and I've thought that since the first time I heard it. Brilliant melody, really intense thrashy guitar parts (like "If"), and really dancey. If this isn't released as a single, THERE IS NO JUSTICE!!
* Son Of A Gun:- Hmmm... a bit dodgy. She's obviously tryin to recreate "Got Til It's Gone", which shouldn't be done. However, in it's own way it's quite good, although Carly Simon's "rapping" was unnecessary.
* Truth:- So so. A very personal song for Janet I guess, and in that way it's quite "Velvet Rope"-ish. And although it's nearly SEVEN MINUTES long, it doesn't seem to drag (like "Love Scene" did). But sometimes I skip this track, simply cos it's not as strong as the others.
* Someone To Call My Lover:- Obvious from the first time I heard it, that this would be "All For You's" follow-up. Catchy, REALLY summery. But hey, you've probably heard it already!!
* Feels So Right:- Nice tune, except the bridge always seems to remind me of A1's "Same Old Brand New You". HOW TRAGIC IS THAT?!
* Doesn't Really Matter:- A bit different for the album. It's got a better, punchier intro than before. And a dance break, and some choruses have been cut outta the end. But you've heard it.
* Better Days:- A nice note to end the album on. Uplifting, and quite gospelly in a weird way (except obviously the word "shit" in the song). Honesty from Janet here, saying that her life still isn't perfect, but she's taking it one day at a time. Good message.
I was a bit disappointed to find out that there was no secret track on the British version. Until I discovered there was on versions in other countries. WHY WERE WE LEFT OUT?! NEway, it's called "Who", quite bouncy and uptempo, but nothing special. So if you buy "All For You" in Britain, you ain't missin much by not gettin it.
Oh well, that's it. So basically if you buy "All For You", you won't be disappointed. And apart from tracks like "Love Scene", it's brilliant. But hey, that's why we can skip tracks on CDs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPLOSIVE, EXPLISCIT, EXCELLENT!, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
Once again, Janet returns on cue with an excellent album, full of heavy beats, strings, RnB, Hip Hop, Pop, Rock... this album has evrything. Kicking off like Velvet Rope, You aint Right just grabs you as soon as you have pressed play. Perhaps not single material, but definitely concert material. All for You follows, the well know, corker of a title track. Next up is Come On Get Up. For some reason, this isn't my favourite. I listen to it and hum along, but it is nowhere near my favourite. A lovely ballad next, When we ooo, with a brilliant rhythm section. China Love follows, a delightful, soothing number, followed by two fillers. Love Scene and Would You Mind, simply based as sex songs. Not very catchy, not very good. However, it is made up with the amazing, best song on the album Trust a Try. With guitars, strings, a simply storming track. A hopeful single, but seeing her sing this live would be a real treat. Son of A Gun, the love/hate song on the album follows. A very pleasant song, but a grower, not an instant catchy. Truth is another filler, floating by unnoticed. Nevertheless, Someone to Call my Lover, the perfect next single floats out. A mid tempo, mega catchy beauty. Feels so right is quite a nice track, but nowhere near as the new-improved Doesn't really Matter. Better Days sends you out smiling, an optimistic, string filled, ballad. All in all, this is a brilliant album. The more you listen to it, the better it is. True, there are three or four tracks to skip. But aren't there on most albums? The Velvet Rope was an excellent album, but a shade too dark. This is an optimistic, happy album. There isn't too much swearing, despite the sticker. All in all, this is a must buy for all Janet fans. A couple of listens to this album will make you realise that she is happier, and so she should be, since there are many more hits to keep her going for a good year or two. The day that Miss Jackson makes a bad album will be the day that the music industry loses one of it's best talents. But until that day, roll on Janet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly disappointing, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
Having bought her last four albums I was expecting something from this that unfortunately it didn't deliver. While on previous albums Janet has dabbled with different styles that have resulted in infectious upbeat tunes and sultry ballads, this one rarely strays anywhere from start to end.
There is the mildly catchy "All For You" and an interesting tune called "Trust A Try" that grabbed my attention. "Doesn't Really Matter" is the only other one that stands out for me. I cringed at some points including the embarrassing intrusion of Carly Simon on one track and the crude attempts of Janet to express her sexuality through her medium.
If you like Janet you have to have this and I'm sure it will grow on me but for now I just feel its a bit bland and I'm not rushing to put it back in the CD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet returns hotter than ever!, 20 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
This song sees the return of Janet after her top 5 hit in Summer 2000 with DOESN'T REALLY MATTER from Nutty Professor 2 in which she co-starred. ALL FOR YOU is an upbeat song that features samples from Change's THE GLOW OF LOVE. This song is extremely well put together and the video sees Janet in extremely raunchy clothes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet at her BEST, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
Well what can u say about the best female vocalist, performer and dancer of the past decade? Janet has come back with a real vengeance with this top tune, taken from her new album out April 24th!!! Janet is more happy with a lighter edge this song has to be one of her best and i predict this to be a MEGA MASSIVE HUGE SPRING/ SUMMER HIT! BUY it you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great modern song with a 60's spin, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
This is the first cut from janets new album and i like it !! Moving on from the the velvet rope , janet in a more happier mood has written a great disco tune which reminds me much of a song found on the Janet album. Janet's voice is amazing and as usual her seductive self comes across well. A Mega Hit Buy buy buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing dvd, 13 July 2002
ill admit i bought this cd coz of the dvd - yall know the all for you album is hot - but this version is edited - anyway it has 2 bonus tracks -> son of a gun missy and p diddy remix versions - but the real reason to get this cd is the dvd - its got the videos from the virgin label years - so from the janet. album till now - although it doesnt feature the alternative versions of the janet. videos nor does it have son of a gun/doesnt really matter on there - but it does have the rare version of together again on - the deeper remix - which was hardly ever played here - so thats worth a look - you can also set your own playlist - so you can make your own janet collection in the order you wanna hear them - it also has interviews, a live performance and behind the scenes features which are really cool - a great watch for any fan - its great to just listen even if you aint watching it - but all janets videos are hot !!!! get it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DID NOT WORK PROPERLY, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All For You (Audio CD)
Do not buy this item as barely any songs worked (even after i cleaned the disk and CD players) despite the fact it is brand new and came into a sealed packet. Buy this masterpiece album elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

All For You [Explicit]
All For You [Explicit] by Janet Jackson
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews