Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovation And Individuality
Mystifyingly, Public Image Limited are still underrated to this day. John Lydon's more famous band, the Sex Pistols, are still given more attention, but this, in my opinion, is a lot more innovative and expansive. Also, the other musicians, such as Keith Levene and Jah Wobble, were far more talented musically than the 'musicians' in the sex pistols.

From the...
Published on 7 July 2006 by Elizabeth Gershwin

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the greatest hits ...so why not the original versions ?
If im not mistaked , the first public image ltd compilation released in 1990 , having purchased this with the high expectation , i was left pondering as to why there was such an awful sax playing along during THIS IS NOT A LOVE SONG a far cry from the origianl version i rememberd in 1983, sounding more like relax by frankie goes to hollywood in places .
RISE sounds...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by N. lomax


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the greatest hits ...so why not the original versions ?, 30 Dec 2009
By 
N. lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If im not mistaked , the first public image ltd compilation released in 1990 , having purchased this with the high expectation , i was left pondering as to why there was such an awful sax playing along during THIS IS NOT A LOVE SONG a far cry from the origianl version i rememberd in 1983, sounding more like relax by frankie goes to hollywood in places .
RISE sounds like a 12 inch remix version , not the original 7 inch version released in 1986 and so i wonder why the record company decided not to inform the buyer of the different versions on this cobbled together compilation when it was released .
The first five tracks appear to be the originals from arguably pils most interesting and creative period before they appeared to fall victim to the eighties record producer . awash with synths and overdubs .

Do yourself a favour and purchase the albums between 1979 -86 or better still buy the JOHN LYDON - THE BEST OF BRITISH .... compilation .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovation And Individuality, 7 July 2006
This review is from: Greatest Hits So Far (Audio CD)
Mystifyingly, Public Image Limited are still underrated to this day. John Lydon's more famous band, the Sex Pistols, are still given more attention, but this, in my opinion, is a lot more innovative and expansive. Also, the other musicians, such as Keith Levene and Jah Wobble, were far more talented musically than the 'musicians' in the sex pistols.

From the outset, John Lydon was determined to create something unique and original, which he did with aplomb on songs such as 'Public Image', in 1978. It is worthy of note that PiL's first album was being worked on even before the Sex Pistols had split - such is John Lydon's drive and vision. However, track two on this album is definitely one of the stand-out tracks, 'Death Disco'. This is an irrestible slice of disco fused with punk fused with lord knows what else! It honestly does sound like nothing else! Lydon's distinctive and sinister sounding vocal compliments the music perfectly, and the whole thing is executed marvellously.

'Careering' gives off more sinister vibes, sounding oppressive yet compulsive, but most importantly, like nothing else which surfaced in the post-punk era. Track six is yet another fantastic song, 'This Is Not A Love Song'. For a man who was supposedly so inaccessible during the punk era, this is a mightly infectious song which is actually quite perfect for dancing to. Lydon's vocal is also distinctive and commanding. What a shame that so few have investigated music as excellent as this!

'Rise' features some great lyrics, great musicianship and strong vocals from Lydon. It is often forgotten just what a great songwriter John Lydon is, but this proves that he is extremely accomplished, and also original.

The rest here plays out to the same high standards, though PiL did make a mercifully brief foray into dance music at some point in the nineties, but that can be easily forgiven. Songs such as 'Rules and Regulations' and 'Don't Ask Me' are both infectious and unusual, but deceptively poppy. It is quite remarkable that anyone could have a career which spans the genres of punk, post-punk, pop, alternative and experimental, but John Lydon is that man. If you are looking for a visionary, and a true individual, look no further than this album. It is an essential purchase for all individuals, and music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pil finest, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John & the others at their finest
Brilliant combination of grass roots social comment lyrics & pounding beat music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic PIL.As someone else stated a couple of poor tracks but the rest are excellent.The brilliant Death Disco of Lydon losing his mother at the time and the classic poppy song at the end of don't ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how did, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I miss PIL first time around, dog latin is wonderful to provide filler when amazon assumes brevity is more than unacceptable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whoo-hooo, 12 Jun 2013
NOT A REVIEW:
I'm so happy these cd's are still around. I'm getting it for a life long pistols fan. Hope she's as stoked as me! Hehe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got this for a friend
i was happy with the album well put together
and i tell other people about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pil, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
public image limited . great band . this is a good introduction to them if for some reason you havent heard them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An album of two halfs, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have come late to John Lydon et al through PIL's most recent and superior album This is Pil; the title 'Greatest Hits, So Far'. PIL get better as time goes on and so does this album, so that by the time they get to track 5 things start to warm up. The Warrior is, in my opinion, a contender for PIL's best track to date, with lots and lots of energy. Worth owning but not before buying This is PiL first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Hits... So Far
The Greatest Hits... So Far by Public Image Limited
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews