Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most under rated band in history????
For those of you who have never bought a UFO album, then there is no better place to start than this. From the first few bars of Doctor Doctor right through to the sublime Love to Love, this band never fail to make the grade! Michael Schenker was simply the best of his era, and even now his influence is easily heard on the very latest CD's from young bands. Phil Mogg has...
Published on 2 Sep 2003 by guitarsandvodka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Good Enough
Although it has Lights Out, it's not enough to save this albumn, which is a fairly poor selection of UFO material. My recommendation is to buy Too Hot to Handle which is a larger and better selection. If you can't live without Lights Out then buy it for that, but that's all
Published 17 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most under rated band in history????, 2 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
For those of you who have never bought a UFO album, then there is no better place to start than this. From the first few bars of Doctor Doctor right through to the sublime Love to Love, this band never fail to make the grade! Michael Schenker was simply the best of his era, and even now his influence is easily heard on the very latest CD's from young bands. Phil Mogg has a voice that slides easily from soul-filled ballads to heads down rockers like Lights Out. The simple statement to accompany this album is BUY IT, LOVE IT! UFO never quite got the recognition they deserved, but both studio and live they were and still are a quality act!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UFO: Best Of UFO, 13 May 2009
By 
John Barber (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
This album is a very good, single disc, compilation of the classic period (with Michael Schenker) of this band. It encloses all of the classic titles - Doctor Doctor, Lights Out, Too Hot to Handle, Rock Bottom, Love to Love etc, plus a few other gems. My only criticism is, that they could have made it a double CD, and gone further. Giving the best of the post Michael Schenker era, of which, there are quite a few good tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Value, 13 May 2008
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
What a bargain for a CD heaving with some real classic rock tracks. UFO made some very good music but also some pretty average "filler" material stuff too. This album features their strongest stuff & their most well known material in a tight package.
From the opening strains of "Doctor Doctor" to the classic "Lights Out", with the rousing "Only You Can Rock me" along the way, this is a top quality compilation.
This & the legendary (& equally cheap) "Strangers In The Night" album are excellent examples of UFO at their best - a great place to start your UFO collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UFO Forgotten Heroes, 5 Nov 2000
By 
Mr. M. Scutt (Croydon Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
A band that should be up there with the greats. Schenkers guitar style is highly innovative and has spawned many imitators. His soaring style was ahead of its time. This album from the hard hitting riff of Rock Bottom to the delicate melodies of Love to Love is an absolute must forHM fans everywhere. Buy it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got the tunes., 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
Having heard "Rock Bottom" a few times on Planet Rock Radio I felt I should actually buy their best of. This seemed cheap and had all the songs I'd heard of - which is sort of my criteria for loads of two hit wonders. UFO actually have a few more than two cracking tunes, and if you like metal this gives a good showing of a band that influenced a lot of NWOBHM and beyond. There's some great guitar playing too, however a couple of more cheesy seventies slow songs prevent me giving it 5 stars. But for four quid? Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UFO Hard Rock Rocket Music, 2 July 2004
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
I had hear UFO in the 70s and they were good then and even better now, if you're a hard rock person this is the CD for you and what a way to start The best of UFO... There are some great tracks here and some fantastic musicianship on etch track, great drum work also. I recommend this to anyone into rock the price is right for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential?, 27 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
Last time I looked this was called "Essential UFO" back in '92? The track listing is the same and the cover looks the same anyway. Essential UFO from 1992 is a five star album and the product description tells you all you need to know. Do not confuse this with "The Best of UFO" from 1996 which has several songs from the Chapman era and is no way a fair reflection of their best. Confused? I am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
I can't believe I got this album at that price. Takes me back to the live gigs. Sounds superb and what a great rock band. This is a truly awesome album. Very pleased I bought it. Great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Good Enough, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
Although it has Lights Out, it's not enough to save this albumn, which is a fairly poor selection of UFO material. My recommendation is to buy Too Hot to Handle which is a larger and better selection. If you can't live without Lights Out then buy it for that, but that's all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 15 May 2013
By 
K. Nicholl "Mr. Meticulous" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of UFO (Audio CD)
covers the essentials, die-hard fans will want more, but then they'll buy all the albums, so this does exaclty what a non-devout follower needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews